Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

KrakenD API Gateway

KrakenD API Gateway | 2.2.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Amazon Linux 2 AMI - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

30 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    David G.

Best Api Gateway after research

  • June 22, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Really easy to install and configure, super fast
What do you dislike about the product?
Small company supporting it, but really skilled devs
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
API proxy with good Auth/SSO intetration, we configure against a custom SSO using Oauth 2.0 really fast


    Computer Software

Powerful, Streamlined and Elegant

  • June 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Cherry picking a specific feature that I like about Kraken is somewhat difficult given the host of functionalities available for developers to utilize. Tools such as Greylog and Grafana are an added benefit.
What do you dislike about the product?
Like any tech, KrakenD has it's own limitations but nothing that cannot be solved by writing custom plugins. There are features that can be built to make it more robust.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The fact that KrakenD becomes a single source of truth for all my API's is the biggest advantage I find.


    Ethan P.

Tons of capability with easy installation/ops

  • June 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Simple installation and operations make KrakenD extremely likable. There are up-to-date packages for every major OS, maintained by the KrakenD developers. It's also dead simple to install manually if necessary. Many proxy-based API gateways have multiple services that interact to create the working system (Traefik, Tyk, etc.). KrakenD cuts through all of that. I also love that you can use message brokers (RabbitMQ, SQS, etc.) as API targets. This opens up a whole new world of architectural possibilities.
What do you dislike about the product?
Although the documentation is excellent in most ways—organization, examples, and covering things at an appropriately conceptual level—it is still missing a few items and you'll probably run into one of them at some point. Occasionally something is mentioned but is not quite up to date. Finally, there have been a few bugs. It's a fast development cycle and there is a rough edge here and there. But with the simple operations, it would be very easy to revert to a previous version to wait for a fix.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are now terminating SSL and Authn/z at the gateway. KrakenD is also helping us standardize our API addresses without always rewriting/rerouting existing API endpoints. Some new APIs can now even be delivered entirely via configuration rather than code. For example: KrakenD endpoint > AWS SQS message > Zapier.com > (whatever).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just install it and try it out, since it is so simple to start using.


    Jose P.

Best performant and easy to configure API gateway

  • June 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
KrakenD is a highly performant and open-sourced API gateway that comes with hundreds of capabilities, such as caching, monitoring, QoS and throttling, authentication, and many more.
In addition, it is easily extendible with plugins written in Go or middleware written in Lua.

Is very well documented and its core (Lura) is developed by Linux Foundation.

Already trusted by many, definitely the best API gateway you can use both on-premise or in the cloud, serverless deployment included!!
What do you dislike about the product?
The number of configuration options can be a little overwhelming initially, but fortunately, there is an official web UI to help with the config file generation.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As an API gateway, it helps by improving access to internal APIs endpoints of a distributed system by allowing you to handle real-time transformations, JWT authorisation and authentication, backend resilience and the circuit breaker and more. It benefits my projects by enabling the use of very performant API gateway with much more features than other cloud API gateways.


    Edgar S.

Fast, Agile, Super Low Learning Curve and great Support!

  • June 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The Documentation is something awesome, besides the products were made by people that already faced real challenges when building a real API initiative project.
What do you dislike about the product?
The plugins creation and extensibility capability is something that requires Golang experience, although the situation you would need it is once in a blue moon
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Performance is the key aspect! Everything in the solution is made to offer the best experience possible for API consumers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Several other API Gateways tried to solve the whole problems in the world and also expected that everybody could be a top-notch user. KrakenD can be easy to learn, use, and sustain at the same time that is easy to scale up in a wide range of deployment options.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to use, excellent performance and superlative support.

  • June 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is very easy to configure, you can have an endpoint fully working in about 5 minutes.
What do you dislike about the product?
I have no complaints so far, Kraken has met my expectations.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In our case, we want to migrate our monolithic application to a microservices architecture. We have put Kraken as middleware to progressive decouple our services.


    Yalcin T.

Not a gateway but a real lifesaver

  • June 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
There are lots of reasons to choose KrakenD but to list a few I can say that its versatility is a key lifesaver. It saves lots of time & money in development besides you know that the running code is tested by millions secure, reliable and scaleable. It is developed using Go so is not vulnerable to common java vulnerabilities like log4j lately. Fast, secure and reliable software used by millions, most importantly it saves us thousands of development man-hours in microservice architecture projects.
What do you dislike about the product?
It is not very easy to find experienced tech staff since they are high in demand but you can overcome this issue with the enterprise support KrakenD provide
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It supports microservice architecture design patterns like circuit breaker, aggregator, throttling etc. You can mock endpoints, you can manipulate both request and response. It becomes a security shield in front of microservices. It saves time and budget a lot when developing a microservice architecture software


    Airlines/Aviation

A year of experience with KrakenD

  • June 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We have been using KrakenD for more than a year. It allowed us to implement a multi tenant API Gw solution which fits our needs. The best part of using KrakenD is it allows you to customize any part of the API GW by implementing your own plugin extension
What do you dislike about the product?
There are some certain functionalities that we might need and those are falling into the commercial version. Instead of packaging everything under a commercial license, there would be a nice option to provide some within the marketplace.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We had some backend services which we had to provide to our third-party clients. Each client needs to access different sub-services and we had to provide a configuration-level solution that enables us to manage the API access. We easily implemented our solution using KrakenD configuration templates.


    Rafa G.

The simplest API Gateway with a great performance

  • June 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The best of KrakenD is its extensibility. You can extend it with their existing plugin ecosystem and flexible configuration. Also, creating a plugin for it is effortless, since it's a very well-written API Gateway code.
What do you dislike about the product?
It has a very good telemetry integration with many services like Prometheus, Datadog, Grafana…, but I miss having OpenTelemetry, since nowadays it has become a standard.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
KrakenD enabled our company to have some BFF (Backend for frontend) to escalate our APIs. Also, since is a very performant Gateway, we did it while lowering costs compared to other Gateways.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There is a channel in the Gophers Slack called #KrakenD where the creators answer questions.


    Javier F.

Stateless and cost-effective API Gateway for our microservices

  • June 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It does not depend on anything else rather than a simple configuration file. Guarantee scaling needs without having to increase the cost linearly as you have to do in other API gateway cases. Better pricing for scale needs and better performance without vendor lock-in.
What do you dislike about the product?
I would like to have some kind of backoffice with a dashboard containing metrics and graphs to monitor all the different services connected to the API Gateway .
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have migrated from a monolith to a microservices-based architecture, preventing to change the public specification of our APIs. It was a nice way to progressively migrate all our architecture without having to stop delivering new features meanwhile we were doing the migration