Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Netspectrum's Ubuntu Desktop 18.04 LTS (arm64)

Netspectrum Inc. | arm64-18.04lts-210112-210117

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

28 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jaswinder S.

Great OS for all of your needs

  • May 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I loved that it's opensource & have all the power of sudo that we need.
What do you dislike?
GUI still can be better but the community is already working on it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use ubuntu for my day to operations, mostly linux servers.


    Sana R.

Ubuntu Desktop Review

  • May 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most helpful thing about ubuntu is its command-line accessibility and usability. Terminal commands make the workload especially os related very easier.
What do you dislike?
There is not anything in particular that I dislike. However, the most occurring and frustrating problem that I usually face is the frozen screen. when the main memory fills to its limit, the screen alongside the keyboard and mouse freezes out of sudden. there is no escape other than the reboot using REISUB combination or manually switch, which results in the loss of the unsaved work
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use ubuntu on daily basis for software development and programming. I myself explicitly program in python and ubuntu makes setting up the python environment and install the dependent packages and libraries very easy. moreover setting up docker system and containers for black-box or unit testing etc is also very easy on Linux environment as compare to windows systems, in my opinion
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend to look and explore for the common terminal commands for daily use. the terminal access to the system makes the work more easier and usable. Secondly, using the shell scripts to automate the process that are redundant and repetitive or that are used on a frequent basis makes the life easy.


    Education Management

Ubuntu

  • May 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The universality is what I like the most, Most of the benefits of Ubuntu is that it is a free and open-source operating system. In other words, unlike Microsoft Windows and Apple's macOS, individuals and companies can own and retain functioning machines without the need for software licenses or the purchase of specialized hardware. Building and managing an information technology system are also costly endeavors. Aside from the hardware, they need a functional operating system. Even so, both individuals and companies will benefit from reduced costs associated with free operating systems and open source software apps. The operating system can be mounted on a variety of machines, including Windows and Mac computers. It also operates on network servers, IoT computers, even robots, both in configured or virtual machines ( vms computing )systems through the use of a virtual environment or containers.
What do you dislike?
One of Ubuntu's biggest drawbacks is the small number of applications available. While the operating system is open, and a range of applications are also available for free download, equivalents in Windows and macOS are much superior. Major developers also tend to work on projects for Microsoft Corporation and Apple Inc. because their customer bases are broader. I've also reported driver problems or incompatibility between the operating system and their computers' hardware requirements. There have been isolated reports of wireless card drivers failing to function or printers failing to link to computers due to an unexplained hardware problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Ubuntu for coding and many other functions which makes it versatile


    Computer & Network Security

descriptive review on Ubuntu

  • January 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are many things which I personally like about the product, here are few to glance

1. well designed GUI
2. stable kernel
3. Complete stack support for all softwares
What do you dislike?
Only few dislikes compared to the quantum of likes
1. compatability of drivers is the main challenge
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main usage is to replace traditional Windows end-user environment, its reasonably affordable and uses full potential of the underlying hardware.


    Martino Nauli R.

Ubuntu for daily use as software developer

  • December 31, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I'm ubuntu-desktop user since it's first release in the year 2004 (Ubuntu 4.10), what i like from ubuntu than other linux distribution because it's easy to install, and it's desktop environment more less like other commercial operating system.

Other reason because of ship-it program until 12.04 release, ubuntu supporting company's Cannonical open order for free ubuntu disc and ship-it around the globe for free.

It also has lot of local-community (I also maintainer of local-community at my university back then). When you have problem just ask community sometimes they also have problem just like yours and also alreadt solved it.

and the best part is,ubuntu is free...
What do you dislike?
The major version upgrade software sometimes broke your current system, it's better to backup your datas and do clean install if you want to use new releases.

although you can play windows game on ubuntu using steam or wine (Wine Is Not Emulator) sometimes the game can't run smoothly, so it's not recommended playing (windows) games on ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
as software developer, ubuntu desktop help me do my task. It has many options of IDE to use and major software used on the web also runs on linux system which ubuntu has it on it's software repositories.

