Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

StarWind Virtual SAN on Windows Server 2019

StarWind | 8.0.0.14398a

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base Windows Server 2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

137 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Alonzo R.

Starwind's Virtual SAN is a great budget friendly SAN

  • March 07, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We've had great success in using StarWind's Virtual SAN to help scale our virtual environment. Starwind was easy to configure and their support is top-notch.
What do you dislike about the product?
The Windows-based NFS functionality is not good with many, many small files. We experienced issues that forced us to adopt a Linux-based NFS solution.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We didn't have a SAN solution before Starwind. We were ablet to implement hypervisors and a new database that utilized the SAN after we got Starwind.


    Francisco O.

I´ve succesfully implemented a pilot project in one of the biggests Hydroelectric Power Plant.

  • February 23, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
As mentioned, I´ve successfully implemented a pilot project in one of the world's most giant hydroelectric power plants, and it has an excellent performance as a stable and professional solution. That being said, a separate software from the VMWare Supervisory Package, gives us more flexibility regarding configuration and usage policies and allows you even to use a separate hardware to Store and Manage the SAN. So it is perfect for critical applications where stability and availability are essential. Using the StarWind Virtual SAN gave us a more stable and flexible solution. Also, I observed a continuous enhancement in the functionalities of the StarWind Virtual SAN, so its evolution is excellent.
What do you dislike about the product?
I experienced some events when StarWind is not "sure" about which image was the most recent one when the system is recovering from a complete shutdown requiring, sometimes, a manual intervention. Although I observed a great enhancement between the past and present versions, I think there are still some improvements to be made on how the software manages which images are the recent ones. For enlightenment, I used only two images, and I think it would have many benefits to use 3 images, including an enhancement in this case. So I think as it is improving everyday, it is not a bad thing at all.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The StarWind Virtual SAN allowed me to have great flexibility in creating a very critical system, where I could assemble a completely separately managed VSAN, but still linked and capable of operating with the VMWare Hypervisor. So I had a more robust and reliable system.


    Zafeer K.

Awesome product

  • February 21, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It makes tasks such as sharing files, giving access and storing very simple and efficient.
What do you dislike about the product?
The pricing is a bit over the limit performance was worth it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Handling files is mainly the problem, that I am happy that Starwind has made it easier.


    Nisar A.

A Reliable, scalable, and Affordable Storage Solution for Virtual Environments especially for SMBs

  • February 13, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
StarWind Virtual SAN is a reliable, scalable, and affordable storage solution for virtual environments, especially for SMBs. We have a small VMware vSphere environment and this product helps to store and manage our data.
What do you dislike about the product?
Overall StarWind Virtal SAN is a pretty good product but its documentation should be more organized and more structured. It should also span to multiple data centers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have a small VMware vSphere environment and this product helps us really well to store and manage our data and critical applications. We have a plan in scaling out our infrastructure and I believe that StarWind Virtual SAN will definitely help us to so quite easily.


    Cedric G.

Reliable and efficient solution to improve storage infrastructure

  • January 28, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to setup and configure. Create within a few minutes a SAN with a wide range of features. Supports iSCSI, NFS SMB and also most of the hypervisors.
What do you dislike about the product?
Maybe the interface could be better from a UI perspective.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starwind helps me to reuse storage parts in my company.


    alan m.

Highly recommend StarWind Virtual SAN for any virtualization environment.

  • January 24, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Knowledgeable, friendly staff.
Works, quick to set up and configure and administrate.
Cost savings compared to other technologies.
Simple, Straight forward, straightforward approach for users.
What do you dislike about the product?
No dislikes were noted or found during the test phase, and every question or concern we've had has been quickly addressed by staff.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have been looking to retire our Mac Drobo and found the StarWind Virtual environment as a potentially perfect replacement using the Dell R750xs PowerEdge environment.

We currently use Drobo between our Mac and Windows domains to bridge our virtual environment in Nutanix. Our current Drobo configuration requires a Head Mac Unit to be attached to the Drobo due to performance issues for translation directly from Macs to our Windows share and then to Drobo.

Overall, I highly recommend StarWind Virtual SAN for any virtualization environment looking for a reliable and cost-effective solution and savings.


    Computer & Network Security

Starwind Virtual san is a big player.

  • January 24, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
StarWind Virtual SAN is a cost-effective solution, as it does not require additional licensing costs. This can help VAR's where I work to offer competitive pricing to our customers.

StarWind Virtual SAN is a highly flexible solution, as it can be deployed on physical servers or on top of virtual machines running on hypervisors such as VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V. This allows VARs to offer a solution that can be tailored to the specific needs of their customers.
What do you dislike about the product?
Geo location could be better, for example site mirroring for DR purposes. I would like future release to explore the possibility of secure reliable site replication. 
Disaster recovery site mirroring would provide several benefits, including business continuity, A disaster recovery site can be used to restore critical systems and operations in the event of a disaster, ensuring that the business can continue to function.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
From my point of view, we offer this product, installed, tested and configured on our client hardware who are located in the public and private sector in the UK, StarWind is known for its good technical support and customer service. This helps us to offer a solution that is supported by a reliable vendor, which in-turn improves customer satisfaction and ensure sticky and repeat business for future activities.


    Tomáš B.

Reliable and easy to set up software

  • January 20, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
- easy to set up thank to detailed technical documentation
- realiable
- proffesional technical support
What do you dislike about the product?
we used StarWind Virtual SAN for more than three years and we didn't find anything that we dislike (connected with our use case - synchronous replication of high-availability fileservers)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
its solving our disaster recovery issues in a virtualization environment through synchronous replication of high-availability fileservers


    Thomas W.

StarWind Virtual SAN software

  • January 14, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
fast and good installation
good performance values
high reliability
What do you dislike about the product?
missing multilingual interface
quick and easy expansion of capacity
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Missing classic storage did not have to be purchased, the free capacity of the servers could be used


    Information Services

StarWind Virtual SAN Is A Software Hich Superseeds In Its Capabilities With My Uses.

  • January 10, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Windows-based software environment allows a shared storage system to be set up at no cost, which also can be used productively usage with powershell is possible
What do you dislike about the product?
Software is very deep and complex and profound with many features. learning resources were pretty tough to find, but once you get there it is quite alright to use.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starwind virtual san Improved my business process agility, it created internal/operational efficiencies, it Enhanced our decision making processes and helped to relieve our Cost management