Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Linux Desktop with Web Interface

netCUBED | v1.5.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

928 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Law Practice

Ubuntu can be setup like Windows and can be easy to use

  • July 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's free, easy to install. Ubuntu runs on older hardware, has a built-in office sweet and is less of a target for hackers.
I find the online community helpful and community support is free.
What do you dislike?
That it has not gotten easy enough for an average user still requires some know-how to get everything set up.
If Ubuntu is going to be mainstream, it needs to become easier for the average person to use. having to run Windows application tHrough WINE and be very difficult to set up and can be buggy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Faster, Safer, more powerful than WIndows. I am able to use older hardware and still have a fast functional system to manage my network.
I can run native Linux apps that better suit my network management needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have some computer know-how and can install Windows, you should be able to install Ubuntu. If you're look for an OS that will install and run well on older hardware, then Ubuntu is for you. If you're looking to set up an older desktop or laptop for email and internet use the Ubuntu is a good choice.


    Naveed A.

Awesome OS

  • July 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free availability and ease of use. Ubuntu brings linux OS really close to an end user in a supportive way.
User can try all the amazing for free and as a VM on host machine. We can download all the required softwares ,applications and we can use it run different scripts before deploying them in production environment.
Main thing is it brings simple user really close to Linux in an efficient way.
What do you dislike?
With latest updates, it requires lot off memory and disk space. So in order to run it efficiently as a VM , you need a good host with good processing power.
There should be more softwares already installed in Ubuntu rather then downloading them afterwards.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am doing labs with ubuntu for practice. Ran lot off Bash scripts.
Did networking labs on this OS. Ran IPS and IDS on ubuntu. Configured a program for an assignment. Configured Snort on ubuntu.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use Ubuntu for educational purposes. Everyone is slowly transitioning towards linux. Learning it will give you upper edge in interviews and job search.
Learn BASH on ubuntu. Run different different scripts, create different interseting lab envirnments.


    Charith D.

Multifunction - Open source Platform

  • July 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple Graphical interface and all applications and tools available. Ubuntu is entirely open source, with a comprehensive software center and sophisticated management console for database support. It also integrates all key programming tools and frameworks, and additional applications may be installed easily.
What do you dislike?
For those who are not so tech skilled, the learning is tougher. but this can be solved by learning through lessons
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Ubuntu to build software, enter code-data as well as to carry out computer analyzes. one of the most essential features of Ubuntu would be that It is extremely secure, since it is less susceptible to malware.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you learn some of terminal basic codes, becasue without that knowledge you can not get full advantage over ubunut


    Ben Wei-Ming L.

My experience using Ubuntu

  • July 11, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to install almost any popular application (packages)
Ubuntu's repository has all kinds of dpkg packages.
I rarely need to build a package from its source code.
(compare with other Linux-based systems)
What do you dislike?
Compare with Windows. Ubuntu has much less consumer software (games, multimedia)
However, if you use Ubuntu only for work, this is not a problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Ubuntu to develop software. The products of my company are all Linuxed-based machines. (Storage, Switch, etc.)
Since it's easy to install any package on Ubuntu, it's effortless to make a proof of concept quickly before I start to implement it on our Linux-based products.


    Ryan K.

Ubuntu is a great open-source alternative to Microsoft Windows and Mac OS X

  • July 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is a very stable, free, and open-source operating system that supports many hardware devices and software applications.
What do you dislike?
I prefer a desktop environment with more features than the default GNOME desktop in Ubuntu, so I typically install the KDE Plasma desktop.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu is a very secure operating system with a light footprint and can run on older or low-powered hardware. It supports many applications and is a very reliable operating system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend testing the Ubuntu operating system in a test or virtual environment to ensure it has the features and compatibility you need. Learning to become proficient in the terminal/command line will help you make the most of Ubuntu and take advantage of advanced functionality.


    jay m.

Best for Development purpose and very light compared to windows

  • July 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The UI and the flexibility to customize almost every icon and program in it, There are N number of packages and libraries which you can install on Ubuntu
What do you dislike?
no everyone can install MS Office on ubuntu, there is issue which too many updates every time and sometimes it is heavier than the older version of it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Quickly developing new things by using some awesome libraries
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is the most flexible OS, and you can install N number of packages and utilities which will help you to customize your desktop and your file system in a convenient manner


    Yash V.

Best for Dev

  • July 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The development-related stuff is developed mainly on Linux-based systems. The ubuntu os is developed using Linux and helps for the development of the application. For example, node.js is one of the best examples for the same.
What do you dislike?
There ate some stuff that can be done using user interfaces but is available via the command line. This stuff can be changed and done via UI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am currently using the ubuntu os for the web development stuff and have realized that npm is faster than other operating systems.


    Naresh R.

Great Linux Operating system

  • June 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like most about Ubuntu which it provides High security to the users and is very difficult to hack by hackers. By using Terminal we access anything through the command line. The data transfer rate is very high . It will take less storage space compared to other operating systems. Most of Networking Engineers will prefer by using Ubuntu
What do you dislike?
What I dislike about Ubuntu is it doesn't have a proper Graphical user interface like Windows.It has some limited Application support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I solved my security and data storing issues. This operating system provides the best cyber-security for users. It using mainly because of data security and data accessing speed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend this Operating system whoever needs their data to be safe can prefer this.


    Naveen K.

Ubuntu free OS - No risk

  • June 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It can run from virtual drive as CD storage were we need security and more reliable to work as in any place and computer
What do you dislike?
Not user friendly because user interface not looks so attractive as more compatability with new user and learner as in it.

Also it is very raw format of all apps and it's lot of unsupported apps for frequent usages apps
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sudden corrupt of OS I will run as need of copying the files from hard disk and virtually I can run without make it as storage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Not recommended for commercial purpose and user friendly as use ease of access


    Arti A.

Ubuntu for Web Server Management

  • June 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We are using Ubuntu Server for web server configuration & implementation of secure infrastructure. We have deployed the Ubuntu server over the cloud & using the command line for design. It's easy to manage & configure & one of the secure operating systems.
What do you dislike?
Update issues in the database during the webserver configuration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu Provides a secure server with fast process & configuration. It is one of the flavour of Linux & from Debian family.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a secure server & easy to manage, then go with Ubuntu.