Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 21.04 Desktop and Analytics Workbench

netCUBED | v1.5.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

66 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Rafik N.

The only option for developers on PC

  • October 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a developer you can install your IDE, languages or server platforms-containerized or not - with a finger snap. Evrything is an apt-get install away.
Then, it's not difficult to go to cloud or to work remotely- Ubuntu is literally powering the internetz. So this is basically why teams at Google use Ubuntu Desktop for their work!
What do you dislike?
The UI could use some modernization- icons being too big for my liking - plus shipping more terminal alternatives, etc...
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Well for me it's the fastest way to get developers start woeking without caring about installing tools and dependencies- this solves productivity AND quality problems for us - all while being free,!


    Sanjit P.

Best linux operating system

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using the Ubuntu operating system for a long time for doing all my development projects. The main reason is that it is free to download, and also lots of free apps are available. It's incredibly stable, suffers from no annoying pauses or unexpected crashes, and has a clean, attractive interface. It never strains or never more annoys. If your machine has even fewer resources, then lightweight versions of Ubuntu Linux distributions are available for you.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu has not got a user-friendly interface. The LibreOffice in-built software is not as good as Ms office. This lacks in solving or debugging minor problems as one needs to install a few extra packages, and it requires some effort.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use the try ubuntu feature, as it can run without installing i:e for testing. We can run it from a DVD or a Pen Drive, and hence it acts as a portable OS to be used on systems for which we are not sure about the security status. Its performance is also better than other operating systems, and it is free.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend this operating system for working in the best development environment with great support.


    Rahul Kumar S.

Ubuntu Review For Users

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is Secure, reliable, and most importantly, smooth functioning for official tasks . We can easily do multiple jobs using this , graphic is also nice
What do you dislike?
sometimes unable to find some settings and software when needed . I want to add one more thing that it should more user friendly like windows
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I m working on this for my organization, and it is pretty quickly operational for big tasks. I used it as my developing platform as a software engineer.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is worth it, and I will recommend this for every developer working in the software field.


    Information Technology and Services

The Go-To Linux Desktop!

  • October 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu proper is on the forefront of new technologies on the Linux desktop
What do you dislike?
I wouldn't mind if Ubuntu had a rolling version of its distro but I understand that is not Ubuntu's place in the Linux world
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Gnome 3 is on the cutting edge of the modern Linux desktop, using it gives you insight to the future.


    Matteo R.

Lightweight, ready to use linux environment

  • October 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how they improve Ubuntu, every 6 months with new releases. LTS versions are an excellent idea for stable environments and purposes. It's very lightweight, so we can reuse old hardware. It's also possible to try different flavours of their Desktop environment, like KDE or XFCE. There's a huge community where we can find solutions and solve problems. Very large package library. No need to set antiviruses. No licenses costs.
What do you dislike?
Sometime they lose time and energy in something not very useful as unity or Ubuntu One. Also Xorg vs Wayland, letting users decide, is not the best for me. There is no Ubuntu Cloud or embedded solution to smoothly move from one laptop to a new one. The transition roadmap to new package systems is not clear (flatpack and so). Release upgrade can sometimes ask questions that not all users can answer, i.e. about what to do with grub.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Ubuntu Desktop, we can use an OS completely free, even on old hardware, that comes with all we need to work. As we have also many ubuntu servers running, we can be ready to manage them with no effort or changing the way packages installs or bash works.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use LTS versions, take a look at bash and terminal use, do not expect to get all Windows exe running flawlessly, but at 99% you'll find a solution or replacement. Try it on a real hardware, not only in a virtual machine, so you'll be able to check if is compliant with your hw. Dual boot is a good idea to start using it.


    Vivek S.

Ubuntu - for most Business Needs

  • October 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has a Linux interface. Very robust to viruses, and the command-line interface is handy once a user gets accustomed to it.
What do you dislike?
Command-line interface can be challenging to get used to initially.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have installed Oracle 12c software for business needs. The file structure allows for easy to execute database IO operations and secure connections.


    Brandon K.

Different experience if you are not use to it and be aware some programs would require alternatives

  • September 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free and nothing different compared to Windows OS and Apple OS
What do you dislike?
Does not support Windows OS only applications even though it is possible it is hard to setup and work properly. Even then it is still flaky
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
They are great for older systems to bring back to life and give out to people in need
Recommendations to others considering the product:
setting up Windows OS software to work in any Linux OS can be flaky so be ready to find alternatives


    Zayed R.

Ubuntu is the best OS in linux -free forever

  • September 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
-Easy and simplicity of UI
- Simple way to operate it.
- Free software is available to use.
-Its command-line easy to accessibility and usability
- No worries of any antivirus due to good security.
What do you dislike?
- sometimes is complex for a non-technical person to use it.
- Product support need to improve it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I regularly using ubuntu for developing the python and Nodejs coding, here easy to install and use it.
Easy to use GIT command line for pushing the code in Github.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will highly be recommended to use Ubuntu Desktop, easy to the installation and use it.
There are no worries about any paid licences, Easy to learn and use for beginners.
Simple to find the application available to use in the Ubuntu environment.
Software developers can easy to use it command-line coding.


    Dhiraj S.

Ubuntu ui and development tasks

  • September 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has all development support for development of new web applications, CLI tool and it has ease in deployment of full stack applications in different cloud platform.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes new updates impact the whole structure of builtin applications
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I majorly write python scripts for automation of work to create pull requests and commits the git. Also, usage of anaconda for machine learning algorithms make it fit for use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes


    Prerna S.

Linux on the GO

  • August 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Helps to get started with the linux experience without partitioning or any other way to provision Linux os.
What do you dislike?
It may be tough to work around with Ubuntu Desktop due to space constraints and minimal ways to get things on the go without getting stuck.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Linux experience on the go and helping with the need to particularly installing a Linux OS