Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Splunk Enterprise Docker Image

Splunk Inc. | 7.2.0

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

282 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Internet

Splunk Use

  • March 31, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use. Help documentation . Online resources.
What do you dislike?
Has a bit of a learning curve. Limited number of experts available in the market.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Application access management . Network Management and vulnerability management . Training programs are also limited.


    Computer Software

Can be useful, but difficult UI

  • March 31, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is useful to have a tool available that is for searching through logs. This makes finding errors in different environments including production or qa environments more streamlined and easier to track.
What do you dislike?
The UI of splunk is not great. The indication that a search is searching is not super obvious. It took me a while to notice the very thin blur status bar. And learning to search with splunk takes reading the tutorials and playing around because it is not very intuitive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Splunk makes searching through logs easier. This makes finding bugs or large errors faster, and also makes tracking what happened in your application (when things were created and or modified) easier.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I think it is a good buy for enterprise customers. If you work at a big company and need something tested that your legal team won't freak out over this could be a good option. I think for smaller startups you should shop around more before signing up.


    Bharadwaj (Brad) C.

Good Product; will not say the best

  • March 30, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
migrated to splunk within the last year from an internal inbuilt tool (don't know who made the decision to switch because i personally loved the internal one). It is definitely simple to use and a great way to look for logs for any production issues. The mobile support is a great way to keep up. Lets you customize the search strings that you specifically need and if you are developer, its a great way to pin-point to the exact trace.
What do you dislike?
Quite Expensive; would prefer to have more customization especially with regard to date format. Need better dashboard facilities that can provide diverse reporting/analytics. Learning curve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
centralizing the logging to one tool; we wanted something that can combine our website as well as mobile apps logging.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
check if its the right tool by using the trial version because its expensive to get; but has a lot of cool stuff that you could do with logs. Definitely a tool every dev/ops guys want


    Cliff R.

A great tool for monitoring log records in systems

  • March 30, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The integration tools made it very easy to consume log files and track performance as well as order throughput. It made some unwieldy data very manageable with reporting, tracking and internal algorithms to track order closure as well as system to system performance.
What do you dislike?
Once you see it work, there is not much to dislike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We produce copious amounts of log records - which are helpful for troubleshooting.
The amount of data was too large to really use it for performance benchmarking or order tracking.
The Splunk tools and UI make it easy to see what you need when you need it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it out first - and if you don't see your grasp of the data and what it tells you then look again. It saves you huge amounts of time when tracking order closure and followthrough rates.


    Christian Nahuel P.

Vital for Mobile Apps

  • March 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk is a great tool to monitor apps performance. It has really accurate information, simple and clear dashboards and it is pretty easy to use. Furthermore, it has a really good dashboard for errors with an spectacular stacktrace tool that allows you to symbolicate code.
What do you dislike?
In Mint Splunk you can not customise the metrics. For example, if you are checking popular OS for an App you can only retrieve five results. The same happens with popular App versions or most used devices.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Splunk is perfect for us to check out mobile app performances. It really helps us to find out errors, crashes and bugs. It also help us to retrieve important metrics about sessions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a great tool that can be combined with NewRelic, Datadog or metrics retrieved by Google/Apple stores.


    Entertainment

My experience with splunk

  • March 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is quite fast, programmable with python easy to use. It takes only 40 50 min to draw really complicated graphs with it
What do you dislike?
IT is quite expensive comparing with elk stack and their business model is really weak. The second most important think is that they do not have data tables to represent information filter by fields etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are trying to collect all logs and alert teams with them depending on the rule we wrote.


    Haibo Y.

Really good for identifying the production issues

  • March 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Every time when we have production issues, the 1st thing is to open the splunk and check the error messages.
The other feature is also nice: keep tracking the production environment health status periodically. We did find some potential issues which our client did not report and fix them before our clients finding.
What do you dislike?
The way of displaying the error log sometimes take time to scroll it when opening the item.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Checking the production health status.
Quickly identifing the errors
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Quickly identifing the errors, periodically checking the production health status and performance. It works really well


    Computer Software

Splunk is the de facto leader

  • March 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
* search bar and query language
* integrations / add ons
* source code access to splunk enterprise
* source code access to any splunk app
What do you dislike?
* no real good support or process for app development and publishing
* app development is kind of weird and difficult
* really hard to debug configs and/or searches
* splunk doesn't have a solid identity anymore
* overly sales-heavy organisation; hard to find someone to actually help you
* documentation is written in a vacuum mostly, especially in respect to how to run / size it
* big learning curve for users slows adoption
* crap 2FA / SAML / enterprise auth support
* no publicly visible bug or feature request database
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
* great flexibility in investigations
* decent return on investment
Recommendations to others considering the product:
come with an open mind, and open pockets


    Publishing

Splunk Cloud

  • January 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The potential of Splunk is great. A large store of additional plugins.
What do you dislike?
We had some major issues with Splunk cloud and their indexing specifically of objects stored in AWS S3. Support was slow and not very useful. At one point Splunk Cloud introduced a bug that broke all of our logs inputs and it took over a month for them to fix the issue.

Though the potential for Splunk was great on Splunk cloud we couldn't use 90+% of the addon apps and we had constant issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centralized logging and log aggregation. We need a solution in this space but Splunk doesn't seem to be the right fit for us.


    Computer Software

I built an automated Production alert system based on statistical significance

  • October 02, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy to configure, fast performance. One place to monitor all logs.
What do you dislike?
No in-built statistical/predictive analytics tools
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Business problems
- Reduce support time
- Reduce developer time spent on debugging issues
- False positives
- Slow turnaround on customer impact

Benefits realized:
- Efficient & targeted troubleshooting
- Faster turnaround to identify Customer Impact
- Less time spent on insignificant / non- issues
- Self-learning system that will adjust alert thresholds automatically
- Flexible enough to adjust sensitivity of alerts

Recommendations to others considering the product:
Build more predictive analysis tools in the product