Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Check Point Security Management (BYOL)

Check Point Software Technologies | R81.10-335.883

Linux/Unix, Other Gaia 3.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

67 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Rajiv T.

Check Point Cloudguard Iaas is a life saver for companies requiring reliable protection and access

  • July 28, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The quick deployment and scalability and fully functional firewall available in the cloud. We were able to scale as required based on load and performance. With Covid-19 our users including our Customer Center agents are completely remote and use Check Point Cloudguard to even take calls so our customers are not affected in any way
What do you dislike?
The documentation could be done better but this was in the initial stages when we deployed it but it has come a long way since
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed reliable protection for our assets in the cloud as well as remote connectivity to our hosted application in other data centers while giving our users remote access to all of the above assets. We were doing this on premise with 3 clusters of firewalls where as with Cloudguard IaaS we are doing all of this and more with 1 cluster. this is a huge cost saving for us
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a very easy install for a product that does so much. I would highly recommend it


    Ankita P.

Protection against most threats in cloud

  • July 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to integrate with any cloud includes public and private ones.
What do you dislike?
The deployment is tough and needs expert skills
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The everyday threats and attacks has been sorted out


    Dmitry P.

Nice NGFW for any cloud

  • July 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to integrate with any cloud includes public and private ones.
Subscription model - pay only for what you are using.
API integration with the cloud that helps to create the dynamic rules on FW.
What do you dislike?
The price is high.
Deploying and configuring is hard if you've never used Check Point
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We restrict communication between cloud servers and use it as usual NGFW on public resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check Point is one of the security visioners, so you can trust its features. But be prepared to face all the subtleties of configuration and administration.


    Information Technology and Services

I have seen in many companies and looks great solutions.

  • May 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Flexibility and security provided by CP..
What do you dislike?
Could be more accessible for clear in certain points. Training for example.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Check Point CloudGuard offers dynamic security for private cloud in virtual data centers to prevent the lateral spread.


    Aleh P.

Firewall for Public Clouds

  • May 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Since I had experince with Check Point NGFW before, it was easy for me to adapt CloudGuard IaaS. Basicly, this solution has the same architecture and components as NGFW, so when you deploy it to the cloud, it feels like managing just yet another datacenter of you company. It also has a reach set of supporte cloud provides, but for now we use it only on Google Cloud Platform.
What do you dislike?
As with other solution of this kind, you still have to manage basic cloud firewall and routes for VPC outside of CloudGuard IaaS - there's no 100% integration if you concern.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Main usage - protection of our cloud assests deployed on Google Cloud Platform - firewall and Intrusion Prevention Blades. Also we rely on GeoIP module to restrict undesired countries from accessing our services (as for now you can't achieve it with GCP firewall).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should fully understand the way CloudGuard would be integrated into you cloud from the networking perspective, and it differs from platform to platform. E.g. for Google Cloud the instances of Cloud Guard must have interfaces in several VPCs as a requirement. Think about the subnetting and routing for your project, make a PoC with your networking staff.


    Internet

Checkpoint Cloudguard is one of the best solution to protect Cloud Environment!!

  • May 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy installation to protect AWS environment.
What do you dislike?
No comments. the product accomplish with our requirements!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Protect Amazon VPCs easily, with a Cloudguard HA infrastructure as a main benefit!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
We tested other kind of solution but only Checkpoint accomplish to create easily an HA infrastructure to protect our VPCs into Amazon. Other products could not install an HA infrastructure to protect VPCs.


    Oleg P.

CloudGuard IaaS by Check Point

  • April 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
While using the CloudGuard IaaS you will get almost the same experience as with other Check Point firewall solutions. The components of the infrastructure are integrated with each other quite well. All the common Check Point Next Generation FireWall blades are supported - Firewall, IPS, Antivirus, VPN etc. There is not big difference from the usual onprem Gateway from this perspective.
I find it really useful that CloudGuard supports all the main players on the Public Clouds market - AWS, GCP and Azure - as well as some exotic ones like Alibaba Cloud, Oracle Cloud and IBM Cloud. I would say there is about 95% probability that the platform your are using is supported, and I don't know any other solution for now which may provide the same number. Moreover, it integrates with most of the public cloud management solutions, so you could automate modification of the security policies based on some triggers or changes in your the cloud infrastructure.
I also like that different licensing models are supported. For testing/evaluation/PoC projects you could go with the Pay-as-you-go (PAYG) license without wasting a lot of money in case the solution somehow doesn't suit you. And for production you could use the Bring-your-own-license (BYOL) way, applying the license bought earlier.
What do you dislike?
I see nothing to dislike about CloudGuard IaaS right now, I'm quite happy with the solution.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use the common set of blades, literally the same as on-premises -
Firewal and IPS to protect from the common attacks, Application Control for application layer stuff, IPSec VPN to provide connectivity between our environments etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't even try to use it if you somehow don't like the other Check Point products - the experience would be the same =)


    Francisco L.

good api for dynamic integration

  • March 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
integration with openstack and cisco ACI
What do you dislike?
cost could be a little expensive depends on your topology
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
security on private cloud
Recommendations to others considering the product:
patience and time to calculate the best scenario for deployment


    Sean V.

Check Point CloudGuard IaaS - Firewall in the cloud

  • March 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Multiple templates are available across multi cloud vendors. From single gateway to classic HA to auto-scaling. I would recommend to use the auto-scaling whenever possible. Since session synchronization is not possible in cloud. This is an issue for each vendor, not Check Point specific!
What do you dislike?
The documentation is not yet on point. To get up and running is a steep learning curve. With a lot of trial and error.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Protecting resources in the cloud, with a lot of automation. It is a nice showcase how automated security can work!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When wanting to have a single glass of pane, extending your visibility from onsite to cloud, this is the way to go!


    Financial Services

Manage AWS internet access policy as we do on the on-premise appliances

  • March 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The thing we like the most is the ability to create an internet access policy with application control, URL filtering, etc. the same way we do on our on-premise Check Point firewalls. The auto scaling feature is also a plus as we let it run automatically and the solution don't need our manual intervention in high load periods.
What do you dislike?
The initial setup is well documented but could be simpler.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problem we solved with this solution is basically securing the Internet access of our AWS servers in a easy way and with the user interface we are used to work with on-premise, including the same kind of logs we see on our internal network Check Point firewalls, etc.
Auto-scaling allows this solution to react perfectly to times in which the internet access is more demanding, reducing costs when the internet access needs are low by removing unneeded instances and adding them as needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are used to Check Point on the on-premise, this is clearly the solution for you. Even if not this is clearly the solution to consider to secure your Cloud Environment.