Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CIS Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 Benchmark - Level 2

Center for Internet Security | 3.1.1.5

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux rhel7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

10 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

REHL, the most reliable OS Company Wide

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it is very user-friendly for an IT Department to use daily. All of the company-wide servers and systems were set up very quickly and easily. It's very adaptable and functional, and I love it for its speed and reliability.
What do you dislike?
I didn't dislike much but I wish there were a lot more programs that were compatible with the OS. I noticed when I needed to reach out to support that was not as up to par as I would have hoped.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed an OS that was able to handle most of the essential network services, such as NFS, DNS, SMTP, Apache, Tomcat, etc., in addition to running third-party applications.


    Internet

Very useful

  • November 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lightness and rapidity of execution. Great for productivity
What do you dislike?
Nothing really, but I've seen better UIs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mainly use it for systems security


    Market Research

Best Platform for Internet Security

  • October 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CIS helps develop and maintain the Controls within the organization, easy to access.
Benchmark Information PDF is so easy to understand so that everyone without deep knowledge also, can start coding.
Best choice for the deployment of a broad range of applications.
Reliable and secure.
What do you dislike?
I did not come across any cons about CIS Red Hat Enterprise Linux except the price is a little bit higher, because of which it becomes unaffordable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using For CIS Red Hat Enterprise Linux for Automation and Data storage purposes.
I found it very useful at my workplace and made my day-to-day tasks easier.


    Aeshwer T.

One of the best linux version out there

  • October 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The standard features and ease of use are the best features
What do you dislike?
The limited software support is something I dislike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mainly work on enterprice solutions
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Amazing ..one should try this version of linux


    Brandon K.

Great as an Enterprise Linux Server

  • September 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great as an Enterprise Linux Server to fill in for the different needs that a windows server is not able to
What do you dislike?
There is a subscription fee with the sever. The subscription is to help support the community
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Great as an Enterprise Linux Server to fill in for the different needs that a windows server is not able to. They do have developer version that is free and meant to allow others develop apps for RedHat
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep in mind that there is a subscription type of cost for the Red Hat server but there is a free version for basic and developer use


    Computer & Network Security

RedHat Enterprise Linux Review

  • August 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use
Lightweight
Has open source as well which can be customized as per need
What do you dislike?
Need to know the commands and format to use it. Need indepth knowledge to make the best use of it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Very useful for hosting sites.
Used for running databases and other software for day to day use


    Swati A.

Best application servers for UAT and Production environment

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Speed, access, ease of use, open-source, better performance tuning and monitoring, adding NAS drives, configuration friendly.
What do you dislike?
Black and white command-line interface. No UI, need some expertise to learn the commands and usability for first-time users. Need help to install new softwares.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Application Deployments, servers, database hosting, webserver


    Jae Sub L.

CIS Red Hat Enterprise Linux Review

  • July 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Love how this software can collaborate with others to accomplish its project. This software is easy to use. The PDF that they have provided on the Benchmark Information is well written and everyone can start coding from scratch. When running the software I like the fact that the derivative will no longer be a CIS Benchmark.
What do you dislike?
I used this software couple of times before and I have to say, that some of the errors that they spit out is very different then its competitors. Also pricing on its storage fees and others are definitely on the higher end. Not too much experience as I mentioned before, but I have to say this is not my favorite software to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Again, I do not have too much experience, but I am trying to solve my work problems. The benefits I have realized is that it is computing software that is capable of doing a lot more things to make our lives easier.


    Luong Trung T.

Security and comply with a lot of standard requirements

  • June 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Provide and recommend a lot of built-in configured and make OS is better.
What do you dislike?
Woriking with different OS needs some tweaks and adjust to do smoothly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hardening Linux to be comply with many standard requirements; benefit of CIS Red hat Enterprise is large of community and discussion to be better via CIS foru and template is always good to reference


    Angeliki L.

protein ligand binding can be programmed in linux- ideal for drug discovery!

  • October 31, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I doubt drug discovery would be anywhere near where it is today without Linux. I am starting to look up compounds that have been verified as highly specific to proteins. I can't look at how these compounds would look when bound to the protein without the linux terminal. In the old days, pre computer, people would literally have stick and ball plastic models to physically model protein-ligand interactions and predict good fits. There are millions of compounds- this is simply inefficient!
What do you dislike?
I'm not going to recommend something like this to most people because very few people understand and actively use the linux programming language. It is the most difficult language to learn in my opinion.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The compounds, once downloaded from pubchem, a compound database, can be converted to pdb files using the linux terminal. I can then, using an accessory application, view these ligands three dimensionally in "vmd." Linux has commands for me to use to determine which compounds can be used for drug discovery based on their size/molecular weight and chemical composition. This drastically narrows down the list of compounds we have to work with.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
(a general note- the screenshot uploaded is not from the linux system itself, but the steps we use for utilizing the terminal, since a screenshot of the system itself with me logged in is just a screenshot of a general terminal)


showing 1 - 10