Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for Arm 15

Amazon Web Services | 20200904

Linux/Unix, SUSE 15 GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

42 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Matt W.

Suse in a DC Datacentre

  • April 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Formed from the roots of a community developed OS, the operating system is very resilient and fails hardly ever. Software is also very easy to install. Excellent control centre.
What do you dislike?
The only thing that i dislike is some software doesnt come packaged for SUSE
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using SUSE to run webservers. The low footprint and resource usage allow us to have many containers running SUSE


    Mitch S.

I have used SUSE on my servers for decades.

  • March 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Yast is a decent UI for server management. The SUSE and linux documentation is served pretty well. It is a very stable system. Not much down time. Installation and upgrades usually work pretty well with not too much for problems. Mostly, I am a great linux fan and SUSE is a decent distro.
What do you dislike?
Yast could manage a multitude of things that it does not. Some applications have obscure bugs that take a while to find and fix and/or work around. Most of the problems I've encountered are difficulties with linux not SUSE based.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The primary packages we use are survey tabulation, statistical analysis, and the LAMP stack. These allow us to conduct large market and employee research studies. SUSE helps me to keep this software and my servers running well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look around at the different distros and pick one to suit your needs. SUSE works well for me.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

SUSE linux for enterprise

  • March 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast os machines for heavy jobs using huge memory
What do you dislike?
networking issues sometimes with slowness
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Running big jobs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Fast os machines


    Higher Education

Mature and Solid Linux Distribution

  • February 05, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server is designed for enterprise servers, mainframes and workstations. But this can also be installed on desktops. I have a VM running SUSE Linux Enterprise Server that i use as sandbox machine. Installation is easy and can be made automated using Auto YaST package utility.
SUSE has grown over years and has made it's way battling big rivals like RHEL. I have been working with Linux distributions since a decade now. I was not a big fan of SUSE in initial years but now that i use it, i am satisfied that we are using SUSE in our project.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike about SUSE, But sometimes it's not straight forward to find exact solutions on online forums. Also, expect to face some difficulties if you want to use windows utilities on SUSE.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using SUSE Linux Enterprise Server as OS for our virtual infrastructure containing around 300 virtual machines and 12 physical servers. The installation using Auto YaST was amazing and patching process is quite straight forward.


    Edwin T.

Entreprise and escalable OS

  • November 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Suse server pa is an operating system very stable in their latest versiónes, the little change in bookstores makes it easy maintenance, the structure of the file system is very solid allows maintain data even after several reboots failures electric.
What do you dislike?
In the past editions the support for hardware was not very stable, sometimes it created system failures irq errors among others. Just as the different file systems do not have the maturity of the current versions. system libraries not had a stability as stable as now, the packaging system had some flaws for updates.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
in my previous work, SUSE was the only operating system that allowed me to integrate all features necessary to migration mail server, features as lists, anti-spam, antivirus, webmail by almost automatic. the system updates not affecting settings years later. the great support hardware allowed integration with storage unit. tools check are fast as compared to competitors for this type of implementations.


    Computer Software

fast and cost effective

  • July 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Reliable, Cost Effective, Fast
Easy installation, good graphic tool for administering the server
What do you dislike?
implementation standards should be prior to roll out
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Run mission-critical SAP applications
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recomend it as I did not face with problem in it.


    Information Technology and Services

Intuitive and powerful Linux

  • July 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Easy to use
- Powerful
- Many packages
What do you dislike?
- it is still a linuX so not many software can be installed on, more on windows env
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Installed Suse Linux as a secured file server
- Installed Suse Linux as a VPN
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You need to make sure the linuX server is made for you and can work with your existing network env


    Jose Leandro M.

Suse una de las mejores distribuciones de lunix

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Una de sus virtudes es su fácil instalación y configuración ya que cuenta con asistentes gráficos.
La descarga del iso es totalmente gratuito y la instalción tiene entre 30 o 60 días dependiendo de la distribución instalada.
Es un sistema tan estable que es el preferido por muchos usuarios.
Tiene sus propio sistema de firewall.
Permite realizar actualizaciones de sistema operativo sin necesidad de reiniciar su equipo.
Puede gestionar redes en ipv4 o ipv6.
Puedes trabajarlo de forma grafica o por comandos.
What do you dislike?
Aunque es software abierto no es 100% gratuito.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Se ha implementado servicios varios para lograr mayor estabilidad en la red, como lo son impresion y firewall.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Es recomendable hacer cursos de este sistema operativo para poder operarlo con mayor facilidad.


    Information Technology and Services

SUSE solid performer

  • June 19, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A solid performer. I had no trouble installing it on MBR and EFI systems. Secure Boot tends to be buggy with some configurations, but it was incident-free with this installation.
What do you dislike?
Lack of enterprise level support; they need to add more enterprise level support
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
enterprise linux OS, moving away from commercial linux OS like Red Hat


    Justin H.

Competent and reliable platform

  • May 04, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to scale and develop in real time. Highly supportive vendor assistance.
What do you dislike?
Not a lot to dislike here. Some issues dealing with non x86 components but who doesn't have that these days?
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Virtualization, storage efficiency. The biggest benefit is adding containerization to our IT strategy