Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Ultimate

GitLab | GitLab Ultimate 15.2.2 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

612 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Priyanshu K.

Gitlab - The best version control tool

  • May 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part about GitLab is its User Experience (UX). GitLab assists in version controlling of the software and helps a great deal in code reviews. With Gitlab one can automate the security and have clear visibility of all the changes and the developer who has triggered those changes. The standout part about GitLab is that it is open-source software and it is constantly improving.
What do you dislike?
The thing that I dislike about GitLab is its User Interface, which can be improved a lot. Also for a new user, it becomes really difficult to get started with Gitlab because of the lack of documentation available about its features. Visualisation of merge conflicts and branching can also be worked upon to have a better experience.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The problems that we are solving with Gitlab are code reviews, maintaining the code version of the software, providing security to the code, generating builds for our software and basically tracking the complete life cycle of the software from the development phase to the deployment phase. I have realised that it has significantly helped in development cost-cutting and decreasing the time for software development while improving productivity.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
My recommendation to anyone will be if you are going to start into the coding domain and want to have a tool for all the complete tracking of developers' work and software development life cycle, then should surely get started with Gitlab as a tool for your needs. Also being an open-source software gives a guarantee of continuous support and the addition of new features into the software which makes it the best option as compared to other players.


    Neeraj J.

Decent repository for beginners

  • May 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Most I liked about GitLab is how easy to use it is and how smooth its UI is. it is perfect for beginners and it is also great that they have CI/CD feature which works very well.
What do you dislike?
less connectivity with other development products like Jira and AWS pipeline etc, is what is disliked about GitLab.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was using GitLab as my codebase repository and for CI/CD


    Ariel C.

Great tool for developers

  • May 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It was great for tracking the developments and branches and understanding all the complete release processes in a visual way, without having to go to different places to get the proper info.
What do you dislike?
The way how handled the items like stories and epics on the backlog for later development was a great experience from a user standpoint. Not easy to connect those with development tasks.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Specially all the side to handle the branches and merges of code, and the release process to automatize the full process to different environments including production.


    Sahib T.

GItLab for developers

  • May 16, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The thing which I liked the most about GitLab is we can review the code of peers, and find out the source of the errors and it also gives a better user interface compared to others.
What do you dislike?
The thing which I disliked the most about GitLab is we cannot resolve the merge conflicts in Gitlab and also we cannot resolve pipeline conflicts.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With the help of GitLab, we can track the flow of the code and we can also track the errors and learn about the merge conflicts in the code.


    sanghpriya( संघप्रिय) g.

Code base management

  • May 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a synchronised code sharing, it helps to manges the code shared by different team mates.
What do you dislike?
It's Authorization process required for all time and all activities.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is helping to manage the code for different repositories and different end


    Nayab F.

Gitlab - A great platform for concurrent Devops

  • May 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab is a brilliant platform that helps team members to collaborate, build and deploy software using Continous Integration and Continuous Delivery pipeline of Devops. It has many features like one can create Wiki pages for documentation purpose, snippets can be created for storing and sharing bits of code for users, Gitlab Web IDE for editing the files and commiting it to the repository.
What do you dislike?
Gitlab being a useful product, it does not have any disadvantages. It provides a great distributed Version Control System through Git. Adding code to repository is very easy and branches can be made easily. It also provides options for merging branches with main. For command line instructions one can use Git bash or Powershell on windows. One more feature of Gitlab is forking which creates a copy of the complete project.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Gitlab is a great platform that supports concurrent Devops. It can be said as a single application for the entire Devops Lifecycle. One can manage source code, track progress of project/issues and build CI/CD pipeline easily using Gitlab. It has built in security and compliance. Gitlab organization mainly consist of Groups, sub groups, Projects, Issues and Epics.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes would surely recommend.


    Computer Software

Using Gitlab for my daily Android Development Projects

  • May 10, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The pipelines which is automatically created for the GitLab CI/CD, also adding merge request and reviewing is very easy.
What do you dislike?
Some documents related to CI/CD are not updated they are quiet old. Must be updated.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Since it is a git tool I use it to save my daily Android development projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would like to use Gitlab CI/CD in the future and I think the rates which GitLab gives are better than other competitors. So I would recommend other to use GitLab in that case


    Zeeshan V.

Review As User

  • May 10, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very userfull app to manage your project based on software development it is version Control tool based on Git. Main advantage is we can review PR generated by developer
What do you dislike?
One more feature needs to be implemented in this that is when someone generates Pr in particular project it will redirect admin On that project
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am working on a project with a team of 7 members,i use this for version Control which is very helpful and also reliable to develop project in specific manner


    Computer Software

A good software for projects management and deployment

  • May 09, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab is providing a platform that integrated version control platform plus project management software and a strategic solution for all problems related to deployment.
What do you dislike?
A quite good solution to deal with few user flow and user experience issues there but not a big one to look at. They just need to be updated with market trends.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Me as a developer solving the project management issue with gitlab trying to integrate with other systems and make use of it and increasing productivity and efficiency.


    Yash C.

Gitlab for software developers

  • May 09, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The user interface is good and easy to use for the new software developers. Also we can see the records of the requests which were merged and what were the changes made in them, and we can also add the team members, provide members with different roles.
What do you dislike?
The thing which I dislike the most was it does not have an option to view the To-Do tasks for the team working under the same project.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have solved problems such as tracing the flow of development, solving bugs, detecting the codes that have error, to look at who had made the changes in a software
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a nice software if you want to use the functionalities of github with ease