Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - Bionic (Arm)

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 18.04 ARM 20230531

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,395 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

Open Source and Flexibility

  • December 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The fact that Linux is open-source makes it a very flexible system and ripe for experimentation. (I actually use Linux Mint, a Linux distribution derived from Debian and Ubuntu.)
What do you dislike about the product?
I have occasionally experienced problems when running Ubuntu on certain hardware.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My job involves experimenting with many technologies and programming languages. Linux provides the flexibility I need to handle anything I get my hands on quickly and efficiently.


    Andrew D.

Easy to use Linux distribution

  • December 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like how much it feels like Windows products and how easy it is to use and the amount of support backing this software.
What do you dislike about the product?
There's not much I don't like. The only thing it could be faster at times.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
There are no business problems I solve with ubuntu. However the benefits are the cost of the program which is free.


    Ryan S.

Great solution for the desktop and server user alike

  • December 05, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu is the most user friendly Linux platform that I have used. It really is geared toward the novice or new to Linux user but does not placate the advanced user either.
What do you dislike about the product?
I am not a huge fan of the Debian based distributions but this is more of a religious conversation than anything wrong with Ubuntu. The platform is really without complaint.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This provides a Linux based platform that is free to use but has a very large community to seek assistance in. This has helped save dollars in doing deployments of desktops for users.


    Information Technology and Services

Ubuntu Review

  • December 01, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Free desktop replacement that can be used on many different types of hardware. I use an HDMI based Intel Stick.
What do you dislike about the product?
A little esoteric for the casual person. Definetly a gateway to Linux. It has come leaps and bounds over its earlier versions but the installs are not as clean as a windows or MAC environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
None


    Internet

Frequent Ubuntu-er

  • November 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The blending of GUI and CMD line interfaces makes it easy to get things done.
What do you dislike about the product?
The lack of full 32 bit color makes it less attractive than other OS choices.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The ubiquity of Ubuntu makes it easy to interface with others and not have OS barriers get in the way.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get familiar with Ubuntu now because you will be seeing it more and more in the future.


    Rae T.

Easy to install

  • November 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
When I had been given a computer for free to mess around with, I had decided that I had wanted to install Ubuntu in order to just see if I could. I had set it up quite quickly (or as quickly as installs happen) and if I had any questions, Ubuntu had guided me to where I needed to go. It was definitely user friendly and that was what was important to me at the time.
What do you dislike about the product?
I did not like that there were not enough programs that would work well with it. Sure, installing a windows emulator did help, however, it would have been nice to not have to have that extra step.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It was more for wanting to see if I could install an OS on an outdated machine that was donated. The benefits were that if I did not have an extra windows installer about, I would be able to use Ubuntu as a good alternative.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If one does not have the funding for a windows or apple OS and need to have an operating system, Ubuntu is a rather good one to have as it is easy to install and work with, especially with little training in the OS. I would suggest getting the emulators that are also rather easy to install (or at least the windows one was) to go with as it would make things easier on the person using it.


    Banking

Ubuntu review

  • November 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Free of charge, easy to use, intuitivne and user friendly.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not supporting all the drivers like some other OS.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Cut of charges for financing.


    Daniel B.

An good alternative to Windows and Mac OS

  • November 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
My favorite thing about Ubuntu is the ability to boot from a usb flash drive or other drive to try the software out. I also like sticking it to the man by making an alternative OS choice.
What do you dislike about the product?
I dislike that though many alternative software exists many of the software I have spent years manually is not available for linux. Also drivers may or may not be available for my hardware.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Setting kids up with an inexpensive alternative OS
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great OS, use it!


    Andrea C.

Great operating system to keep costs low

  • November 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like that it's free, open source and community supported.
What do you dislike about the product?
Support can be spotty, especially hardware support. Some community users have definitely have an attitude. Certain problems can be unsolved for long time if nobody in the community decide to take charge of the solution.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use it to run an in-house GPU-based image processing application for medical imaging. I can easily harness the raw power of my machine and GPUs.


    Jennifer H.

Ubuntu review

  • November 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like that this is both an OS that can be used text-based and visually. Coming from a windows background, I like the visual aspect, but coming from a coding background, it's great to be able to do things in terminal as well.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's a bit toyish looking at times, and I don't like all the menus.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Speed, efficiency, avoiding windows....
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For designer roles, I would stick with Mac OS.