Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - Bionic (Arm)

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 18.04 ARM 20220104

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,076 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Ubuntu is free and easy to use

  • January 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free and easy to use, large community, lite OS, and supporting most of the packages
What do you dislike?
Not suitable for large businesses, and not supported by part of the tools
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was the 1st OS that used by our company to develop and test our product, and some employees are still using it as a gateway


    Viraj R.

A developer’s playground

  • January 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of switching between my terminal and code editor, more control over the filesystem, kernel, and general structure of my system.
What do you dislike?
The GUI of the OS, of course, has its upsides, but for a novice learner, it tends to be less intuitive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problem statements involved in building a data pipeline, solving ingestion issues, and troubleshooting bugs.


    Malhar J.

Reliable Debian-based Linux flavour

  • January 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Package Management, Software Support, User Experience
What do you dislike?
OS Updates, RAM Management, Trash and Temporary files management
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am submitting the bugs from Ubuntu Live account on weekly basis. I have observed and verified certain security patches.


    Sojin A.

Best OS after mac OS, No lag in long run

  • January 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best os for development, cloud, hosting purpose. Not best for gaming, documentation, or for presentation.
If you are a normal user choose windows or mac
What do you dislike?
Not every software available for Ubuntu when compare with mac or Windows. and not good for gaming
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Software development, cloud, hosting, Database handling
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a gaming device , documentation or just video, movie purposes just go for mac or windows,
this is only good for the other specified purposes


    Georges A.

UBUNTU IS the safest and most stable OS but at what cost?

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
UBUNTU was the best OS I used because, as advertised, it compiles itself to run on your system and not the other way around: just click "ESC" while booting, and you will actually see it loading and compiling a ton of drivers and stuff to give you the optimal experience your hardware can manage.
The server version can be set up to accept WINDOWS clients and link to a MICROSOFT network environment, and it offers a wide range of variants to choose from.
The best thing is it is virus-free. Programmer boast that if you wish for your computer to catch a virus running UBUNTU, you will have to manually download a virus and install it yourself.
What do you dislike?
Many of the applications I use at my office are WINDOWS compatible, and they are not compatible with UBUNTU. You can try to run WINE, but it's not the same thing.
You can find a counterpart for every software you need, but you cannot share their files unless the recipient has the same software, so yes: compatibility is a big problem, and that's why I stopped using it.
Updates need to be launched manually, and if you did not configure the repositories well, you would not be able to do it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At school, we have many old laptops that cannot run windows smoothly because their hardware is outdated. UBUNTU can run on almost any hardware configuration, which is one of its' major strong points.
Also, WINDOWS sometimes just refuses to access some external storage devices like USB keys or even HARD DRIVES. With UBUNTU, as long as the device is still functional, you can access it and use it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
UBUNTU is like your private tank: it just keeps going while helping you get the most out of your hardware.
Secure, fast, and dependable, it probably is the best OS out there.
If you do not mind learning other software, it is the solution you need: it's free, available in many versions and distros, and runs on virtually any computer.


    Devanshu B.

The only OS a developer needs!

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
first and foremost - FREE!

It's free.
It's a really stable OS.
great privacy - great support available only.
I can customise it to my liking.
really suitable for developement.
What do you dislike?
You might need to be tech-savvy to enjoy the OS fully. It doesn't support all the software and especially the Media related softwares. Not good for gaming, too.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The best OS you can get for any type of development. I can do nearly everything I need to do in software development. I can install software, packages and do many different things right from the terminal very quickly.


    Mahesh K.

Best start to linux world

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's the basic and easiest linux OS that's out there in the market.
What do you dislike?
It has some issues with Sound and speakers. Ubuntu community is working great on solving these issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's open source and there's a lot to learn from it for students.


    Ghada B.

User friendly open source operating system

  • January 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like the most is that ubuntu is :
- A user-friendly and open-source operating system.
- Free
- Easy to install
- Easy to maintain
- Secure
- highly customizable
- Continued Support from Developers and the Community
What do you dislike?
What I dislike the most about ubuntu is that there are many problems with hardware compatibility like graphic drivers, printers, etc..
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm now using Ubuntu 20.04 on my personal PC, it's free and easy to use, and it helps me test my multiplatform softwares.


    Computer Software

Once of the best operating system, I have worked with.

  • January 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Developer friendly with different levels of customization
Different levels of access
What do you dislike?
I don't think there is anything which i unlike about it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used it when I was developing the backend of one software, which was in the communication domain. While developing the software, ubuntu let us check the system's threshold while testing.


    Yash V.

Best for Dev

  • January 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The development-related stuff is developed mainly on Linux-based systems. The ubuntu os is developed using Linux and helps for the development of the application. For example, node.js is one of the best examples for the same.
What do you dislike?
There ate some stuff that can be done using user interfaces but is available via the command line. This stuff can be changed and done via UI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am currently using the ubuntu os for the web development stuff and have realized that npm is faster than other operating systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please do support the ubuntu operating system for development. It is one of the best OS for development.