Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

StarWind Virtual SAN on Windows Server 2019

StarWind | 8.0.0.14398a

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base Windows Server 2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

93 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Cedric G.

Reliable and efficient solution to improve storage infrastructure

  • February 01, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to setup and configure. Create within a few minutes a SAN with a wide range of features. Supports iSCSI, NFS SMB and also most of the hypervisors.
What do you dislike about the product?
Maybe the interface could be better from a UI perspective.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starwind helps me to reuse storage parts in my company.


    alan m.

Highly recommend StarWind Virtual SAN for any virtualization environment.

  • January 27, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Knowledgeable, friendly staff.
Works, quick to set up and configure and administrate.
Cost savings compared to other technologies.
Simple, Straight forward, straightforward approach for users.
What do you dislike about the product?
No dislikes were noted or found during the test phase, and every question or concern we've had has been quickly addressed by staff.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have been looking to retire our Mac Drobo and found the StarWind Virtual environment as a potentially perfect replacement using the Dell R750xs PowerEdge environment.

We currently use Drobo between our Mac and Windows domains to bridge our virtual environment in Nutanix. Our current Drobo configuration requires a Head Mac Unit to be attached to the Drobo due to performance issues for translation directly from Macs to our Windows share and then to Drobo.

Overall, I highly recommend StarWind Virtual SAN for any virtualization environment looking for a reliable and cost-effective solution and savings.


    Thomas W.

StarWind Virtual SAN software

  • January 25, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
fast and good installation
good performance values
high reliability
What do you dislike about the product?
missing multilingual interface
quick and easy expansion of capacity
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Missing classic storage did not have to be purchased, the free capacity of the servers could be used


    Computer & Network Security

Starwind Virtual san is a big player.

  • January 24, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
StarWind Virtual SAN is a cost-effective solution, as it does not require additional licensing costs. This can help VAR's where I work to offer competitive pricing to our customers.

StarWind Virtual SAN is a highly flexible solution, as it can be deployed on physical servers or on top of virtual machines running on hypervisors such as VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V. This allows VARs to offer a solution that can be tailored to the specific needs of their customers.
What do you dislike about the product?
Geo location could be better, for example site mirroring for DR purposes. I would like future release to explore the possibility of secure reliable site replication. 
Disaster recovery site mirroring would provide several benefits, including business continuity, A disaster recovery site can be used to restore critical systems and operations in the event of a disaster, ensuring that the business can continue to function.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
From my point of view, we offer this product, installed, tested and configured on our client hardware who are located in the public and private sector in the UK, StarWind is known for its good technical support and customer service. This helps us to offer a solution that is supported by a reliable vendor, which in-turn improves customer satisfaction and ensure sticky and repeat business for future activities.


    Tomáš B.

Reliable and easy to set up software

  • January 23, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
- easy to set up thank to detailed technical documentation
- realiable
- proffesional technical support
What do you dislike about the product?
we used StarWind Virtual SAN for more than three years and we didn't find anything that we dislike (connected with our use case - synchronous replication of high-availability fileservers)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
its solving our disaster recovery issues in a virtualization environment through synchronous replication of high-availability fileservers


    Max P.

StarWind easy-to-configure

  • January 18, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
For us, there are a couple of benefits of using StarWind Virtual SAN:

- Simplified storage management: By creating a virtual shared storage pool, you can manage your storage as a single entity rather than having to manage individual storage devices on each host.

- High performance: StarWind Virtual SAN is designed to deliver high performance by using direct memory access (DMA) and other techniques to minimize latency and maximize throughput.

- High availability: The data replication feature of StarWind Virtual SAN helps to ensure data availability in the event of a host failure, reducing the risk of data loss and downtime.

- Scalability: You can add additional hosts to the storage cluster as needed to scale up your storage capacity and performance.

- Flexibility: StarWind Virtual SAN supports a wide range of storage protocols and can be used in a variety of storage configurations, making it a flexible solution for different types of storage needs.
What do you dislike about the product?
One potential limitation of StarWind Virtual SAN is that it requires a minimum of two servers to create a storage cluster, so it may not be suitable for environments with only a single server.

