Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Splunk Enterprise Docker Image

Splunk Inc. | 7.2.0

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

270 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Suhas R.

this app is really easy to use and is readily available

  • May 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ease of use and the way how the ServiceNow tool is integrated with Splunk with just the creation of a user record
What do you dislike?
this app doesn't have an inbuilt portal of the Splunk app
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The events that gets generated in the customer network to be readily available in ServiceNOw


    Information Technology and Services

Splunk for server application log analysis

  • April 12, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Once splunk is setup properly, from an administrative standpoint it becomes largely easy in day to day upkeep.
What do you dislike?
Users experience a big learning curve at first when beginning to use the product for searches.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Splunk has allowed our business to more quickly and accurately analyze massive amounts of server application logs. Their ability to create dashboards and alerts assists with server monitoring and optimization.


    Computer Software

Very powerful, quick, customizable log analysis tool

  • April 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk has been paramount in us gaining information from our log data, it has the ability to very quickly parse and understand the data. Once you parse the log data creating visualizations is easy and they can be grouped into dashboards which is quite convenient.
For us this brings the following business benefits:
- We can quickly and easily see/get alerted of any issues in our running system
- Stakeholders can see the performance and usage of a given system.
- Developers can monitor a system and gain insights which drive optimization.
What do you dislike?
Learning the Splunk query language takes some time. It is powerful and relatively intuitive but there is definitely a learning curve there. In the past, there were a few cases where we had issues with duplicated log data, figuring out why and removing it was quite the effort.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Splunk have let us answer the following questions:
- How many users are using our system and how active are they?
- Is our live system running into any unexpected issues?
- How performant is our live system, how does that change under load
- What are some problematic/slow calls to our system?
- How can we give stakeholders insight into the platform with minimal friction?
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely build dashboards to share with business stakeholders. Try to put a lot of information in your logs and the more easily parseable it is the better. The query language has a learning curve, so having a couple specialists is very helpful.


    Information Technology and Services

Secure Splunk

  • March 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I am using secure splunk to set up alerts , create dashboards and retrieve custom and catalina logs for application monitoring and issue debugging
What do you dislike?
This is a good tool . There were some issues faced when onboarding custom logs but rest was smooth
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Alert Setup
2. dashboard Monitoring/creating dashboards for my application
3. preventive issue analysis
4. Prevent bad boxes


    Information Technology and Services

Amazing tool

  • March 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a tool that simplifies your data and makes your duty easier
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it is needed a little more flexibility to aggregate functions of programming
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Visualization of data from many systems in an efficient way. The benefit is that it makes it easy
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Filter logs before indexing


    Higher Education

Splunk for dashboards

  • March 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk is very easy easy to use. just needs a query and since the data ic connected to server, it automatically pulls up the data and generate the report based on the requirement. different type of visualizations like pie chart, bar graph, etc can be used.
What do you dislike?
Eventhough the spunk query language is simple however we need to learn a new language. Splunk does charge a pretty penny for the higher levels of certification. But the cost paid to value earned is totally worth the cost of certifications needed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When you have the visibility Splunk give you into your data at the speed and ease that Splunk provides it, your options are limitless. We've been using it in the SOC and it is amazing how easy it is to find problems and fix them once they are found. There's all kinds of events, forums, videos, conferences and meetings that you can go to and have your questions answered. Splunk is by far the best product on the market and it will continue to be in the future.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When you have the visibility Splunk give you into your data at the speed and ease that Splunk provides it, your options are limitless. We've been using it in the SOC and it is amazing how easy it is to find problems and fix them once they are found.


    ADIL G.

Useful tool to access logs quickly

  • March 01, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Index search result breaks down in to several useful fields. Helps in narrowing down the search.
What do you dislike?
Fields popup window does not list all results. There should be a scroll bar in popup window to scroll through all results.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Study error stacks in IBM WebSphere and MQ.


    Information Technology and Services

Great insights extracted from logs

  • March 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lots of value is created from the information generated by reading the logs .
What do you dislike?
Syntax are difficult. Lots of coding involved to configure and read logs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Production monitoring. It enables proactive approach to numerous situations . For example it can generate alerts etc


    Prasad C.

Comprehensive log aggregate and analyzer

  • February 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ad-hoc analysis of logs coming from distributed application.
What do you dislike?
cost is very high, there are different licences available we choose SaaS which is expensive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we have a long list of applications deployed in microservices architecture, difficult to troubleshoot in the traditional way, Dashboard is also used for monitoring app health and health trends.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
rather pushing everything to Splunk put Kafka/AMQP before log aggregator, and important types of log messages need to go in slunk, not all log messages need to go to Splunk, would save on cost and help to monitor though topics of the queue for urgency or important.


    neeha c.

Best monitoring tool

  • February 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
application availbilty,error logs, system alerts
What do you dislike?
too much query to write to find out the error logs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
application availabilty and logs for every application