Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

LAMP Stack CentOS 7

Supported Images | 20210403

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

263 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    wendy H.

A Linux OS with almost everything you want.

  • March 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS has everything I wanted in a Linux operation system. It is easy to install and solid.
It has a large community, and you can find many helps.
What do you dislike?
Some new softwares landed on Ubuntu before CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use centOS on servers which hold programming competitions in my school. We use it to host PC^2 server and host python applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is a good choice for server. It has many great softwares. You can find many help about OS and problems on the Internet.


    Hospital & Health Care

As Good As Redhat and Free. Fit for our small team in a nonprofit organization.

  • February 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Our small team selects CentOS simply because that it is very similar to Redhat and it's free. We are in a nonprofit organization, so it's very important for us to reduce the cost while providing with almost same service. CentOS is a perfect option.
At the same time, all the team members are happy to invest time on the most popular platform(such as CentOS) instead of other Linux distribution(such as openSUSE), since we don't want to waste any minute on the less-famous platform and their tools.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally, we will find some open source projects which supports Ubuntu primarily and leaves CentOS in the non-fully-supported list. For example, Wine project(www.winehq.org) supports Ubuntu best. In this case, it will be a little bit inconvenient. It needs your a little bit more time to fix the problems. So, usually, as a backup of CentOS, we also invest time on Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our small team uses VirtualBox+CentOS+Our homemade software tools to provide service with the users.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very fit for nonprofit organization and the team taking full responsibility of it instead of needing Redhat being responsible for problems.


    Antonino Francesco M.

A solid choice for every server

  • January 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is one of the top server enterprise Linux distributions. It has an amazing long and support lifespan, and great compatibility and support.
CentOS has a very long development cycle, witch means that it has a very well-tested and proven code.
Community is very large too, making the search for a solution very quick and easy.
What do you dislike?
The worst thing in CentOS is the need to add EPEL package repository to install some useful software that's not part of the CentOS universe.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our team uses CentOS+Jira+Bitbucket+Jenkins in order to organize our repository and to continuous delivery our web sites in production server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a server, the choice is CentOS.


    Accounting

Effective product

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to use yet highly affective Linux based program
What do you dislike?
Unless you know Linux it is hard to use, has custom queries for CentOS only
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS runs on a few of my servers to host applications. It is highly stable and very rarely requires updatea
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly stable product, front runner for Linux based systems


    Timothy S.

Centos for servers

  • January 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Centos has all the Linux features I need and all the enterprise features I needed from RHEL without the price. it runs Java, cloudfoundry, gemfire, spring, spring xd, open stack and all the tools and development tools as well as servers you need. Centos is fast, lean and a great general OS.
What do you dislike?
You either like RPMS and yum. It works if there's an RPM or it's in a YUM repo. If it isn't compiling stuff from scratch is often a pain and getting all the correct versions of build tools and libraries can be difficult. Sometimes I think Ubuntu is a little easier to work with and has some upgrades for containers not yet in centos.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running virtual machines at a cheaper way. This worked and worked well. It's not the newest version of linux, but it is really solid and you'll never see it crash.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Download it and try it.


    Andrew P.

Great FREE enterprise Linux distribution for long term stability

  • January 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is one of the top enterprise Linux distributions for good reason. It's derived from RHEL, has an amazing long and support lifespan, and great compatibility and support from both hardware and software providers, but also an amazing user community.
What do you dislike?
The development tool chain often lags behind, although this has been better in the most recent releases. The Kernel version is also not cutting edge, but this is a distro which favors stability above all. Finally many packages will needed to be sourced from third party repositories, but the good news is these are plentiful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS is a great option for almost all Linux based projects. In particular it is an ideal base for anything system with an expected deployment time of more than a few months given it's extremely long maintenance and support time frames. This makes it particularly ideal for bare metal installations where OS upgrades are undesirable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
With CentOS's new integration/partnership with RedHat, it would appear that's it's long term viability is on a good foundation.


    Juan Fernando V.

