Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

StarWind Virtual SAN on Windows Server 2019

StarWind | 8.0.0.14398a

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base Windows Server 2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

136 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Works well with XEN

  • April 10, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Once setup was complete, has been very stable
What do you dislike about the product?
Setup was a bit complicated and cumbersome
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Makes managing storage across multiple hosts easy.


    Information Technology and Services

StarWind Virtual SAN Cost Effective Solution

  • April 10, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
StarWind Virtual SAN works best with hypervisor environment. We get rid of our organization storage issue with this product. The backup and restoration of data also becomes easy with StarWind Virtual SAN. Overall cost of the solution is effective because there is no need to have extra physical servers.
What do you dislike about the product?
StarWind Virtual SAN should improve their reporting they only have builtin reports in their solution it should have option to customize some required reports for senior management.
The documentation for troubleshooting known issues of the product is also limited.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our organization was facimg issue with respect to storage of the data as per compliance we should have 6 months live data and 6 months archive data.
With the help of this solution we are able to have that. It also have built in Multi Factor Authentication which also requires for our own compliance prospective.


    Ayesh S.

Starwind Virtual SAN Amazing Product

  • April 09, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
StarWind Virtual SAN gives adaptation to non-critical failure by repeating information across various servers in the group. This guarantees that information is generally accessible, even in case of a server disappointment.
What do you dislike about the product?
Starwind virtual san management server interface is complex and also the customer support needs to improved.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The performance of the current storage platform was a problem for our company, and the cost of the solution was also significant. We came to learn more about the starwind virtual san solution to assist our company in addressing performance and cost-effectiveness issues. Our company uses Starwind virtual SAN to help with the slowness problem and to deliver the High availability functionality. Since the majority of our services run on virtual platforms, the integration of the virtual SAN with the virtualization platforms helped us to reduce the problem.


    Maryam I.

Starwind Virtual SAN Cost Effective Solution

  • April 02, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Several aspects make StarWind Virtual SAN a popular option for enterprises, but one of its strongest advantages is its capacity to offer high availability and redundancy for data and applications that are mission-critical.
What do you dislike about the product?
Technical knowledge is necessary for the setup and configuration of StarWind Virtual SAN, which can be a challenging task. Those who are unfamiliar with virtualization technology or storage area networks (SANs) may find this to be difficult.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our organization was using traditional physical storage platform where we was facing issue with the integration with the virtualization platforms and also the cost of the physical storage platform was high. We came to hear about the starwind virtual san product and now we're satisfied with the solution.


    Muhammad A.

StarWind Virtual SAN

  • March 30, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Some of the features and benefits of StarWind Virtual SAN I like most:

High availability: StarWind Virtual SAN provides synchronous replication between nodes, ensuring that data is always available and accessible, even in the event of a hardware failure.

Scalability: StarWind Virtual SAN is highly scalable, allowing businesses to easily add more storage capacity as their needs grow.

Cost-effectiveness: StarWind Virtual SAN is designed to work with commodity hardware, reducing the cost of storage infrastructure without compromising on performance or reliability.
What do you dislike about the product?
software-defined approach may not be suitable for organizations that require dedicated hardware for their storage infrastructure.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
StarWind Virtual SAN is easy to deploy and manage, with a user-friendly interface that simplifies the process of configuring and monitoring storage resources. It is the best fit solution for us.


    Giedrius G.

a game-changer for our organization

  • March 27, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
High Availability: StarWind Virtual SAN is designed to provide high availability for mission-critical workloads. Performance Optimization: StarWind Virtual SAN optimizes storage performance by using a variety of techniques, such as write-back caching, automated tiering, and deduplication
What do you dislike about the product?
Complexity: StarWind Virtual SAN can be complex to set up and manage, especially for organizations with limited IT resources.
Limited protocol support: StarWind Virtual SAN supports a limited number of protocols, primarily iSCSI and SMB3
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We deploy StarWind Virtual SAN to create a shared storage pool from the existing hardware resources. We install StarWind Virtual SAN software on the ESXi hosts and configure them to use local storage devices, such as SSDs and HDDs, to create a highly available storage cluster


    Arcwell H.

One of the best Virtual SAN Applications on the market!

  • March 13, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We used Star Wind Virtual San in our Hyper-V clustered environment to create our virtual SAN storage spread across all of our host servers. The business problem the virtual SAN addressed at the moment was the need to create redundant storage spread across all of our host servers which were populated with huge capacity disks. The scope was to present the data disk as a stor for Hyper- V to look at.
What do you dislike about the product?
The fact that application is very simple, easy and intuitive to use as an IT professional.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The ability to use a virtual SAN and storage for a our Hyper-V cluster build


    Hamdan S.

Starwind Virtual SAN Recommended for Virtual Environment

  • March 11, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Starwind Virtual SAN helps in High Availability and easy integration with virtual environment
What do you dislike about the product?
Starwind Virtual SAN user interface is complex and difficult to use for novice user
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our organization was facing issues for the integration of physical storage with virtual platforms then we came to hear about the starwind virtual san solution and it helped our organization in effective way with both cost effective and featurewise


    Spencer L.

Pure Black Magic in a box, and World Class Support

  • March 10, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Hands down, the best thing about StarWind has gotta be their support... They were able to connect remotely to my server, and were able to walk me thru the sometimes complicated sets of instructions that I had needed- including when we accidentally deleted one of our VMs and needed to recover it! For a production environment, this is critical support and a display of technical know-how that I have rarely ever witnessed or have participated in.
What do you dislike about the product?
My single complaint is that I wish that there were more training videos online, either on their website, or youtube or wherever that would train IT Managers with best practices and maybe highlight what others are doing with their solutions and environments. New ideas and new insight is how we can crawl out of our own personalized thoughts and "group thinking" that sometimes do not allow us to have the advantage because the thoughts have never been presented to us! So training and maybe monthly webinars would be an incredible tool to help people- in ways that they never even knew they needed!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It allowed us to get rid of several SAN storage solutions that were running at 100% power for most of the days, weeks, and years we had them turned on! You wanna talk about saving the environment? Start in-house, with solutions like StarWind, which drastically cut our electricity costs by using ONE TENTH the power we needed to run those File Servers and Physical Machines. We were able to consolidate and run with Solid State Drives, which improved speed, reliability, and the need for a room full of disparate servers doing their own thing, requiring specialty knowledge and training to set-up and more importantly- maintain! We are now able to log onto a single server interface and open our HyperV Manager and really get down and dirty with each server and it's needs. Being able to control them all so easily is also a single point of failover, but we are running in High Availability with two twin servers that back eachother up and maintain the status quo.


    Alonzo R.

Starwind's Virtual SAN is a great budget friendly SAN

  • March 07, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We've had great success in using StarWind's Virtual SAN to help scale our virtual environment. Starwind was easy to configure and their support is top-notch.
What do you dislike about the product?
The Windows-based NFS functionality is not good with many, many small files. We experienced issues that forced us to adopt a Linux-based NFS solution.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We didn't have a SAN solution before Starwind. We were ablet to implement hypervisors and a new database that utilized the SAN after we got Starwind.