Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8

Amazon Web Services | 8.9 v20240327

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.0_HVM_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

709 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Red Hat is Solid!

  • May 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is a solid and reliable Operating System you can count on to keep your computing environment up and running.
What do you dislike about the product?
If you are anti-social and don't enjoy a great community of knowledgeable users, than you might not like RedHat Enterprise Linux.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Incorporating a sturdy and trustworthy computing environment is key to being able to execute primary business needs. RedHat provides a solution the gives users and companies an exceptional experience without the fear of downtime from crashed systems when implemented and maintained properly.


    Higher Education

Red Hat is reliable with good support

  • May 05, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the support we have. Their web site is great for finding solutions to problems.
What do you dislike about the product?
I wish the support didn’t cost so much.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have Red Hat running on our main multi-user system. We are using it for FEA, CFD, circuit analysis, typesetting, programming, and pretty much everything else.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, it’s worth the support. Then use CentOS when you need more.


    Fernando V.

Hello Red Hat

  • April 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Red Hat is not complicated and you reap the benefits of the platform, Linux, while using a standard OS. You have the option of a gui, if command line is not your thing.
What do you dislike about the product?
The support of the product can be frustrating when contacting technical support. Red Hat expects you to know the system, meanwhile you are calling them for support. Tech support can sometimes lead you in the wrong direction, not sure if this is lack of training or bad techs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Lowering costs and standardizing on a well known platform. Integration with mainstream applications. Simple deployment and the tools to plan and secure the systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a look at another OS. Then compare it to Red Hat, you will be rewarded for your choice.


    Computer Software

Easy To Use

  • April 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I have used the Red Hat Enterprise Linux over the year as you go to Linux operating system. It provides the flexibility and stability required for the implementation of a company-wide application used in the processing of data retrieved from several databases hosted in oracle. It support for multiple shell environments. It also support most of the popular shell environments and lets you create shell scripts for your back end tasks.
What do you dislike about the product?
Some time severe issues with certain updates in the recent past and the upgrade policies between the major versions, like from RHEL 5 TO RHEL 6, should be much easier.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Red Hat Linux is best suited for companies that are using Linux on daily basis but also need support when issues come up. Benefits I have realized its Reliable product, Exceptional Support and Quick turn around time on security releases.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good for Oracle and SAP Environments and also customer service is good and all problems were solved.


    Noman G.

Best Operating System , virus Free.. use and enjoy

  • April 19, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We have implement Linux more than 3 three years ago. Major reason to migrate with Operation System make more cost efficient as we are hurting a huge cost over the years. As we are a courier company , we have multiple solution for our internal customer with customize solution so we required a virus free and fast performing OS to operate. As we are largest courier company which i mentioned earlier , we have multiple server and we have to protect them b 24 /7. We have gone through different OS, but found this tool excellent.
What do you dislike about the product?
Configuration is too much, not much use friendly as compare with MS OS. As first time setup is little bit complex as compared to others . but after this , overall this is very good product
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Virus and the main issue of every organization, this need to address in quick manner. Linux is your Answer. As i have mentioned the we have multiple server and our business are executing by 24/ 7. We must require our system and applications running by 99%. So, it necessary that we have a solid foundation and solid virus free operating which help us to manage this expectation. So, we have implement this operating system and found happy that this is right decision.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Hire Expect or consult and expect before implementation as this is not easy to implement without training


    Jaspreet S.

Red Hat Linux is one of a highly efficient and secure operating system.

  • April 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Red Hat Linux is secure as all the process/ tasks run based on permissions. Hence there is no chance any virus/ worm can enter your system. On top of that, the software makes sure only active tasks are up and running. Rest of the tasks keep on sleeping until activated which increases CPU performance.
What do you dislike about the product?
This operating system does not lack any feature. You can use any software on this system with any sort of versions. It is highly flexible.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being a highly flexible Operating System, we can modify the base packages according to our need and configure the system accordingly. You can delete the unnecessary packages and keep only the important and useful applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You need to have basic knowledge of Linux for better administration on Red Hat Linux.


    stephen k.

Rock solid Linux distro for production environment

  • April 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Since using Redhat from 2004, it's always been incredibly stable. In comparision to latest and greatest glitzy distros like ubuntu or debian or mint. It doesnt have the latest windows manager but I've had the least amount of compatibility issues or kernel panics with different hardwares.
What do you dislike about the product?
Doesn't have the latest and the greatest kernels as Redhat takes long time to incorporate latest patches from upstream.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using it as main http, ssh, and named server for the company. It's been far more customizable than any of the solutions you find on the market. The uptime is over a year without a hiccup.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try Centos first as Redhat subscription isn't the most affordable especially if you are small business and IT budget is very limited. CenOs is exact replica of Redhat and security packages are also provided. All for free. There are so many choices for Linux distros. But if you are running a server and need extreme stability Redhat shouldn't bee overlooked.


    Retail

Best Linux flavour ever worked on

  • April 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Very user friendly and compatible with latest technologies. device management and package management is very easy.
What do you dislike about the product?
The operating system has not much to dislike about. However, /tmp should not be kept world writable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have most of our application servers hosted on RedHat Linux. RHEL is cheap and user friendly and easy to deploy.


    Education Management

Fast, Secure and a reliable customer support

  • March 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Red Hat Linux has a strong user community and an excellent customer support. Also, it receives periodic security updates to prevent against malicious attacks. These are the top reasons why we chose Red Hat Enterprise Linux.
It is available both in server and desktop editions and contains lots of free libraries that helps with software development/deployment.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's heavily text based. It is meant to be installed on remote servers be it physical or virtual and then to be accessed via shells. Not a bummer but it does requires technical skills.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using Red Hat Enterprise Linux as OS platform for a large physical and virtual infrastructure that runs an ERP containing a set of Java based applications with high transaction volumes. RedHat also allows remote patching with tools like Katello, so the administration is quite easy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's fast, secure and has a very reliable customer support. Make sure to ask for discounts on the license.


    Telecommunications

RedHat Enterprise Linux Best OS

  • March 19, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease to available and frequent security updates
What do you dislike about the product?
Everything looks good till today no problems faced
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Testing of Linux Based apps is very easy. Specially when you have an easy available operating system
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best Operating System with security enhancements and frequent updates. All are available with GUI & CLI Interface