Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

StarWind Virtual SAN on Windows Server 2019

StarWind | 8.0.0.14398a

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base Windows Server 2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

93 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Yi Da S.

Easy to deploy, great support, great for 2 node only setup

  • July 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We have not had many issues with Starwind deployments since we started selling their products as part of a failover solution to one of our partner's overall systems. We sold a few systems, and till now there were no issues related to Starwind. We deployed across multiple brands of servers, (Dell, HP, QCT) and there were very ok with our myriads of server designs and configurations.
Most of the issues are about hardware failures, and once the hardware is replaced and the configuration restored, we initiated the sync, and the system was back running without issues.

One big plus I think it is important, especially compared to products from the likes of HPE Storvirtual VSA, etc, is that Starwind allows you to use 2 nodes only deployment without having to use a witness, meaning I will save cost as I do not need a separate VM / share to host the witness and Starwind will still work. Most of our deployments are either on one rack or 2 racks at a different location, and they do not have the options to allow us to deploy the 3rd location for a witness.
Easy to set up. There is a free version with 30 days of GUI usage that you can try on, but you can learn 80-90% of the product capability within these 30 days. With the paid product, the support is good. They can either let you go solo, and help to check on the settings later to advise on things to improve, or they can take over the setup completely.
Performance is adequate for our usage.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not much. Slight improvements to the UI would do wonders, but it is more of nit-picking. Also licensing is by per TB for the lower end, although they give you 4TB from the start.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Dual node HA without a witness. So far Starwind Virtual SAN is the only product we used that is simple enough to deploy and works. Most of our deployment environment is based on dual rooms without a 3rd location to store witness nodes.


    Christopher M.

Excellent support

  • July 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I run an MSP and have installed this solution at a number of our clients over the years. Each install has worked perfectly, stable for years without issue, and what impressed me most is the setup experience with the remote engineer creating a HA cluster on Windows within a few hours.
What do you dislike about the product?
I am not a fan of the pricing per TB model however I understand this is normal for the industry.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were able to reduce our customers' OPEX and CAPEX on server hardware, along with reduced software licensing costs and support costs - what would normally be done over multiple servers has been consolidated onto a two node cluster. We have deployed this setup at many customer sites.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
StarWinds offers an easy to use and fast track solution to Hyper-converged high-availability cluster


    Luke F.

Flexible Storage

  • July 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I think finding that StarWind Virtual SAN was essentially hardware agnostic, allowing us to build out a specific hardware layer based upon the customers unique requirements was the most valuable feature of StarWind vSAN. It is a pleasant change to encounter a company who are willing to be flexible over an implementation utilising their product and varying slightly from their normal design specifications. They also helped us qualify the product against the customer's constantly changing requirements.
What do you dislike about the product?
There was nothing in particular which I disliked about the product. Performance metrics and insight could be improved upon a little. It would also be good if there was some tighter vCenter integration, specifically around reporting functionality.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our customer had purchased hardware before us being consulted. They found themselves in a position of requiring stretched vSAN capabilities but not much budget to address this requirement. StarWind vSAN addressed this requirement directly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go with StarWind's design recommendations. Also, if you have the opportunity you should get StarWind to assist in the implementation.


    Liam W.

Efficient And Stable With Great Support

  • July 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
vSAN allows us to provide more options to our clients to make their networks more resilient without forking out the price of a physical SAN.
What do you dislike about the product?
Although it is a more affordable option than a physical SAN, it is still quite expensive for some of our smaller clients.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
They enable us to create failover clusters for our smaller 2 host clients that usually would only have replication but no live migration.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If a one stop virtual SAN is what you're after, look no further!


    Joe G.

Starwind VSAN and excellent option for SMBs

  • July 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Starwind Virtual SAN (VSAN) is installed on two of my Production servers for use in a Hyper-V cluster for a few years. Starwind support was excellent in setting up all the connections between the servers and doing the configuration. Performance has been excellent with no issues. I don't even notice it's there.
What do you dislike about the product?
I haven't had any negative experiences with this product so far. Ensure that you have your hardware tested and configured so that the virtual SAN can run properly. However, Starwind support was able to point me in the right direction for the configuration of the network environment and ensured that my setup was correct.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have critical applications, that required high availability. With our previous implementation the system was cumbersome, The instant failover feature was a key requirement for the business, ensuring that the systems we relied on was always available.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If like me your organisation has a need to maintain high availability on critical applications and you want an easy to manage option Starwind VSAN is for you


    Higher Education

amazing product

  • June 27, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
efficient, stable and easy to use, ... all this quality reduce maintenance/configuration time
What do you dislike about the product?
I can not think of anything that I dislike about the product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Providing HA storage for very attractive price


    Government Administration

Starwind VSan

  • June 27, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Stability of the app and the easyness to restart the nodes of contact them.
What do you dislike about the product?
There's a little documentation which is not that easy to find.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It keeps the system alive and is a secure way to have some more redundancy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product and superb support from scratch to operational VSAN


    Ryan K.

StarWind VSAN works!

  • June 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The VSAN just works. Being new to the organization and to StarWind, I found the system easy and intuitive. The support, community, and KB articles online work to make this a great product.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing! I honestly haven't found anything that I don't care for. If I had to pick something, perhaps more recent video tutorials would fit the bill here.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our electronic medical record runs on a 2-node hyper-converged cluster, with StarWind running it. This helps increase our uptime, fault tolerance and reliability for the EMR.


    Building Materials

Starwind "It's a Winner!! for us"

  • June 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
What we like best about it, is that's the only true two node Hyper-V cluster solution that's available. On both produciton locations we have a 2-node setup over 2 different Server room.
Our main goal was that we want to have all VM servers available on one Cluster host ,in case of a disaster in one of our server rooms.
Microsoft SSD (Storage Space Direct) always needs a 3rd witness (SMB or Cloud) but in our a two node solution this is not ideal. Direct connected fiber connections
between the nodes makes everything fast and makes the chance of a Cluster split-brain fault less likely.
What do you dislike about the product?
I can not think of anything that I dislike about the product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using a Starwind Virtual SAN (VSAN) on two Production locations with a Hyper-V Cluster for almost 5 years now.
It has given us very good performance and haven't got any issue with it the past years.
Starwind support is excellent, very fast and have very good knowledge of the Starwind and Hyper-V Cluster software.
It can be supported by a small IT Staff
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes it a great product for a HA environment.


    Information Services

Great product , SAN works fast.

  • June 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
They provide good support and their response is quick, Interface is admin friendly. SAN works fast, even with HDDs . Not much maintenance is needed, just install and run updates sometimes.
What do you dislike about the product?
As I've mentioned above, their support is quick, but it is a little expensive in my opinion. I really recommend working with their support when you first build a Virtual SAN.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Well , there is no need for us to buy a separate physical shared storage, we can just use storage on hypervisor servers instead, you can also save on MS licenses.