Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

openSUSE Leap 15.x 64-bit HVM powered by SmartAMI

SmartAMI | 15.3 20220401

Linux/Unix, SUSE openSUSE Leap 15.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

29 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Open Suse

  • July 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This Linux distribution is easy to use and very stable.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes is not compatible with my other software and hardware
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used to install openSUSE in my old PCs and it works fine


    Education Management

openSUSE

  • July 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
a solid platform that has ease of use features built in for updates and installing applications
What do you dislike?
compatibility with 3rd party apps is not always the best
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using the openSUSE linux platform for several network monitoring applications that helped identify bandwidth bottlenecks and increase uptime of equipment.


    Program Development

It is a very stable and reliable software

  • July 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a very stable software, it is not susceptible to viruses, we use it for the servers, the amount of resources are less that are necessary in relation to the other software, the updates have worked correctly every time they have been implemented
What do you dislike?
The installation is a little complex, and there is not so much technical personnel that knows the platform, also openSUSE has a bad rap for installing a lot of bloat in the form of recommended packages, which often tend to get re-installed even if the user tries to remove them
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Yast is one of the best tools that we have used in OpenSuse, we use it for the administration of the network, and updates, we have installed third party software and the work has been very easy.


    Juan Manuel R.

Buen sistema operativo de software libre

  • July 17, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Es muy liviano, ligero, robusto y estable, ademas si sabes de linux es de las mejores plataformas que puedes instalar para protegerte de los virus y malware diariamentemente en tu dia a dia.
What do you dislike?
No hay nada que me disguste, quizas saber manejarlo como todo en la vida pero una vez aprendes a saber utlizarlo es de los mejores sistemas operativos que puedes usar.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Seguridad, estable, no tengo preocupaciones por los virus y el malware, todo es beneficio lo que he estado usando este sistema operativo
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Si buscan seguridad, estabilidad, sin preocupaciones, entonces este es su sistema operativo, es de lo mejor que he podido instalar en todos mis años de sistema operativos, deje atras el sistema operativo windows para ponerme este.


    Information Technology and Services

Free version Suse to taste

  • June 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has the best features taken from Suse linux (apparmor, yaST) plus compiz fusion which is a great 3d tool for managing multiple desktops. additionally the continuous publication of improvements in their versions. Evergreen helps as extended support for older versions, which is beneficial for computers that can not install new updates due to lack of requirements
What do you dislike?
sometimes it is not possible to install and configure some hardware of the equipment.
Only default is KDE and GNOME
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
as a free distribution, it complies with the freedoms of free software, since it has been able to adapt to specific needs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you are a user of Gnu / linux distributions, you must try the current version.
Try other desktop environments that do not come with the base installation
use xen to virtualize


    Sakura Y.

Great with those wanting to do away with Windows

  • June 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love that openSUSE is open source Linux, but still has many of the visual aspects of Windows. It helps to ease from one type of operating system to another. It's also extremely customization, which is a plus for both beginners and experts to the Linux system.
What do you dislike?
There is a pretty major learning curve to certain aspects, most obvious when installing or updating software. Luckily, many tutorials are found online, but the system doesn't natively do things with one-click like many users are used to.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
openSUSE has given us the power to adapt to any type of computer or other phone/tablet, regardless of the operating system natively installed on the device. It lends flexibility since nothing is tied down to a particular system, and it's portable using only a flash drive.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read up on tutorials if you are lost! openSUSE does have a learning curve but most problems are easy to fix with a little research.


    Computer Software

User friendly distro

  • April 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install and easy to use for the first time. Didn't have to spend a lot of time googling for answers
What do you dislike?
Had a little difficulty firguring which version to go with
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Good amount of documentation for referencing


    Brian T.

A great, widely usable linux distro

  • March 14, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The standard distribution contains the main things I need and it's easy to add other packages. It's easy to do a basic installation, but also allows for more custom setups. It's well supported and generally reliable.
What do you dislike?
There can occasionally be functionality issues, which isn't surprising given it's open source.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use openSUSE for my research work. With the existing and add-on packages I can work efficiently.


    Aslan C.

Great and happy

  • January 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to use.
Package HUB to share the packages.
The One-Click install makes the life simple.
Greate community always available to help and share the knownledge.
What do you dislike?
More users!
I don't have any issue with my use.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Problems with compatible notebooks and recente devices.
Intel+Nvidia works great!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
openSUSE is a great Linux Distribuition, stable, easy, with great support and is made by the community using all support from SUSE, is a really opensource linux.
You don't have to get worry, is easy, try the YaST will see how easy and secure is to use OpenSUSE.
Do you want play? Work smooth with all games you want!