Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

StarWind Virtual SAN on Windows Server 2016

StarWind | 8.0.0.14398a

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows Server 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

137 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ahmed H.

The Best Virtual SAN Solution

  • February 19, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Create virtual storag pool and make it shared for all hosts
What do you dislike about the product?
Deficult installation but after that easy to use and handle
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use starwind in project oil and gas to create databas on iscsi shared storage 4TB and make data shared between 2 managment servers VMS Milestone and keep system up achieve failover and redundancey


    Matt C.

StarWinds has the best support!

  • February 14, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Overall it was a great experience dealing with the various StarWind team members from the pre-sales all the way through to implementation. This was our first experience with a hyperconverged failover cluster and the team at StarWinds made it easy for us. Before making the choice we were weighing out all the cluster options and everything kept coming back to StarWinds. I'm glad it did as we definitely feel we made the right choice. We test live failovers every week and so far everything has been running smooth without anything unexpected. A special thank you to Hanna from the implementation team who was not only friendly and extremely patient through the process but also very knowledgeable.
What do you dislike about the product?
Pricing is a bit high but the support is worth it. It's really hard to point out any other negatives. I do think the licensing and support pricing structure could have been laid out a little simpler and then pricing could have been less of course but the truth is the support really does make up for the cost in our opinion. We did decide to go with 3 years of 24/7 support due to implementation in a critical communications center, but feel like we won't need to use them for much at all since the products just works. Because of this the pricing could have been better especially with us purchasing all 3 years at once.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We built a 2 server hyper-V failover cluster. We build typical servers like we normally would with NVME drives and plenty of storage. This software works hand in hand with Microsoft hyper-v failover manager for a seamless setup that has not given us any issues since implementation. Live failovers are tested every week and the customer does not even notice when the failovers are tested. The performance is exceptional and everything works as expected. We went ahead and got the 3 year 24/7 support contract since it's a critical customer. While the price is a bit steep this process and product has given us a lot of peace of mind that the servers will continue running even if one of the physical hosts go down.


    Jonathan A.

The right sized solution for our business

  • January 24, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The simplicity of the 2-node VSAN system was easy to get up and running and it was way more cost efficient than other solutions we explored.

The support engineer assigned to us was extremely helpful and always followed up. This is a rare thing to find with vendors, I'm very used to having to chase down people repeatedly to get issues resolved. This really made me feel confident with the product that I not only got quick replies but I feel like they care about customer service.
What do you dislike about the product?
The logs contain a password for the virtual appliance and present a security vunerability.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were interested in using the VMWare/Broadcom VSAN product but really struggled with the hardware requirements which were incredibly inflexible. Starwind VSAN offerred a solution that was flexible to the quantity of servers we budgeted for and didn't require us to over-invest into hardware we don't really need.


    Diogo Henrique C.

A tight, cost-effective SDS solution for SMBs

  • January 17, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It was really ease to set up and start testing. With a small VMware environment, we're able to promptly provide storage through Fibre Channel and measure performance, stability and reliability. In all those topics, Starwind VSAN was surprisingly good, not to mention the very welcoming and engaged customer support.
What do you dislike about the product?
Documentation would benefit from a revamp and a thorough update. Also, Deduplication would be a nice feature to be included
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It presents a really cost-effective alternative to behemoths like VMware vSAN. For SMBs, this is gold, since there's not many SMBs hanging with $100k+ to spend on software.


    Joshua G.

A very useful tool for several facets of IT

  • December 18, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to setup. Very robust in its offerings. Great customer support.
What do you dislike about the product?
We have no dislikes thus far with their virtual san solution.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We had several applications and servers in our test/dev environemnt that needed different types of storage options. StarWind Virtaul SAN allowed us to meet those needs in a cost-affordable manner. The fact it supports so many storage options was key for us.


    Chris G.

Simple, effective, and reliable

  • November 30, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
StarWind VSAN is a simple and effective product that is very reliable.
What do you dislike about the product?
There is nothing I dislike about StarWind VSAN.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
StarWind VSAN solves the problem of providing robust highly-available storage. It has allowed us to improve the reliability of our two-node cluster by removing a single point of failure.


    Johnny T.

User Experience of StarWind Virtual SAN

  • November 09, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the reliability of StarWind, the products never fail on our virtual host storage enviroment
What do you dislike about the product?
no at all to the funtionality, but if it can scale from the nodes number would be great, for example, 3-5nodes
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To enable VM storage across different clusters, a dedicated hardware and redundancy solution is typically required. However, StarWind Virtual SAN provides an alternative by allowing me to achieve this through a software approach. This minimizes the need for additional hardware and optimizes the utilization of each server.


    Bruno S.

A Seamless, Cost-effective, and Reliable Storage Solution

  • October 31, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I find StarWind Virtual SAN to be a user-friendly solution, with a straightforward installation process that's made even smoother thanks to the support provided.
The cost-effectiveness of this solution is a big plus, particularly for small businesses operating on limited IT budgets, as it doesn't require any expensive hardware.
What caught my attention was its hyperconverged approach, enhancing data recovery options, and providing efficient storage and backup solutions. I appreciate the customizable Software Defined Storage (SDS) and turnkey solutions offered to optimize storage capacity, ensure fault tolerance, and bolster infrastructure resilience.

The professionalism and reliability of the StarWind team are commendable, with stellar support that's always there when needed.

I value the high uptime, fault tolerance, and low latency ensured by this solution, making it a great fit for high-availability clusters without any complex setups. The positive ratings for integration and deployment further reflect a satisfactory overall experience with StarWind Virtual SAN, showcasing its reliable and effective solutions in managing storage and ensuring data recovery.
What do you dislike about the product?
There's a specific point about the vendor not recommending the use of broadcom network adapters which might be a limitation for some setups and for smaller organizations, the licensing costs can be prohibitive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
StarWind Virtual SAN has been a game changer for my organization, addressing our storage and data recovery concerns efficiently. Its hyperconverged approach simplifies managing our IT infrastructure, enhancing data recovery options and optimizing storage capacity.


    Information Technology and Services

Great product and nice and reliable team behind! Very professional

  • October 20, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The team was very reliable and helpful to answer an RFP and design a solution for our customer. They gave good hints how the network design should be done and what network adapters are not recommended. Very experienced! Clear pricing structure!
The deployment and maintenance is very easy and the scalability of the SAN is great!
What do you dislike about the product?
Only one point is not so nice. The vendor does not recommend to use broadcom network adapters. We currently cannot find other negative points.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starwind Virtual SAN improved our organization by giving us data backup and recovery options with their Virtual SAN Hyperconverged approach. We deployed the virtual appliance on our existing hardware and connected it with SFP+ Supermicro network adapters in a highly redundant scenario. We are convinced by Starwind so we are offering this to our customers as well. It improves our customers organizations as well. The product is highly scalable and can be enhanced anytime by adding more servers to the design.


    Ted D.

Starwind Virtual SAN - Reliable and Affordable!

  • September 27, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The sales side is knowledgeable about their products. The technical support side is outstanding.
What do you dislike about the product?
Some of the documentation could be improved.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
After virtualizing all of our systems (except for those with custom hardware) we needed to improve reliability. Moving to clustered virtual hosts was the logical next step. We reviewed hardware based shared storage solutions, and concluded that we could not afford them. We the reviewed software based shared storage solutions, and after evaluating several candidates, we settled on Starwind Software Virtual SAN. Factors that weighed heavily included longevity of the company, cost of the solution, availability of support, and reviews by technical personnel supporting the solution.