Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Scilab powered by Code Creator

Code Creator | v7.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

58 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Tejas H.

Great software to solve & evaluate complex mathematical & engineering problems

  • March 31, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. First and foremost feature is it's free of cost so anyone can take benefit of it!
2. One can solve and analyze complex problems in electrical engineering.
3. Users can able to understand graphical behavior under different circumstances.
What do you dislike?
As it is free & open-source and free software so one should not complain about it but I would like to give a few suggestions:
1. User interface could become more attractive.
2. More functions should be introduced.
3. Sometimes it takes time to fully load software but this might be a problem only with my pc it may vary pc to pc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have using Scilab since the second year of my engineering studies. Scilab helps a lot while solving complex mathematical problems, their graphical representations under different circumstances. In short, Scilab helps to solve problems in science, mathematics & engineering studies.


    Tanishq G.

Good Open Source Tool for Data Science

  • March 29, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's open-source, yet so powerful and got large community support online, it's easy to find answers to your problem. Anyone can install it, unlike MATLAB which is paid. Its programming is similar to MATLAB making it easy to switch to open source. Even its size is a lot smaller than MATLAB, so if you use MATLAB for computational purposes (no Simulink) we can switch to it and do a lot of great stuff.
What do you dislike?
Its interface is too bland although I don't dislike it now, in starting it just makes things boring, its color and everything is just so simple. It doesn't have autocomplete feature, which is quite helpful when you start learning something new. They can also add new themes to colorize the editor, which is also missing currently.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have made many models with Scilab, which gave me quite useful insights, its graphing is what I used most and still use. Graphs help me understand things more practically and thus make learning and developing fun, interesting and understandable. I also used it a lot in my college. I use it more often than MATLAB due to its fewer RAM and ROM requirements.


    Mitali K.

A great open-source software for scientific manipulation of data.

  • December 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how I can plot vadious complex functions and solve big mathematical equations by writing a few lines of code. Scilab provides high-quality features and methods to plot graphs in various different ways in a single open-source software.
What do you dislike?
When using graphic windows, everytime I run the program, I have to click on the graphic window tab again and again in order to open it, which is quite tiresome and time-consuming. It would be better if all the windows associated with a single program displayed on their own upon execution.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Scilab is helping me through my degree and project to solve various mathematical problems and predict how different functions behave. The codes are fairly simple to learn, giving immense functionality at the same time.


    Jay M.

Review regarding Scilab Software

  • September 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Scilab is a very good software that is an open-source freely available and user-friendly interface and by use of this software, I do solve different types of equations and data analysis and scientific computation. It is most widely used for alternative of Matlab for low level computation.
What do you dislike?
As per observation, sometimes it gives errors and the interface is less attractive and it provides the fewer option compare to Simulink Software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used Scilab generally for educational and research purposes and to solve complex equations and data analysis and simulation purposes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One should try this software one who is looking for the best alternative to Matlab software for scientific calculation and data analysis because it is free and easy to use and good help is also available.


    Research

Best Opensource calculator

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open source.
Scientific calculations can be done.
What do you dislike?
Simulink is much better than Xcos.
Xcos code generator is not upto the mark.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Scientific equations and simulink problems.
There's no other open source software with this advanced ability to solve Scientific equations and simulink type problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use this,if you could not afford Matlab


    Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Experience with scilab

  • May 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The user interface is simple but efficient at the same time.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the computation takes longer '
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Newton raphson problems.


    Amit J.

One of the best open source application out there

  • April 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Scilab is best for the one who wants to use open source application for the data analysis and scientific computation. It is much famous for the low level computation.
What do you dislike?
User interface of the application is not much attractive or say smooth enough for techies. As it is open source application there is no security of your data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using scilab for computation and analysis for raw scrap data and other data as output per man, overall efficiency of the machine and other data related to consuption of consumables. Benefit of using scilab is that you have make set up for any analysis only for one time and after that you just haveto put your data to get the desired results like graph, chart or table. It is easy to interpret output results.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should go for the scilab if you are the begginer in the world of analysis and scientific computation. It is available to all the platform out there.


    Dhruv T.

Good scientific tool but needs better help library

  • April 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to use and is open source platform having almost all essential functions of MATLAB
What do you dislike?
It sometimes get difficult for error identification &correction; can improve the help section/library for better understanding of functions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Linkage simulations, and force/power estimations at different nodes of mechanism


    Education Management

Large Power System Stability Analysis Using a free and open source software based tool: SciLab/Xcos

  • March 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its an open source platform. Any one can modify the source codes and give their contribution. It provides a good alternative to conventional software like MATLAB. Scilab has both scripting as well as simulating environment. The installation file size for Scilab hardly exceeds 600MB, unlike Matlab (in GBs), independent of the operating system.
What do you dislike?
Scilab simulation platform 'Xcos' library has almost all blocks similar to MATLAB Simulink. However, they are not as ‘polished’ as Simulink palettes when vectorized variables are to be handled. With regard to fixed step numerical integration methods available for carrying out time-domain simulations, Xcos
provides a few options as compared to Simulink.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used Scilab for education and research purpose in my organisation. Load flow programmes are developed using Fast decoupled load flow (FDLF) method in Scilab and are tested with standard IEEE power systems.This software helped me in developing the small signal and transient stability programme for multimachine environment. Also, eigenvalue analysis operations in power system studies are performed and the inferences obtained are verified through time domain simulations in Xcos.


    Higher Education

Scilab is good to solve mathematical problems.

  • March 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, graph simulation, analysis
What do you dislike?
Scilab has fewer toolboxes. Flexibility issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Graphical problems
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Scilab will help you understand nuances of statistics with help different graph and analysis. It is a must for analysts