Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

57 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mathieu K.

Fivetran Makes Loading Data Easy

  • June 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are multiple existing connectors that make it easy to connect different systems and load data into our warehouse.
The connectors are easy to configure and you can get up and running really quickly.
Alerts show when there are issues with your connectors that need your attention.
You also get email notifications when a connector is delayed and when it resumes, so you can always be on top of things.
When there is an issue, support is there to help you to try to find a solution.
What do you dislike?
When you run into an issue, it is not always easy to understand what is causing the error. When it works, it just works. But, when it doesn't, it can be difficult to understand the issue without trial and error.
Sometimes, it is just easier to ask support to help you troubleshoot, even though it can take a bit more time to get a solution to your problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connecting multiple systems and some Google Sheets to load all our data into our data warehouse.
Fivetran works as our loader in our ELT BI stack.
We use it to load our data from many systems, including our custom-built professional services management tool using the SQL Server connector, Jira, Hubspot and many others. The data is loaded straight into our Snowflake database and it's easy to query for new data with the timestamps that Fivetran adds to each row.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is great at what it does.


    Jean-François P.

Easy

  • June 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
An Integration with multiple sub-systems
What do you dislike?
I think the user interface could be improved
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Great integration to centralize our business information from CRM, Jira, production data and some Google sheets


    Andrew P.

Resilient and capable pipelining tool

  • June 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Wide variety of connectors, config vs. code, a new compelling pricing model, excellent support. Also a high bar for security has been met for our usage given the architecture.
What do you dislike?
So far there has been little to dislike, support cases have been rare and well attended to. Pricing under the older connector based model was starting to look prohibitive but the consumption model has eliminated that concern. Commercial processes are somewhat immature.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Quick, secure and easy pipelining of SaaS and DB sources to our Snowflake instances. Very positive cost benefit by displacing labour and license costs for other data integraton tools
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Evaluate through a trial, consider architecture in context of security


    Katherine N.

Fivetran for Data Replication

  • June 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It was quick and easy to get started with Fivetran and concentrate on just what I needed to know when working with our data pipelines. Fivetran sends helpful notifications about data syncs when they fail or get delayed. I've also had positive experiences with their support team as well; I got quick, helpful responses when I've needed to contact them with questions or concerns in the past.
What do you dislike?
Fivetran is unable to capture certain functions, like cascading deletes, which led to some issues using it for replication as we've relied heavily on cascade deletes in the past and updating our entire application to not use them would take significant amounts work. You can use a post-load transformation to mitigate this and mark certain records as deleted as a workaround. We also discovered an issue where duplicate rows with entirely identical information weren't getting synced over properly--only the first row would get replicated and the others were being ignored as duplicates of it. This caused some table row counts to not match up when we audited the replicated data against the source database. Including primary keys on your tables prevents this, but it can be a problem for older tables that were not set up properly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Fivetran to replicate our transactional databases and allow our data science team to perform more intensive operations without affecting production environments than we could otherwise. It's also allowed us to leverage more powerful tools like Snowflake for generating data insights which helps with performance constraints or lack of historical data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure to read about which functions aren't supported when considering your Fivetran needs so you don't run into a few of the small pains we discovered later.


    Shailen M.

Simple setup and good UI

  • June 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
FiveTran is a good solution for our needs. It was easy to connect to our various data sources and start getting the data into Snowflake. We connected to 10 different sources in one weekend to get started.
What do you dislike?
At times the error messages were helpful in figuring out the issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Getting all data from various data sources into our Data Warehouse. It was simple to set up and their UI is good. The updates and alerts are helpful too.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a great solution to connect with your data warehouse.


    Retail

On the Train

  • June 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use and support is always there for you if you need it. It also integrated with other systems that we use for data.
What do you dislike?
I don't have any problems so far with it. I wish it has SCIM provisioning though
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I don't have any problems so far with it. Can't complain.


    Vivek K.

Go to product for Data Replication and ELT

  • June 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Variety of Connectors available and Ease of setup
Fully Managed Pipeline
What do you dislike?
The Load component of ELT is very well handled by Fivetran but more features need to be added on T that is transformation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fivetran makes it easy to load data quickly in data warehouse with little to no maintenance required.

Benefits:

Ease of replication
Availability of variety of connectors
Good customer support


    Management Consulting

Best Replication Tool

  • June 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Wide range of connectors
2. Dynamic column creation in Target if source add some column
3. SQL DB CDC option
What do you dislike?
1. Errors are not user friendly.
2. Transformation option only available for SQL DB
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Migrated our Tradition ETL system to ELT. Fivetran helped us in migrationg from ETL to ELT.

Raw data into datalake (Snowfalke) by just few just few clicks


    Bruno M.

Easy to use and reliable ETL

  • April 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, and consistency. The UX allows for clear understanding of the sync processes, and troubleshooting with clear error descriptions.
What do you dislike?
There is really nothing I dislike about Fivetran.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
ETL pipelines from across multiple vendors.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ensure the integrations will work for you, test it out. Netsuite is the tricky one but has been working very well for us. Fivetran provides what we need and takes away the headache of having to deal with ETL'ing data across vendors. We definitely did not want to build that in-house.

Our business is not in ETL instrumentation, so a tool like Fivetran has enabled us to connect say Salesforce to Snowflake easily, and give the entire team access to the data they need quickly and consistently.

We tested other vendors in the past who did not meet our expectations. The one caveat I would say is that we don't leverage MySQL or other binlog level replication functionality via Fivetran as we dealing with schema changes under the binlog replication model is simply too painful and potentially dangerous.

You can consider StichData as an alternative as we did, ultimately Fivetran did the job for us and we're happy with it.


    Information Technology and Services

Works well, simple to use

  • April 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
How quickly you can upload spreadsheets to tables.
What do you dislike?
It was a little unintuitive to use the very first time. I believe it was between the selecting data to upload and then turning the uploaded data into tables screens.... the experience just became a little disjointed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're turning spreadsheets into tables, simple enough. Saves time
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Not sure this applies.