Another potential challenge is that it requires a certain level of technical expertise to set up and configure the software, as well as to troubleshoot any issues that may arise. If you do not have in-house staff with the necessary skills and knowledge, you may need to seek out external expertise or support to get the most out of the product.

In addition, while StarWind Virtual SAN is designed to provide high performance and high availability, the actual level of performance and availability that you achieve may depend on a number of factors, such as the hardware and network infrastructure that you are using, and how you have configured the software.

Finally, like any software-defined storage solution, StarWind Virtual SAN is dependent on the underlying hardware and software infrastructure, and may be vulnerable to issues or failures in those components. This means that you need to be prepared to manage and maintain the infrastructure in order to ensure the stability and reliability of your storage environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
There are several benefits for us to using a solution like StarWind Virtual SAN:

- Improved availability: By creating a shared storage pool that is accessible to all hosts in a cluster, you can improve the availability of your virtualized environments. If one host goes down, the virtual machines on that host can be restarted on another host that has access to the shared storage.

- Better performance: By using local storage resources on each host to create the shared storage pool, you can achieve better performance than you would with traditional storage arrays. This is because the data is stored locally, which reduces the distance the data has to travel and reduces latency.

- Simplified storage management: With a software-defined storage solution like StarWind Virtual SAN, you can manage your storage from a single console, rather than having to manage multiple storage arrays. This can simplify storage management and reduce the number of vendor relationships you need to manage.

- Reduced costs: By using local storage resources to create a shared storage pool, you can reduce the amount of expensive storage hardware you need to purchase. This can lead to significant cost savings.


    Information Services

StarWind Virtual SAN Is A Software Hich Superseeds In Its Capabilities With My Uses.

  • January 11, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Windows-based software environment allows a shared storage system to be set up at no cost, which also can be used productively usage with powershell is possible
What do you dislike about the product?
Software is very deep and complex and profound with many features. learning resources were pretty tough to find, but once you get there it is quite alright to use.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starwind virtual san Improved my business process agility, it created internal/operational efficiencies, it Enhanced our decision making processes and helped to relieve our Cost management


    Diego M.

Easy to implement, great price and support team

  • December 09, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
easy cli management, works on most hypervisors, even on 2 nodes with no witness.
deployment is too easy aand works on old hardwares too
What do you dislike about the product?
nothing but some documentation improvements
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
most of our customers dont want to spend a lot of money on hardware or storages, wiht starwind we was able too deploy on old servers and no aditional storages or 3rd party vendors


    Georgian M.

StarWind VSAN is a software-defined storage (SDS) solution that runs on commodity hardware.

  • December 07, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It turns server disks and flash drives into a high-performance storage pool, providing scalable and cost-effective storage for virtualized environments. High availability and fault tolerance are also included with this solution, you only need 2 servers to get started, enabling you to create any type of HA cluster you can think of that requires shared storage, be it virtualization or sql server clusters.
What do you dislike about the product?
You can opt for the free version and still get all the best features from the paid option,
the only downside is that you need to configure everything with Powershell CLI; monitoring can still be done via the GUI regardless of the route you decide to take
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
StarWind Virtual SAN has improved our organization by allowing us to consolidate our storage infrastructure and reducing our overall costs. It has also allowed us to improve our performance and availability by providing us with a more scalable and flexible storage solution.

It enabled us to bring reliability and high performance to SMB customers that can't afford expensive dedicated hardware for their storage needs.


    Allen M.

Great Pricing {free version} and Amazing Product!

  • December 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I have to say that I love StarWind VSAN! I was blown away by a free product I wasn't expecting much from. The paid features are worth the money, but I can do everything I need with the free version. I highly recommend StarWind VSAN for being able to turn traditional storage into high-performance storage pools.
What do you dislike about the product?
The CLI has a learning curve but is not too bad; the CLI configuration can be a little tricky, and limited documentation for the free version.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being free for the version I am using has allowed me to put that funding I would have generally spent on other projects and still be able to provide high performance storage pools.