When I began my job as software developer back in the year 2012, my main language is PHP, ubuntu already has this so you can develop software in environment same as production server and analyzed if that software is work fine without any problems.


    Abhinav A.

Best OS

  • December 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the following point in ubuntu-
1. It's an open-source OS. so we can customize it to a much greater extend.
2. No need for any antivirus.
3. Low cost.
4. Quick response.
5. Battery backup.
What do you dislike?
There are a few software that is really good but not available for Ubuntu OS like Microsoft office.
Everything rest is fine for me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been using it for our company work. It is really easy to work with Ubuntu for software development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, I definitely want to recommend it.


    Priyanshu P.

Amazing OS to work on - A mix of CUI and GUI

  • December 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You can use it even on a Celeron Desktop and it works just fine. Faster and much more secure than Windows.
What do you dislike?
It is really good to have a Linux based OS running both CUI and GUI however of all my colleagues, only some prefer a mix of Interfaces.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to write code in. Much more secure than a Windows. Yeah it is somewhat hard to find all the applications for Ubuntu, however it does all that is necessary.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- Only try to use Ubuntu if you are into Tech and are also Tech Savvy enough to get a hold of all the functionalities. Because there will be some things that you would need a Graphic User Interface for in case you are unable to learn commands.


    Luis O.

Excellent free operating system!

  • November 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Among different OS distributions Ubuntu Desktop has always featured graphical enhancements to be user-friendly and easy to use. The libraries and drivers are always updated for in cases of connecting a removable memory, the installation of office programs are compatible and free as the operating system. The installation of the Ubuntu Desktop operating system does not require greater physical capacity of hardware, it is very light and works very well. Community support is very extensive and solutions are always available for any operating system problem, every year the updates are renewed.
What do you dislike?
I always like Ubuntu Desktop. Everything works very well, it is incredible how it detects printers automatically, and the ease of having shared folders.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The benefits are many by not having to buy an operating system license and other programs that require a paid license. Security is paramount and the risk of viruses is reduced by having a Unix operating system. The Ubuntu desktop form is very easy to use. It is compatible for printers and in some moments it is automatically detected and the operating system updates are constant to always keep the system patched and reduce computer risks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is highly recommended to use Ubuntu Desktop, the installation and use is very easy, there are many diversity of programs to use as other operating systems, the best thing is that it does not require a license and additional payments. It has a very good support.


    Jerald N.

Ubuntu Desktop

  • November 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best part of Ubuntu Desktop is open-source and freely available on the web
You can alter it as you want. Highly secure and used in AL projects
What do you dislike?
Not very user friendly when compared with windows
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Machine learning and training devices
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Must try an alternative for windows


    Nilesh B.

User friendly ubuntu

  • November 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu Desktop is provide user friendly environment to end user perspective. Its having stable and clean attractive interface. Most useful functionality as technical people that is terminal. Just run command or script that provide user friendly out put. scripting and command line interface ( terminal )is the most power full functionality. It's easier to trace out the processes and server performance and activity for real users that having accessing large product or websites. Very easy to install, Configure and combability to portability for adapting new implementations. No bug repetition, very easy to use, crash out when system is running multiple process this type of issue is very less. This is the most desirable future of ubuntu desktop that make it OS as User friendly ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
I have used ubuntu from last four year in my technical experience but update future of ubuntu its self its very difficult if program is crashed in middle and give either OS update error or library or module install error. That time I have to take help from ubuntu expert help to resolve this type of error. Some of the software installation though terminal only I don't know why its not install and just giving progress view on desktop from ubuntu software installation view.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have try to solve file management and sync and parallels thread processing its happening through the ubuntu Desktop terminal. Its easy to identify number of process list out and count and also manage server configuration and server load through the distribution through the load balancer. Its great way to manage this problem using this OS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would like to represent ubuntu is truly user friendly because its provide easy way to operate and its inbuilt functionality more convenience to use it and operate it.so, its provide multiple way to configure, develop and deploy the software into the real world.it convivence to provide real time scenario to deal with technical difficulties.