Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Ultimate

GitLab | GitLab Ultimate 15.2.2 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

609 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Review - Gitlab

  • May 30, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab is the tool we use in our team for continuous delivery. The gitlab also helps us to conduct code reviews for merge request and issues. It is also easy to track down the issues.
What do you dislike?
In gitlab the CI/CD pipelines can be improved for better comparison. Integration with other tools is a bit complex process. The documentation can be improved. The document repository would be helpful.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Gitlab has very good security. Couple of groups can work collectively and construct study software. The code development by our team member can be pulled in our system in a few seconds.


    Mohammad Rashid R.

Best Git software to manage the code

  • May 26, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The most I like the about GitLab is the option to cherry-pick commits which is not in other tools. Also, the UI is very clean and easy with Kanban board option.
What do you dislike?
The interface may be little slower, other than that everything is well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
GitLab is a version control that is being used to manage the code. We as a developer commit and push our code changes in GitLab that way it becomes easy for us to manage our code repository for other teammates and future.


    Vaishali J.

Best Version control and Ticket Management Tool

  • May 26, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. GitLab is the best tool to manage the whole project because we can commit the code and create tickets as well.

2. It provides the best features which are very easy to use like Version Control, and Bug Creation.
What do you dislike?
There are only a few things that I dislike about GitLab is that it is a little expensive and a bit difficult to understand by new users.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. GitLab resolved so many problems including ticket creation, managing the whole sprint board, and code committing.

2. It provides some very useful features like we can create the tags for a ticket and ticket assigning is also very easy.

3. Bug tracking is also very easy.


    Siddhant J.

Good open source code repository solution

  • May 25, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface that can be easily adopted by every team member.
Plus it's free and open source.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes workspaces and projects tend to confuse maybe because of the design.

It's paid if we go for enterprice solutions
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Helping our team in git management. Multiple team members can work on the code in parallel, also help in tracking previous commit.


    Information Services

GitLab Review

  • May 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Recently our project got migrated to GitLab due to its open source availability and new enhanced features that developers to easily maintain and review the code PR and MR.
What do you dislike?
This needs unnecessary special access token which doesn't seem to be user friendly sometimes. Also requires personal token that unnecessarily causes developers extra task.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use gitlab for maintaining our code repository and for tracking pull request and merge requests.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good to be considered for version control system.


    Shriya N.

Gitlab : An application for developers

  • May 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am using Gitlab and the feature that I liked the most is that we can review the code of our peers and we can also trace the bug within a particular merge request and we can also assign a person to review the merge request
What do you dislike?
While using the Gitlab, I found that it shows us if there are any merge conflicts but it does not provide us any solution to resolve merge conflicts through Gitlab
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With the help of Gitlab, we can easily trace the bugs in our software and manage the flow of our application.


    Banking

Excellent For Source code management

  • May 22, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The good part is we can edit the files directly through gitlab we dont need a CLI to get code on local we can make changes directyon remote repo

Apart from that it provides CI/CD plugin for release management
What do you dislike?
The pull request merging process it bit clumsy it can be more straightforward
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are able to manage our source code and we use CI/CD part from this tool


    Priyanshu K.

Gitlab - The best version control tool

  • May 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part about GitLab is its User Experience (UX). GitLab assists in version controlling of the software and helps a great deal in code reviews. With Gitlab one can automate the security and have clear visibility of all the changes and the developer who has triggered those changes. The standout part about GitLab is that it is open-source software and it is constantly improving.
What do you dislike?
The thing that I dislike about GitLab is its User Interface, which can be improved a lot. Also for a new user, it becomes really difficult to get started with Gitlab because of the lack of documentation available about its features. Visualisation of merge conflicts and branching can also be worked upon to have a better experience.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The problems that we are solving with Gitlab are code reviews, maintaining the code version of the software, providing security to the code, generating builds for our software and basically tracking the complete life cycle of the software from the development phase to the deployment phase. I have realised that it has significantly helped in development cost-cutting and decreasing the time for software development while improving productivity.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
My recommendation to anyone will be if you are going to start into the coding domain and want to have a tool for all the complete tracking of developers' work and software development life cycle, then should surely get started with Gitlab as a tool for your needs. Also being an open-source software gives a guarantee of continuous support and the addition of new features into the software which makes it the best option as compared to other players.


    Neeraj J.

Decent repository for beginners

  • May 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Most I liked about GitLab is how easy to use it is and how smooth its UI is. it is perfect for beginners and it is also great that they have CI/CD feature which works very well.
What do you dislike?
less connectivity with other development products like Jira and AWS pipeline etc, is what is disliked about GitLab.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was using GitLab as my codebase repository and for CI/CD


    Ariel C.

Great tool for developers

  • May 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It was great for tracking the developments and branches and understanding all the complete release processes in a visual way, without having to go to different places to get the proper info.
What do you dislike?
The way how handled the items like stories and epics on the backlog for later development was a great experience from a user standpoint. Not easy to connect those with development tasks.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Specially all the side to handle the branches and merges of code, and the release process to automatize the full process to different environments including production.