Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 LAMP Stack

Supported Images | 1.0.0-20201005

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

217 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Research

Open source version of RHEL

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS provides most if not all the features in RHEL and the kernel, packages and libraries are the same.
CentOS also has the same life cycle as RHEL including bug fixes, patches and security fixes
What do you dislike?
CentOS doesn't have the same level of support as RHEL does and if you are a commercial operation you will probably require official support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS on the high performance computing systems and clusters for modelling & simulation and scientific research. It is a very stable and reliable OS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is the most widely used operating system in the high performance computing field


    Mahesh K.

Must try and best linux OS to use

  • November 11, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS commands are very user friendly and we can remember them easily. Its similar to RHEL and the commands are almost same. Beginners can start learning with centos and get an experience with command line. Since it is open source anyone can download and use it for free. The centos community is very much helpful and knowledgeable.
What do you dislike?
The image is not light weight due to so many tools and packages. The GUI part is not user friendly. Apart from these there are no major drawbacks of centos.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work regularly with centos, i used to face network issues and application related issues. sometimes we also solve issues related to storage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would strongly recommend to use centos as its similar to rhel and open source. You get all the features of rhel and the support you required from centos community.


    Tim B.

Free stable and configurable Linux operating system with paid support options available

  • November 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is Linux/Unix, so with regards to configuration, if you can imagine it and you are a creative and skilled administrator, you can probably make it happen. Plus it is rock solid stable -- you get pretty much the same software packages as Red Hat Enterprise Linux, just a little behind on the timeliness of releases.

I use it at home and at work. I use it at home because I have five kids who click on anything and everything on the internet, and there's just not as much malware out there to affect a Linux operating system. Plus, it's just not as bloated as Windows, so performance is more efficient with the limited computing resources on my home computers.

Although I wouldn't run my mission-critical applications on it (since it is free), I feel safe running it in an enterprise environment for solutions such as firewalls, DNS, application front-end, etc. And you can purchase third-party support for it. It also has a great community of support on the internet, and software repositories are updated frequently and are reliable.

Finally, it runs on x86, so it works great in a virtualized environment (VMWare in our case) and can easily be deployed from a golden image over and over.
What do you dislike?
Again, it is free and not "officially supported", so I wouldn't run my mission-critical databases and applications on it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS for enterprise-level needs, but not for mission-critical applications or databases (again, because it's not officially supported). We use it for firewalls, DNS, time servers, mail relays, reporting/monitoring, etc. Basically, things we need to be stable but not huge, dynamic workloads. Also, we have commercially-bought turnkey applications where the vendor requires and installs on CentOS.


    Computer Software

Completeness in use and speed

  • November 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Speed is a kind of major factor as well security.
What do you dislike?
Not many features as likely should be present as compared to time and users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly tk run saveral application for organization support.


    Vikas S.

CentOS User Review

  • November 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is base image for servers. It is very fast to use compare to other OS, easy to find solution for the problems as it is open source. It is reliable and secure too . Top of that it is free as it is an open source.
What do you dislike?
Major drawback is its updates, you wont find the periodic system update for CentOS.As it is useful for server so in personal computer and desktop we may not get the support and even after installation we wont have proper software support if any one want to install on CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is open source OS, fast, secure. It is very useful if you want to use for docker or container environment.


    Dan O.

The Gold Standard in Red Hat compatible Linux distributions

  • October 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's basically Red Hat Enterprise Edition, but without the support contract or the big license fee.
What do you dislike?
The lack of official help desk support from Red Hat. But when it comes to CentOS troubleshooting, Google is your friend.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This product allows me to deploy a large number of Linux systems globally without incurring a huge license fees. Unlike some Linux distributions, CentOS has a long support lifecycle. If you need security patches or new functionality in the future, you'll be able to easily install them.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a look at the LTS versions of Ubuntu as well.


    Eusuf K.

A great OS for all your needs!

  • October 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a lifesaver! You can do almost anything in it from using it as a daily driver to creating production grade servers using it.
What do you dislike?
The learning curve is high for beginners
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use CentOS for my production servers as well as a workstation machine OS. The main benefit of this is a similar lever of granular control in both of my testing and production environments as well as ease of access in services.


    Vivek K.

The use of centos for your Development Setup

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's clean , bug free and fast. It's easy to do your software development in this platform
What do you dislike?
The GUI is not that great. Can be made better for visual effects
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I develop software applications for our end customers. It's easy to deploy and maintain applications in centos
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do use centos for your Development purpose.


    Suvankar S.

Reviewing Centos

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Centos is one of the most useful operating system in the Linux family, it requires very fewer resources to run and offers the best redundancy and security of all.
What do you dislike?
as of now, there is nothing to dislike about centos.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a Devops engineer in my current organization, we use to deploy multiple applications using centos.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
People who are in IT/Software must use centos, because of security as it has very less vulnerability issues and runs smoothly on any type of instance.


    Information Technology and Services

OS for server

  • October 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Contains required packages. just need to setup yum repo and install the updates
What do you dislike?
troubleshooting is bit difficult, as the logs are not consolidated
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is open source and hardening of system can be done with CIS