Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

StarWind Virtual SAN on Windows Server 2019

StarWind | 8.0.0.14398a

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base Windows Server 2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

93 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer & Network Security

StarWind Virtual SAN with GEO Failover Cluster

  • November 10, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We have been searching for Virtual SAN for a long time. When we found Virtual SAN from StarWind our problems were fixed, and easy PowerShell scripts were ready to edit and run for everyone, we are using it for GEO Failover Cluster and have been using it for a few months with no problem. Highly recommend it!
What do you dislike about the product?
Feature-wise we are not looking for anything more or less that comes with StarWind Virtual SAN
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It solves our problem of adding a disk to Failover Cluster that is installed in the server (SSD), with the help of Virtual SAN this works with no problem


    Ibrahim I.

Huge Software Capability

  • November 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
easy of management: the management was straightforward, and I was able to find all that I needed in the software dashboard
ISCSI : the connection using software made it easy to me to connect my servers without extra investment in hardware SAN
vCenter Plugin: this allows me to monitor the SAN performance in the VMware web interface
Fault Tolerance and High Availability: I can update or restart the physical server without worry
Deduplication and Compression: I am planning to use this feature when investing in new NVme disks
What do you dislike about the product?
for now i see all application features which include (Management, ISCSI, NVMe over Fabrics (NVMe-oF), ZFS, Data Locality, Fault Tolerance and High Availability, vCenter Plugin, Deduplication and Compression and Web-based Management fits my requirements
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
i am currently running servers with hosted application for my business and i had a problem having them online all the time because of servers maintenance and updates that's why i started using a VSAN to avoid buying a Hardware SAN and use my existing servers only.the software improved my productivity by allowing me to have a virtualisation high availability and fault tolerance.


    Jose E.

StarWind Virtual SAN experience VSAN cheap!

  • November 07, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
i use StarWind VSAN in my testing and development environment. this is usually where i practice a deployment using a virtualization software like proxmox, ovirt, redhat enterpise virtualization (rhev), vmware, hyper-v. i also usually use raid techonology like raid 0, raid 1, raid 5, raid 6, raid 10, raid 50, raid 60 etc. we also use iscsi technology with iscsi initiator and iscsi target. with this we also try if we should use multi path technology when we use round robin. we also test thin and thick technology
What do you dislike about the product?
None. so far the StarWind Virtual Storage Area Network is good
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It help me in my testing ad deployment of virtual environment


    Georgeadis A.

StarWind SAN

  • November 02, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The solutions that I have tried and used are really great, very easy to configure, they just make your job much easier. You don't need to be an expert to configure and manage it.
What do you dislike about the product?
I think license management in VMware environments is a problem for now.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It really is very simple, it is very intuitive for configuration and monitoring.


    Neil W.

Great product with great support

  • October 30, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Support
Ease of configuration
Flexibility of configuration
What do you dislike about the product?
Some areas of documentation seem limited
Monitoring
Console could do with a bit of a tidy
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use StarWind Virtual SAN in a dynamic Lab environment. Used by multiple systems within the Lab. Used with varried OSes (Windows, Linux (Redhat, Ubuntu, etc). Allows Labs to be setup, tested, demonstrated then archived for future use.


    Lukas W.

Quite fast setup and active Support

  • October 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Starwind Virtual SAN is the perfect solution for our redundant 2 Node VMware Vsphere system. The GUI is self-explanatory, and there are Step-by-step guides on how to set it up on the Starwind Website. When we ran into a problem, support answered our Email within minutes, and we could continue setting up.
What do you dislike about the product?
It took us a few hours to find an error in the iSCSI setup. The GUI only showed that one partner node had no connection, although the heartbeat and sync interface seemed to be online.

In the end, we found a solution in a Starwind forum. The Problem was just our setup rather than on Starwind's side.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Starwind Virtual SAN for a HyperConverged 2 Node VMware MS-Windows Server 2019 Cluster. It provides HA iSCSI virtual drive space for our SMB file share. In case of a power outage or system failure, the workload will be shifted to the partner node within seconds so that the file share has practically no downtime.


    Keneth R.

Great Hypervisor Storage Platform

  • October 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The user interface for this application is amazing, it's very easy to learn from the beginning and it has a great introductory period that allows you to get used to everything that the software has to offer. I can also say that another BIG advantage for this application is the amazing customer support that they offer, they are able to answer your questions very quickly and they are always available at the most important times.
What do you dislike about the product?
Having a large support for filesystems is important to our organization, as we sometimes used propietary filesystems like WekaFS for some of the tasks at hand. Specially in the era of Exascale computing, having support for additional features like importing filesystems and be able to do some testing with them is important. Besides not being able to use any filesystem I do not have any additional cons.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This tool allows my team to be able to deploy NAS solutions in real time, virtually so that we can test those solutions in a quick and easy way before they are needed to be deployed in the real world. This saves in costs of actually having to deploy a physical environment to test and also allows my team to work from anywhere at anytime, which is important in the current times when remote work is vital to the proper workflow at our company.


    Tyler F.

Stable product with great customer support at an affordable price

  • October 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is "set and forget." I've administered two StarWind VSAN clusters for 5+ years; it's always been rock solid. Updates are simple to perform. I had an issue I caused myself that was quickly fixed by support staff.
What do you dislike about the product?
I honestly am not aware of any downsides. In the past, I would've said I wasn't a fan of using Windows virtual machines, but they began offering a Linux appliance for their vSphere offering years ago.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We're VMware customers, but we began using StarWind VSAN before VMware VSAN was very well established. It works just as well but at a more affordable price. I'm not sure if VMware has an option for a 2-node cluster, but I know in the past 3 nodes was minimum, which was a large difference for our relatively meager IT budget.


    Michael J. G.

Using StarWind for 10 years and still love it!

  • October 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
3-Way (Active-Active-Active) true High-Availibility.
Flexible, Scaleable, Reliable & Cost Effective.
What do you dislike about the product?
No IPv6 support
No linux installer (they do have a linux VM)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Distributed storage for our Virtualization environment as well as SAN & Disaster Recovery.


    Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

The most customizable storage solution I've ever used

  • October 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I love how customizable Starwind is. You can set it up to fit your infrastructure instead of the other way around. It's also the most affordable storage solution I have ever used. Their support is great and knows their product well. A lot of software-defined storage solutions force you to work with very specific hardware and configurations, but Starwind will work with your current solution, and they will support it too.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's missing some of the flashier GUI components and handholding of the more expensive solutions, so less experienced admins might be a little intimidated at first, but their support will help you with the initial setup and make sure you are good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's saved us 80% on our storage cost from our previous solution. It's also saved us from expanding our rack footprint, as we can utilize our existing hosts for both compute and storage.