Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Ultimate

GitLab | GitLab Ultimate 15.4.0 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

624 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Paul O.

Gitlab is a solid git repository

  • August 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Supports multiple repositories, granular security, and low cost or free access for individuals.
What do you dislike?
I have not found anything I do not like about GitlLab to date.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A low cost, high performance git repository to store personal work. New to Git in general. I use GitLab for private repositories and GitHub for public.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try several out to find what suites your needs.


    Human Resources

Very reasonable alternative to Github

  • August 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Unlimited free repo for individuals
More reasonably priced compared to Github
User interface is very easy to understand, similar to Github
What do you dislike?
Code review functionality isn't as robust
Platform integration isn't as wide as what's available on Github
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Code repository for the team.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are comfortable with Github, then you'll feel right at home on Gitlab.


    Retail

Baller's Choice Award: Gitlab

  • August 07, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab is the best on-premise solution for managing a codebase with the added bonus of being able to have a full CI pipeline living with the code.
What do you dislike?
The SPA nature of Gitlab is not the most responsive sometimes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Gitlab provides us with a standard way of interacting with our code that allows for the support of a full CI pipeline


    Hercules L.

Gitlab is very very good

  • July 18, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to manage your projects and permissions to the team.
What do you dislike?
I have nothing to complain until now. Everything I need worked great.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Hosting my personal and open source projects.


    Computer Software

Good product and nice to use

  • July 14, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really enjoy the continuous integration suite.
What do you dislike?
I don't like the top navigation bar for issues/PRs etc.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were using a combination of CVS and SVN before I joined. After I joined I realized we needed to step up our game to Git. We also had a bad peer code review system (stand behind someone looking at their code) and needed to improve it. Another severely lacking system we didn't have in place was continuous integration. We didn't have a system to automatically run tests and deploy to our servers if tests passed. We also needed all of this to be hosted on our own hardware. I had used GitLab before on my own personal projects and thought it would be a great fit for our team since it would improve our speed on so many aspects.


    Diogo R.

Open Source Github

  • July 13, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab is an online or on-premisses github alternative with some unique features and a continuously evolving software. It has monthly release cycle, which means that every month you get new features. If you have the opportunity to use it locally, you're able to make it public or private (just for your collaborators). You can control individual, group and project permissions. You can also have public and private projects. Most of the features you might be used to on Github are available on Gitlab.

With the somewhat recent integration with Gitlab CI, you can automate tests and deployments to staging or production.
What do you dislike?
Gitlab has some unique features, but some are restricted to the Enterprise Edition, which can quickly get expensive for a small team of 3 or 4 developers.

Gitlab uses Ruby on Rails so it needs a comfortable amount of hardware resources or it will feel slow.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Managing software even on a small group of developers can get messy without a proper version control system. Gitlab allows you to create projects and groups of developers, assign permissions (even for external users like clients which could just look at the issue tracker), protect code branches, enforce peer review.

Also, with some effort you can enable a Continuous Deployment environment.


    Internet

Gitlab is great

  • July 06, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fine grained access control. Easy to use inferface.
What do you dislike?
Git implementation can be buggy with large repos
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Source control, code sharing.


    Loris T.

A good open source system, nice for open source projects

  • July 03, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's a good thing that the software itself is open source (with the Community Edition). This means that you can use GitLab on their servers or, if you prefer, have it installed on your premises. Of course, you can have both ;-)
What do you dislike?
The web interface is available in eight languages only. This prevents the use by people that are not fluent in one of those.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am involved in a couple of projects set up by the local Linux User Group. We are managing the projects with GitLab.


    Shahram J.

A nice online VCS

  • July 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You can host your private project there. Continuous integration (CI) is also available. It can send the build job on your local machine which was at that time great for me.
What do you dislike?
No sign-in with a linkedin account is possible.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I needed a central location to share the source code of a web service of mine with some business partners oversees. GitHub was no choice, as I would not publish the source code to the world, but only to targeted audience. The build system could


    Information Technology and Services

Best version control online service

  • July 01, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The continuous integration feature like pipeline and docker registry. High transparency on what's going on during service downtime. Many integration with other services are allowed so user could just pick whatever they needed.
What do you dislike?
The user interface could be improved. Sometimes it takes too many click in order to reach a specific page. The loading speed also has a room of improvement..
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
No related to business.