Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Splunk Enterprise Docker Image

Splunk Inc. | 7.2.0

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

316 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

Splunk for dashboards

  • March 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk is very easy easy to use. just needs a query and since the data ic connected to server, it automatically pulls up the data and generate the report based on the requirement. different type of visualizations like pie chart, bar graph, etc can be used.
What do you dislike?
Eventhough the spunk query language is simple however we need to learn a new language. Splunk does charge a pretty penny for the higher levels of certification. But the cost paid to value earned is totally worth the cost of certifications needed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When you have the visibility Splunk give you into your data at the speed and ease that Splunk provides it, your options are limitless. We've been using it in the SOC and it is amazing how easy it is to find problems and fix them once they are found. There's all kinds of events, forums, videos, conferences and meetings that you can go to and have your questions answered. Splunk is by far the best product on the market and it will continue to be in the future.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When you have the visibility Splunk give you into your data at the speed and ease that Splunk provides it, your options are limitless. We've been using it in the SOC and it is amazing how easy it is to find problems and fix them once they are found.


    ADIL G.

Useful tool to access logs quickly

  • March 01, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Index search result breaks down in to several useful fields. Helps in narrowing down the search.
What do you dislike?
Fields popup window does not list all results. There should be a scroll bar in popup window to scroll through all results.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Study error stacks in IBM WebSphere and MQ.


    Information Technology and Services

Great insights extracted from logs

  • March 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lots of value is created from the information generated by reading the logs .
What do you dislike?
Syntax are difficult. Lots of coding involved to configure and read logs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Production monitoring. It enables proactive approach to numerous situations . For example it can generate alerts etc


    Prasad C.

Comprehensive log aggregate and analyzer

  • February 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ad-hoc analysis of logs coming from distributed application.
What do you dislike?
cost is very high, there are different licences available we choose SaaS which is expensive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we have a long list of applications deployed in microservices architecture, difficult to troubleshoot in the traditional way, Dashboard is also used for monitoring app health and health trends.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
rather pushing everything to Splunk put Kafka/AMQP before log aggregator, and important types of log messages need to go in slunk, not all log messages need to go to Splunk, would save on cost and help to monitor though topics of the queue for urgency or important.


    neeha c.

Best monitoring tool

  • February 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
application availbilty,error logs, system alerts
What do you dislike?
too much query to write to find out the error logs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
application availabilty and logs for every application


    Abhishek R.

A single tool for logging, alerting and dashboards

  • February 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
While writing queries you refine and build the searches is very helpful. Creating dashboard and graphical representation is easy.Creating Alerts and and setting intervals/cron schedule is quick. extraxting fields using auto regex is very helpful.Saved searches sharing in a secure manner. Sharing them in read-only formats like PDFs using database connection. Exporting data into XML and JSON format is what i uses while transferring or upload into a different infrastructure/system.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes its very slow, not sure may be due to large amount of data .
While query is very big we should have a separate editor in place writing in query editor.
Some time fetching specific fields using extract field feature may not give what you need.
Sometime searches take little extra time to understand, mainly regular expressions and to new users.
Would be nice if data compression of data stored on disk can be optimized.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Basic error, info and other types of logs and fetching meaning full information from it.
Alerting on specific failures.
Quick reactive and some time proactive actions help resolve issue ahead of time before it impact more business users. In-built and communicating tools make intellect of complex data.Real time alerting on critical events, sending emails and executing predefined scripts for corrective measures. We are also generating HPSM incidents based on splunk alerting based on triggering script. Geographical charts showing impacted states during enterprise outages is what higher management look for. Splunk API allowing us to access the splunk data programmatically to feed into another system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Splunk is great for visualizing your data sending it to higher management, stack holders and various teams
It will help you determine root cause take reactive and proactive measure if you can write an intelligent query. Gathering log from various sources and making them readable.


    Luca C.

A great performance analysis product

  • January 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One of the most common problems when working in medium or large companies is to be able to analyze certain types of cases and certain problems occurred in a given period, however, without knowing what was causing the problem because certain items and factors may be manifold due to the use of different technologies involved simultaneously on the same subject or on the same transaction.
Inside a complex infrastructure is not easy to analyze which single component (for example, application, database, server, network device, etc..) was the cause of a problem often it requires analysis by different departments, thanks to the use of Splunk the control management and the analysis of the issues is centralized in one software.
The analysis are facilitated through the use of various detailed dashboards.
Very convenient are the automatic alerts and triggers.
What do you dislike?
The cost of the product is high.
The usability for novice users is not really easy, but reading a little bit of documentation and studying a bit the syntax of the search the user is able to do a lot of query.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
By using Splunk we can monitor several different technologies and network equipment, the activities of the databases etc. via Splunk has been possible to determine the cause of a fault at a given moment.


    Education Management

Have you ever had to grep for mail logs? If so you will love SPLUNK.

  • December 27, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to create and supplement source types for the data you care about. You don't have to spend hours digging through logs. You can just pull out key fields and use them as key values to report on.
What do you dislike?
If I had to choose something that I dislike about Splunk it would be that I think it needs more easy to create dashboards.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The business problem that we are solving with spunk is that when something goes wrong we want a place to quickly look through logs and search on what we need. The ability to try to find a common issue or connection across systems without having to grep through logs on servers. This benefit saves us a lot of time when dealing with issues that arise for ourselves or our clients.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
To take the time to build out your use cases before stepping into splunk. If everything is laid out before hand you can maximize spunk to your advantages across teams with things like specialized dashboards to display only a certain log or set of logs.


    Information Technology and Services

OFFENSIVE & DEFENSIVE SECURITY

  • December 21, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Helps IT departments gain deeper analysis based on the customer’s environment, leveraging Splunk’s broad ecosystem of security and IT technologies and products.
What do you dislike?
Splunk is all grown up now and, as such, needs to continuously ramp up revenue. But have to create appropriate license models, for each business to receive
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
An excellent SIEM and Security tool and a very flexible. If you want a bitcoin market analysis it can do it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Create appropriate license models, for each business to receive


    Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Splunk is a great tool are debugging issues

  • December 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We use splunk to log errors, warning and information messages so that we can debug test env and production environment issues. It is fast and easy to use, can make graphs and tables, so handy. Can filter out information based on different attributes making it easier to find the logs that you are most interested in. Makes life easier for a developer cause some things can't be understood until live traffic hits your app.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really, I like this tool. Somtimes I notice that I get 504 error on the page, or service not available errors, then I have to keep refreshing the page until it starts working again. It will be good if that does not happen, other than that, it can take sometime to retrieve records for a longer period of time, but thats bound to happen, I am sure they optimize the retrieval time as much as possible.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helps to debug production issues, we use it to log info, warning and errors.