Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Security Console for Rapid7 InsightVM and Nexpose

Rapid7 | 6.6.150

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 1
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

64 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Lem R.

InsightVM (Nexpose) Review

  • March 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how InsightVM does a deeper vulnerability scan of all assets that have an IP address in our network. Network devices, hosts, IoTs, phones, etc. InsightVM also integrates very well with InsightIDR SIEM and Insight Anyconnect to remediate issues it finds. I also like how it integrates with SCCM which makes it easier for us to remediate and automate things.
What do you dislike?
InsightVM for some reason had issues resolving licensing count in our deployment as well as doing exclusions when manually creating a scan group. The ability to create a scan group exclusion is critical because we use a guest network and during an IP range scanning, these devices are also reported by InsightVM.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We mostly used InsightVM for the vulnerability management of our servers and workstation environment. Using InsightVM allowed us to find obsolete software we've already forgotten as well as helping us keep our Windows environment updated with current patches.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As a recommendation for others considering InsightVM, run a longer POC of the system and see how it works. Line up a test system and play with all the settings. The product is solid and the support is top-notch. InsightVM is a great tool for any vulnerability management process.


    Ryan S.

Rapid7 InsightVM - No Other Way To Go

  • March 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Definitely the Remediation Projects. No more spreadsheets, thousands of tickets, or super long PDF's that the owner is just going to throw away.
What do you dislike?
Just the waiting on them to offer a full-cloud option.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Risk-based Vulnerability Management with plenty of automation and granularity built right in.


    Banking

Security Overview

  • March 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
InsightVM allows us to see an overall view of our security posture. Easy to use and understand the metrics provided on the built-in reports and dashboards.
What do you dislike?
Very minimal to dislike.. I would say the one request I would like to see in the future is more customization of reporting and projects.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being able to see the entire view of the company in one view. Easy to identify where remediation efforts are needed. VM allows me to communicate to stakeholders easily and provide detailed feedback when asked questions regarding the reports.


    Computer & Network Security

One powerful product that needs just a little fine tuning.

  • March 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The basic Tasks, like creating reports, Viewing Assets, and creating Goals, are easy as can be.Deployment with the agents was a breeze as well.
What do you dislike?
More granular and advanced searches, groupings, reports, and goals are a lot more difficult. because of how the filters work.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Rapid7 InsightVM is one piece to a very powerful suite of tools offered by Rapid7. InsightVM was easy to deploy using their agents. The constant theme to InsightVM is that basic tasks at the enterprise level are easy. More granular tasks and trying to filter assets into specific groups can be a much bigger job than it should be.


    Brandon C.

InsightVM The Ultimate Vulnerability Management Solution

  • March 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Vulnerability metrics
Remediation Projects
Dashboards
Asset Tagging
Automated Scanning
What do you dislike?
Credentialed scanning can raise some concerns about password sniffing, but this is mitigated by installing the agent on the endpoints.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The product has given us visibility into our threat landscape and has helped us significantly reduce the number of exploitable systems in our environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Geographic Sites with respectively placed scan engines.


    Government Relations

InsightVM

  • February 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am a big fan of the reporting tools, SLAs and insightVM agent
What do you dislike?
I really don't have any nuances with the product, it has evolved since I start using it, got more integration, and additional features
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Staying on top of our remediation process, monitoring the progress and meeting SLAs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a great product, easy to setup and use


    Financial Services

InsightVM (Nexpose) Vulnerability Management

  • February 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Configuration, customization, and scanning
What do you dislike?
Inaccuracy of some scans (Cisco routers sometimes show up as different models which mark incorrect vulnerabilities)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Insight to Vulnerabilities and validation of our patch management


    Federico G.

Insight VM useful experience in vulnerability management

  • February 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
IVM has a remediation projects , a section that is a helpful tool to follows vulns state during periods between scan jobs, we can review the vulns state per group (servers, apps, workstations, others), and the person in charge and is possible to add comments and approval the remediation actions and do additional test to confirm. This feature reduces the load of work in management and is the most effective strattegy
What do you dislike?
Some times different areas have differents needs and we must to prepare a very customizable reports for each one, some times the person in charge change the idea and request a new report with other info.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We solved that with a single tool can scan internal external IP addresses, virtualizad and cloud objetives
We have a better useful manage for remediation projects with third party integrations, this info can be exported to other solutions like SIEM, or Metasploit and is more easy to do complex tasks


    chris d.

Switched to IVM and never looked back

  • February 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
IVM is very easy to use and intuitive. From setting up sites, to creating asset groups, to tagging, it all makes sense. Granted there are deeper features to learn about, especially those related to the cloud-based features such as Remediation Projects. I've used IVM for about 3 years and I continually find new ways to use the product and R7 is consistently adding new features, so there's always a new way to use the product.
What do you dislike?
While it isn't an easy ask, the remediation instructions can be improved on. Granted it can be difficult when there are numerous operating systems, along with their associated versions, especially when you get into the Linux world. This can be helpful for teams that are not experienced with security or are less technically knowledgeable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The core of what we are trying to resolve is vulnerability assessment and management. In an enterprise environment this is always a challenge, but additionally we've found it useful for discovery and organization of assets. While IVM isn't designed for asset management, it can certainly help. While our network design isn't typical, it has been helpful to utilize tags to organize and assign remediation responsibilities.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As with any product, ensure that it meets your needs and fills gaps that you may have. IVM won't be a magic bullet, but it will point you in the right direction and will help your security team with vulnerability remediation. Rapid 7 has also kept those that are outside of security in mind. With the proper knowledge, remediation projects, goals, reports, and asset groups can all be used to ensure other technical teams have the information they need to fix any issues identified in IVM.


    Financial Services

InsightVM frmo Rapid7

  • January 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Reporting and cloud capabilities are very good. Also Remediation projects are helpful.
What do you dislike?
false positives and R7 doesnt have support where you can call in case of need. You open a case and they follow up on their SLA. You can schedule a call with the support person after creating a case based on THE SUPPORT PERSON'S CALENDER and mostly you wont get an open slot the same day.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Through InsightVM we are shifting left to give remediation and reporting controls to the IT admins.