Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Datadog Pro

Datadog | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

321 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Clément N.

A nice way to gather all data

  • April 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Datadog has a nice UX. It's easy to pick up integration and start a configuration for your apps or services. Also, the support is really cool: you got an email on a regular basis from the Datadog team checking up if everything is ok. This is the kind of proactive support I like.
What do you dislike?
During my trial, the web interface evolved completely. There was no new on-boarding, which was pretty confusing to me.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was able to monitor several applications from my different providers. Datadog helped me to have a better vision across other triggers from different services.


    Information Technology and Services

worked with datadog using its postgres monitoring

  • April 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
easy to use cloud based web app, pretty simple integration into your environment, most of the basic postgres metrics are obtained
What do you dislike?
cloud based only, wished it ran on-premise
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
datadog is easy to recommend to customers that want to run this sort of metrics/monitoring on the cloud in a pay-as-you-go service, easy to use, great user interface


    Internet

Easy to gather monitoring, lots of options

  • April 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that all of the data is collected into one place and easily searched, tagged, and commented on. As a less-informed user of some of the more down-to-the-metal services, it's easy to visualize each service and its health. The social-like feed of events is also helpful to see what's happening in your system, and in what order.

Custom dashboards are also nice to see the systems you interact with most.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes there is an overwhelming amount of information to search through in order to start using the product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We can see the health of our systems easily from one centralized location, share comments, and integrate into the chat service we already use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely set up a custom dashboard.


    João F.

I wish Datadog were available in the good old sysadmin days. It's just amazing.

  • April 04, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to get up and running in moments was a key element in choosing the service, as well as the ability to have the system dynamically adapt graphs and alerts based on other criteria than hostnames, such as aggregating counts across datacenters, system types, or any other arbitrary dimension that made sense to our team.
What do you dislike?
One negative mentioned was if you already have your apps instrumented with statsd then there is a little catching up to be done.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Traditionally there are systems that concern themselves with a particular set of metrics or services, and rarely lend themselves to being used by more than a single team (ops vs dev). Each team may end up using something that works for them, and getting cross-team correlation becomes that much harder.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In my progress towards disposable infrastructure the ability to forge ahead with getting the work done, instead of struggling with reconfiguring the monitoring systems, graphs, deployment methods, and other parts of what are now complex ecosystems of services, has been invaluable.


    Alexandre C.

A very user-friendly product

  • March 31, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is really easy to setup, the UI is clean and very user-friendly. If you have been using a StatsD / Grafana setup you will be delighted by the ease of use.

You can also set alerts that are triggered when a metric reach a certain value which is really useful.

There are also lots of plugins to automatically fetch metrics from databases, message queues, CPU, etc.

Setting up all these services on you own would be very time-consuming.
What do you dislike?
Once we migrated all our servers to an other host. Due to the migration, we ended up paying twice the price for two or three month as we forgot to disable the Datadog agents on our old servers.

So be careful and ask for information if you are hosting your applications on cloud servers and are using lots of short-time instances, it might be very expensive.

Also the documentation states that only 100 metrics are allowed per host, which can be very low depending on the type and number of applications running on your hosts.
In practice, we where sending more than 100 metrics per host and did not have any issues.

The UI is very good. The only thing was that it was not very convenient to change the scale of the vertical axis of a graph.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Datadog allowed us to avoid setting up a StatsD / Graphite / Grafana environment which would have been time-consuming.


    Internet

User friendly GUI and flexible parameter choice

  • March 31, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Multi platform support
Easy to use GUI
Customizable dashboard
What do you dislike?
Command line installation on windows is cumbersome
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Application monitoring is made very easy using datadog. Everything is managed and integrated.


    Jaime L. R.

Datadog is spectacular

  • March 31, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ability to create my own dashboard so as to monitor what I think is important at the same time
What do you dislike?
It seems to run a little slower than some other similar programs although not so much as to be a problem
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am utilizing it to determine the proper coding to create the most efficient programs possible
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a good program for what it does do


    Denish P.

Nice product

  • March 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to setup with AWS instances
good documentation
What do you dislike?
Datadog doesn't provide on-premise solution
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Business and application monitoring


    User in Law Enforcement

Datadog is a good boy!

  • March 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that Datadog makes it extremely easy to visualize the amount of data that my app is using and the metrics that it employs along with the visualizations to keep you appraised of how the app is doing in terms of latency is also very helpful.
What do you dislike?
I don't dislike anything about it yet, so far it has been everything I need it to be and then some.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Datadog to deal with business problems including making it much easier to visualize the amount of data that my app is using and to find out metrics that it employs along with the visualizations to keep me appraised of how the app is doing in terms of latency are also very helpful.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is very easy to implement Datadog to begin analyzing and visualizing various aspects of your app beyond the basics that amateurs look at.


    Christian Nahuel P.

Amazing for server monitoring

  • March 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Perfect real time dashboards to checkout traffic metrics, server status, and hardware performance.
What do you dislike?
It's very complex for new users. There is too much information and the UX is not perfect.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Datadog is the perfect platform to monitor servers. I use it to gather metrics, create custom alerts and analyse server traffic.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can complement its usage with New Relic.