A solid Linux

  • December 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is like that girl at school who was not pretty, it was quiet but did well academically without being a nerd. In the niche of those installer YUM as we have: Fedora, Oracle Linux and clear to Red Hat Enterprise Linux or RHEL. All are good choices but Centos is characterized by being used for turnkey solutions, have a good control on the packets, Use stable versions and have a huge community with forums full of solutions. Sometimes we doubt and fear we use RHEL spending a lot of money in our projects. I assure you that you can start with CentOS complete the learning curve and only if necessary delegate responsibility for your applications to a third party or finally look to Linux Support. Remember that while these on your own can find libraries, tools, repositories and good tutorials to complete your projects and get away with it. Of course you will need to have solid knowledge of linux and yum package manager for your CentOS run smoothly.
What do you dislike?
You may not know it, but if you can not handle your problems in CentOS you must be call to the dark side of RPM and request support (Not cheap by the way). Do not lie. You will need to know Linux. If you're just going to have to install a LAMP you will get the necessary. But if your project is aimed at installing and configuring a cloud, or virtualize, or put it as server or storage server or VoIP As you will notice you will not find all the solutions on the net or tutorials or magical manuals there. Compatibility with other libraries is not what is expected and if you've installed something manually starts to pray ... avoid break packages or libraries and their dependencies or need to make sure satisfy as other applications related to this., otherwise you will have a real headache. we know we need OPEL for some things but it does not come as default .... we also know that we like stable but not old in the repos. And remember the most importantly ... you're on your own, so be recursive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS has a much longer support cycle than other distros
It's good to start projects
It's good to test and see if you need to make other arrangements or stay with the
It is good for as Hosting Solutions, Web services, VoIP, File Management and Data Networks
It is good and solid and fast for your web application projects
It is good for applications that require some extra tools in the field of network
It's good for Mail servers, DNS or even firewalls (Fail2ban we love you)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You want to Save? Geeks are some home? Well CentOS is for you! It is easy, stable and flexible. For those who use Red Hat Enterprise Linux, Fedora Linux or Oracle they will feel comfortable because they use the same package manager, the installer and others. However libraries CentOS change and this makes the difference is devoid of some interesting libraries. This can be fixed by installing the OPEL sources, but you must be careful when installing as some packages may cause conflicts even reach a point where trying to meet the libraries end up breaking the entire system. Before putting your application into production or service or software solution updates all packages and check that there are no conflicts. remember to put your patches and drivers before upgrading the system. Notes when you go to make a clone of a virtual machine on vSphere and Hyper-V hardware changes and reconfigure especially network cards sometimes it gets annoying.
If you think you need some support can avail yourself of Fedora packages or Oracle Linux (RHEL Total Clone) if you need support touch you pargar in Red Hat or search Countless Internet forums where usually the answer or solution is already (almost) ready .


    D. Marshall L.

CentOS: The Rock-Solid Choice For Any Server Role In Any Enviornment

  • December 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is incredibly mature, thanks to its affiliation with Red Hat, and as such, I believe it is the most stable operating system for workloads that do not require "bleeding edge" software and packages. CentOS has a very long development cycle with new major versions coming less than twice a decade, and this leads to very well-tested and proven code that ensures your workload will have minimal downtime and maximum compatibility.
What do you dislike?
As mentioned above, slow development cycles can sometimes mean missing out on brand-new features in the Linux kernel or in new releases of new software, but this is both a benefit as it is a determinant.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS (and indirectly through the Amazon Web Services Linux AMI, which is based on RHEL, which is based on CentOS) is the only operating system my company employs for both internal and customer projects. The level of maturity and the stability of CentOS are primary reasons we use this operating system over the other major players (Ubuntu and Debian).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are considering CentOS, you are probably also considering Ubuntu, Debian, Fedora, etc. CentOS is the open source version of Red Hat Enterprise Linux, and this corporate presence in the development cycles should show you the level of security and stability that CentOS brings to the table. It's a Linux distribution that can handle any workload in any environment with maximum uptime and minimum surprises down the road.


    Media Production

OS with great stability and security, an enterprise level linux distro

  • December 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What really makes difference about this distro is the packages support. You don't need to search another source for the basics that your business need. It's very up to date, secure and stable. Community is very large too, with a lot of resource available on the internet. It's compatible with RedHat, wich makes a big difference when compared to others linux distros.
What do you dislike?
For real, it's extreme hard to tell what I dislike in this distro. But, the "painful" point is to have to add EPEL package repository to install some great packages, that's not part of the CentOS core.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is the main linux server that I use, hosting web application in JAVA, Ruby on Rails and static websites. I use it too for databases installations. For development and containers, this is the default choice.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a server, the best choice is CentOS. Does not make difference the purpose, because it has been pretty valuable for many situations. This is the prove that great softwares can be done with Open Source world. You always find good documentation about the OS and real cases.


    Computer Networking

CentOS - Open Source Enterprise Operating System

  • December 07, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Following are which I like the best:
1) Enterprise level
2) Open Source
3) Greater package management system
4) Latest Security patches
What do you dislike?
Not that I have seen anything much severe, but if there could be any server management standalone utilities proprietary to CentOS to manage the system would be better. Without custom management scripts, it will be very difficult to manage individual or group of hosts.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For any type of usage like web/enterprise/cloud/hosting etc., CentOS delivers perfectly. Personally used it to host my website for Oracle Apps knowledge training and maintaining customer Oracle EBS instances. Even a desktop version have greater benefits in comparison to any other secured operating system providing performance benefits of enterprise level.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If a small or medium scale business who wouldn't like to invest much on hosting the solution, then CentOS meets all the needs. Even for an enterprise level, will choose support to be on a safe side. For the most security patches are up to date.