Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18 (Ubuntu 18.04 LTS) with Support by Supported Images

Supported Images | 20240219

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

25 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Joshua M.

The best in class Operating system

  • January 27, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The interface is very simple. The overall system is ultra smooth. All the peripherals are supported out of box as well as the drivers are in working condition. It is easy to integrate with server side applications such as nodeJS and Docker. The customer support is awesome as there is very large community for this operating system.
What do you dislike about the product?
Few packges were outdated but they can easily be updated using snap and apt.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using ubuntu 18 in our server side computers. It is very robust and easy to maintain. Troubleshooting is very easy using SSH. Overall our response times are reduced heavely after deploying it as server side OS.


    David L.

versión lts de ubuntu

  • July 13, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
que es una version lts por lo cual tiene una soporte para actualizaciones mucho mayoyor que las versiones no lts y una buena estabilidad para produccion
What do you dislike about the product?
que ya tiene varios años y aunque es lts algunos softwares no testeados corectamente pueden no estar en los repositorios oficiales
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
resuelve la estabilidad que para produccion es muy importante


    Shivam C.

Ubuntu is the only best in the Market

  • March 23, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu is secured and it provides good command over the tool. Smooth ux and easy to use.
What do you dislike about the product?
Cant play too much games. Unable to install multiple softwares.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I can easily get connected to AWS instance and can handle instance's. Easily deploy the app.


    Matthew N.

Not legacy, yet

  • March 22, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu 18 is the defacto distro for 32bit support as an LTS release is the primary reason to continue using Ubuntu 18.04
What do you dislike about the product?
Out of box feature parity compared to current Ubuntu LTS releases is severely lacking
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Deploying image in the cloud in a speedy manner allows us to deploy proof of concepts quickly


    Klodian H.

Free OS

  • March 20, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu has always fascinated me. Among Linux operating systems is the best one.
What do you dislike about the product?
Back then I had a very nice experience using it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
First, it is free.
Second, there are lots of softwares available for Ubuntu.


    Lewis M.

Compact OS for personal use

  • March 14, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I liked the clean and compact use case for the OS and how it has improved the search tray
What do you dislike about the product?
There are a couple of bugs that I personally faced when a lot of programs were open, it got frozen and I had to restart my PC
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps provide a clean and compact OS experience for the user and is a great Linux based option


    Rehan A.

Ubuntu is good for Learning

  • March 14, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu is reliable for long-term use and very good for research and development. They provide long-term support as well as release updates on time. That's why it is lovable.
What do you dislike about the product?
Many ways to install ubuntu in pc. So it dose not make an impact as other operating systems.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu helps me to develop an open-source program for research and development. It does not take much time compared to others, i.e., Matlab.


    Steven B.

Ubuntu 18.04 LTS

  • March 10, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Security is rock solid. Stability is excellent, and so is user acceptance.
What do you dislike about the product?
I seriously cannot think of any issues so far...
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The OS gives us the security we need in a world of mal-heads.


    Rajan G.

User experience of Ubuntu for a software engineer

  • March 09, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It gives more control to user, then it's competitor like windows or Mac OS, with well exposed kernal, command line, and the best part is security, it is safe from Trojans and viruses.
What do you dislike about the product?
Some times there are issues with the drivers like for audio, or if you want to connect a printer, windows and mac handle those well, also it has very less games support as compared to others.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
When developing software we need a faster system that uses less resource and handle the software well, even the servers are hosted on Linux, Ubuntu, which uses very light resource.


    Syed Fidyan H.

Top operating system for techies or programmers"

  • March 09, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like Ubuntu for the reasons listed below.

1. Port use for the Linux kernel.

2. Cron jobs simplify tasks.

3. The SNAP and APT managers are quite helpful,

4. Real-time patch updates offer a bug-free user experience.

5. Because Linux is a kernel, making little adjustments can be useful.

6. A tidy and orderly interface.

7. Flexible command-line software.

8. The sudo command, which demands administrative rights.

9. The use of processing power.

10. Port use for the Linux kernel.
What do you dislike about the product?
I don't like the bullet points below while running Ubuntu.

1. No support for running directX files is available.

2. Support for Vulcan drivers is likewise limited by architecture.

3. It will be challenging to play Windows games.

4. A small community compared to its competitors.

5. A bit more flexibility in customization would have been nice.

6. There is no fingerprint driver for HP laptops.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In many situations, Ubuntu is beneficial.


1. Admin rights are simple to use.

2. A more rapid performance.

3. Powershell-based command line interface that is fluid.

4. The environment felt welcoming to newcomers because Python and G++ drivers were already installed.