Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Ultimate

GitLab | GitLab Ultimate 15.4.2 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

626 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

GitLab Review

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Seems like a fully featured, self-hosted option that can be an alternative to GitHub and other similar product. I like the overall styling of the user interface.
What do you dislike?
I think the user interface is a little bit confusing at first, but that may be because I'm used to GitHub. I'm specifically concerned with navigation within the app.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have used it working as a teaching assistant at a bootcamp and we use it as a repository for students to be able to pull down the latest source code activities and lessons.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Some of the coolest features aren't readily apparent (integration with slack), but setting them up once located is pretty easy.


    Nikolay K.

Rich of features, enterprise first

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- webhooks, integration with Jira, Slack, ets.
- commenting feature - it's great, no doubtes.
- trello-like board for task. It's useful for small projects then you don't want to use external task management tool such as Jira.
- activity feed
What do you dislike?
the thing that bother me most is a speed. It's so slow! To load a diff for code and comments takes for ages.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using it as a GIT client for developing projects in different temas
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Note that the UX isn't perfect at all.


    Computer Software

Even better than GitHub

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's open source. It works, and it has every feature you might want.
What do you dislike?
It's a bit memory-heavy but all related software is, so no biggie.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Manage source code and builds for several projects, mostly web related. It's
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's definitely worth it, like GitHub but open source. If you are a big open source guy/girl you should definitely give this a try


    Radomir S.

Gitlab - free and premium

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab is really easy to use and have quite nice UI/UX. Today they change design a bit and now it looks even better.
I need to say, I love Code Review system implemented in this tool.
Other thing I really like in this app is big database of integration tools. We connect our self-hosted gitlab with Jira and Confluence and now job goes way better!
I thing GitLab is best service for self-hosed solutions.
What do you dislike?
Speed while using free version. I've tested couple of most popular free git services like github and bitbucket. Biggest different I felt while using GitLab was speed of push and pull requests. GitLab was the slowest one.. Sometimes I had to wait about 15s before info in the console shows up, to write my ssh key. But that was about 1 year ago. Maybe now things change.
And I have to write this again - speed issue occurs only in the free version, hosted by GitLab.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's helping while using Git Flow methodology in my team.
Good integration tools with Slack, Jira and Confluence help to work on project not only for developers but also for the clients.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to use git and host your versioning system somewhere in the internet for free I think GitLab isn't the best solution for you. I will recommend to check BitBucket instead (or GitHub if you prefer to share your open source project). Main issue of this version was speed.. About one year ago repos hosted by me on github was quite laggy.
But if you'd like to host you versioning system by your own, and create something bigger.. And if you have some money to spend for this, I think GitLab can be suitable for your needs.
Code Review and Merging branches works like a charm, I think those are one of the best functionalities.
You will also get abilities to install plenty of integration tools.


    Damien D.

One of a kind solution for a project life cycle

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that you can have the whole project development lifecycle in one place. Also being able to track issues and check stats is a huge plus. Also can't forget the mention the site is incredibly easy to use
What do you dislike?
The only real gripe I have is it's lack of user base. Everyone uses Git, I like this better, I want it to be the be the go-to.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The biggest problem we solved was having a one stop shop. before we were spread across different platforms and solutions. Now we are all just in this one space. And in turn the major benefit was being organized and efficient.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would try it. I feel you are not doing yourself any favors by ignoring this website/platform


    Higher Education

Great self-hosted open-source source control system

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I liked the control over the software that comes with self-hosting, as opposed to cloud services where a company can just update the versions without warning, potentially breaking useful features. The ability to know where my code was always physically located was nice as well
What do you dislike?
The deployment procedure could be more streamlined, from what I recall- it was a difficult process which involved a lot of convoluted work in the Ruby interpreter. However, this was some time ago- it may be more streamlined now.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It allows me a useful place to store my code which remains within my control. I was able to trivially have a place to go for all of my code version control and know that I was backing up my own work in more than one place. I didn't need to actually use the cloud service, a self-hosted solution was sufficient.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This was not used by the company itself- it was a personal solution I deployed for my own use. As a personal code repository I was very pleased and would use the same product again in the future


    Nixon M.

its best than github, more intuitive and nicer

  • October 19, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The hability to make private projects, the UX, and the integration with CI/CD tools are great!!! the next year i will use the pais version!!
What do you dislike?
to be honest anything, maybe the lang its no in spanish, but its a CVS, its not necesary, i would change anything...
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
its my private portfolio, its very ice because you can use the CI tools with private projects
Recommendations to others considering the product:
i like most tha github,, its perfect to enterprices, i dont know why github its most famous


    Internet

Pretty great, overall inexpensive and powerful

  • October 05, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Love that it's a free tool at the start for startups to try.
What do you dislike?
The design is a bit clunky and could use some more hierarchy
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use it as a git repository, version history and task manager. Great to keep teams organized.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
YES! Great for just getting started and inexpensive.


    Arpit C.

A feature-rich git hosting solution

  • October 04, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Not only does Gitlab provide all the basic features that you've come to expect from a git hosting solution with an easy-to-use and pleasing-to-eyes UI, it goes much farther than that. It provides a product that you can rely for the entire SDL (software development lifecycle). For example, it provides a capable issue tracker, issue boards, code quality reports for "merge requests" ("pull requests" in Github lingo), built-in continuous integration and continuous deployment and so on! Having this all in one place instead of having to manage a myriad of products is highly convenient.
What do you dislike?
While the UI in Gitlab is good enough, it still isn't as good as Github (a leading rival). It isn't as snappy either.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
At work, we want a nice self-hosted git hosting solution that costs little and still meets all our needs. Thus, Gitlab community edition is a natural solution (costs nothing, has all the features we need).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Browse the differences between Gitlab community edition and enterprise edition. If you need the enterprise edition, you should compare the current prices with Github, which is a good solution too.


    Internet

Great user experience despite occasional unavailability

  • October 03, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Issue/milestone system. Continuous integration. Slack notifications. Quick merge requests and code reviews.
What do you dislike?
The occasional 500 errors and failed pushes/pulls.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Gitlab to set milestones, outline tasks, track progress, and complete code reviews.