Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Splunk Enterprise Docker Image

Splunk Inc. | 7.2.0

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

276 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Splunk SIEM For advanced and big enterprises

  • January 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
functionality and customization, splunk allows expert (admin) used to edit the functionality and customize the instance as per any clients requirements
What do you dislike?
should work more on providing ready add-ons for the not soo common security appliances
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
difficult client custom requirements


    E-Learning

Enterprise-level SIEM and logging visualization tool. Worth it.

  • December 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We use this across our different departments for security, host monitoring, data intelligence, vulnerability and threat actor collections, correlation, alerting and much more.
What do you dislike?
The biggest complaint I hear is 2-fold: It's expensive and it's hard to learn. Both of these are true, but opposed to some competitors, this is just more baked and better. The cost can be justified and it's a leader in various vendor rubrics.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our big thing is pulling in multiple data from various cloud and in-house data sources. Once you have the mapping correctly (CIM in Splunk speak) this is really great for correlating information and such.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do a full POC before you buy. Make sure you test out custom log sources from in-house, not just COTS apps. It helps a lot with evaluating the product. Also, get a good estimate for data retention and necessary storage space you'll need for the archived data. Way easier to figure that out first, than trying to add on more later. Also, take the training. That helps as well.


    SWAPNIL T.

One of the Finest tool to monitor the log and generate alerts.

  • December 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part of this tool is this supports the log monitoring on the multiple OS platform and provides the alerting on the basis of the log information which helps organization to check multiple anomalies happen in the systems.
Also this tool is greatly support the next generation tool and cloud concept its really impressive to continue monitoring on the authentication and many more aspects.
What do you dislike?
As this tool is work on the log file and use it for automation and alerting the storage of this log files make more burden on the organization costing and maintaining also makes difficult.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For our organization this tool work as a great monitoring platform to maintain and keep eye on the unauthorize activities. This too helps us in regards with major outcome and define the sustainable rules for the accessing and granting permission point of view.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
To monitor the and manage the all anomalies activity on the any platform of system this tool works perfect and gives the clear picture on the unauthorize tasks .


    Higher Education

Splunk is great for viewing network traffic logs

  • December 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk is very robust with being able to search network traffic, create dashboards and automate reports and alerts. It allows users and admins to solve many problems. Our company has created several alerts for when people on the network download any files that look like they could be a virus, or if they are using illegal software, or trying to login with wrong passwords constantly.
What do you dislike?
There is a large learning curve to being able to use Splunk and be able to understand what the data you're looking at filter through it all to find what you need. It's very good if you know what you're doing, which there is documentation for, but if you don't have lots of networking experience and knowledge it's easy to be lost and overwhelmed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We monitor all of our network's traffic with Splunk. It gives us metrics on what our University's population is using the network for and helps alert us if there are issues. It's a useful tool when troubleshooting login and connection issues. It also helps with identifying security issues. These security problems are able to be visualized as a report or dashboard for managers, even non-technical ones, to quickly get understandable information from.


    Mubasshir Ali R.

Best log search tool

  • November 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk makes it easier to search through various data including logs. I was used to fetch the details through logs in order to find the one lines among the 100 of thousands of lines. Now it become as easy as ABC also the infrastructure monitoring is cool. We have integrated this with Slack to get the alerts real-time.
What do you dislike?
It has its own SPL, if they enable SQL too so that it will be heaven for the tech guys.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Timely alerts and quick log search
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A good tool which will make your life easier


    Sumanjit R.

A Remarkable logging & analytics application for auditing and troubleshooting

  • November 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The easy integration. just include Splunk libraries in your code, use the methods/functions to log and you are good. Dash-boarding is easy too.
What do you dislike?
It does not have the capability to take action on thresholds.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using it for troubleshooting and auditing. We get a vast searchable and summarizable log data that can be used for many things.


    Francisco M.

Great application even for frontend engineers

  • September 28, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to use XML to create and style your own dashboards.
What do you dislike?
To get the most out of the app a lot of people with different skill sets need to be involved and with the same goal in mind, for example, the observability engineers are the ones in charge of the maintenance and setup of the Splunk platform and data, while the backend engineers are the ones that implement the logs caught by Splunk. The frontend engineers need to look into the available logs and see what information from there is useful to create a dashboard that can be used for ourselves or for the product owners.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Measuring the adoption rate of new modules and features. Is very easy to see where our customers are finding more value from our products.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great software that is useful for the entire engineering department. Is important that to extract the most value from this investment you must make a conscious effort to align and train employees with different skillsets to be able to get the most out of the dashboards, visualizations, data discovery, and alerts. Well used this can bring insights of your product from different perspectives, not only for data analytics but also for use cases such as measuring the feature adoption rate, this can help you tweak your UI to make sure you focus your engineering workforce on the modules and functionality that bring the most value to the users of your app.


    Computer & Network Security

Splunk Enterprise for IT Industries

  • July 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is a needed application for the IT organization to manage their infrastructure which consist of physical computer devices, web servers (cloud), sensors, etc. Manage means, centralized monitoring and analyzing. In the past we used Splunk for only log monitoring and log analyzing (syslog server). But, what we are seeing is more advance and it is with the SIEM capabilities. It now have real-time visibility, advanced dashboards, analyze any kind of data, advance filtering, flexible GUI in configuration & maintenance, and AI & Machine Learning for threat prediction.
Finally, it is very user friendly. We can modify the dashboard, log search queries, filters, alert/alarm rule, threat filters, and configure with multiple devices easier and quickly.
What do you dislike?
It has multiple features and when we are trying to use all of them it is slow in displaying the contents (logs) and the connectivity also taking some amount of time for the initial loading.
Cost is another, as a organization we have to spend more cost on buying the license and configuration.
Without experience (new to splunk), it is hard to understand all within a short time if the architecture is complex. It consume log implementation time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centralized monitoring, alerting, and analyze logs of our cloud servers and physical devices.
Easier to handle the error logs via alerting using the filters.
Easy to divide the operations dashboard vise, which is helping the each department to view there information.


    Airlines/Aviation

Best monitoring solution

  • July 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We like the splunk dashboard and quick searching of logs. Faster indexing and searching of logs.
What do you dislike?
The UI is dated and needs to be refreshed with new features for dashboard etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Monitoring and analyzing logs


    Computer Software

Best tool to analyze logs and monitor

  • July 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is the best tool to analyze the logs based on different charts and visual graphs. It has good plugins to help with security and auditing. I have created multiple dashboard and customized alerts to monitor system health. It has great integrations with slack and emails to trigger alerts and notifications.
What do you dislike?
As we have big infrastructure and a lot of logs gets consumed in splunk on daily basis, the user interface becomes slow for query search results. Splunk query builder needs technical knowledge beforehand otherwise understanding error message for a non technical person is a challenge.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have limited access for development teams in production environment so we use splunk for teams to monitor their application health and status. There are multiple reports/dashboards generated over application logs in splunk that alerts teams over failures and issues. Splunk is also used as a security tool to detect firewall breaches and vulnerable access controls.