Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

StarWind Virtual SAN on Windows Server 2016

StarWind | 8.0.0.14398a

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows Server 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

40 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Pierre-Yves L.

Efficient And Cost Effective Solution

  • April 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Software was easy to install, support is top notch and overall solution proved to be much more cost effective than the competition
What do you dislike?
Slightly complex architecture Tooling spread across web UI + desktop client Requires a lot of network interfaces
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hyperconverging vSphere nodes storage without spending a fortune
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely a viable alternative to competitors product


    Luca B.

the solution for ROBO

  • April 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
i've experienced Starwind VSAN on two installations. the product himself is doing exactly what is promising, and in this time is not so obvious. well documented and with practical example. the performances are those that are claimed in their website. The sales chain is efficient and well prepared, the implementation was done directly by Starwind personnel and was straight forward. service is more than efficient, ready to help, highly skilled. and all this with a fraction of the cost of the competitor. strongly recommended
What do you dislike?
for my direct experience all the aspect are fine, from sales to service. just a little concerning for the pricong model change on VMware hypervisor
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
mainly the scope we was implementing VSAN was to eliminate the single point of failure represented by a normal shared storage in a vmware cluster, and tghis without having to use an enterprise graded storage that is in another range of cost


    Connor K.

Excellent VSAN software, very helpful support

  • April 07, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Support is exceptional and the product works well. We've not had any issues since implementing it into production two months ago.

It supports email notifications out of the box and once you understand how it works it's pretty flexible and easy to tinker with.

Pricing is also very simple, it's a perpetual license and you only pay a small fee to renew support.
What do you dislike?
Some of the documentation seems to be a bit older and refers to deprecated things. Wasn't a huge issue as the technician that walked me through the install was very knowledgeable and gave me a clear list of steps to take.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The goal was to maintain storage redundancy across both of our Hyper V hosts. We didn't want to go with the traditional three tier approach due to the added complexity and single point of failure introduced. This allows us to maintain full redundancy if any component of the two hosts fails.


    Ben M.

Excellent product that "does what it says on the tin"

  • April 07, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Starwind vSAN is easy to install and configure. The online white papers and 'recipe books' are really useful and, even for a complete novice, understandable. The GUI (Non-free) is comprehensive and easy to understand. The command line interface to the software is excellent - Powershell examples are provided. There is also an API for C# and VC++ , again examples are provided (I can't comment on those because I haven't used them). Performance is great - even on non 10GbE windows clusters - and I have never had working day congestion (the vSAN does log warnings when the hardware RAID controller is carrying out drive tests/patrol reads overnight, however as far as the cluster is concerned it is business as usual).
What do you dislike?
The only slight issue is that if you install the trial license and use the GUI to configure the system, you cannot fall back to the free license at the end of the trial. The product used to allow this (either by mistake or design) but, understandably, no longer does.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The systems in place were based on non clustered disparate, un-maintained and unmaintainable servers. We needed to remove these multiple points of failure so that the business has some assurance that things could not go wrong, or, if they did, there was some continuity in place.
There was no budget for a hardware SAN, or the servers to drive it, however using Starwind vSAN and refurbished servers provided a simple, reliable, two-node cluster for less than £5k (excluding Windows licensing).
Starwind vSAN software has proved completely reliable, and the support is excellent - we suffered power cuts (yes - at the time the business had also made the poor decision that UPS systems were not worth maintaining) which caused the vSAN to become un-usable, Starwind provided full support for sorting out the issue (discovering which copy of the HA images had the last write and re-synching them). Post-installation support is also excellent - they provide a thorough check up on the system once it is installed to ensure all current best practices are followed - and highlight where things could be improved/altered for getting the full performance from the product.


    Buddy W.

StarWind great ROI

  • March 30, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ability to use any hardware with their software. This allows me to design how powerful I need it, but also lets me shop for the best deals. It also allows me to have no hardware contracts.
What do you dislike?
Really there is not to dislike, it is very lightweight software that does its purpose. The only thing I would like to see is maybe some additional reporting via email or hardware snapshots supported by veeam.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Well we have replaced all other hardware based SAN systems, and therefore do not have our expensive support contracts. We are also able to grow our systems as needed.


    Information Technology and Services

StarWind Virtual SAN review

  • March 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The vendor assists you with deployment to make sure you are deploying according to vendor best practices. The price is very appealing compared to other virtual SAN products out there.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I dislike is the lack of webUI to check status. The utility is an installed program and has a learning curve for those non-technical folks who may want to use it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
HPE StoreVirtual is no longer available to buy or support. StorMagic, which is the HPE vendor replacement, is pricey. Starwind helped solve the problem for a typical SMB to make the jump to a hyperconverged environment.


    Hospital & Health Care

Starwind SAN review

  • March 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
After sales support, ease of implementation, cost effective
What do you dislike?
Nothing so far, this product has worked as advertised and expected.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
this product has been implemented to provide backup redundancy for our site.


    Justin G.

StarWind VSAN Makes Hyperconvergence Easy

  • March 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There is no extra storage needed to use StarWind VSAN. Everything is done on a host and defined in the software. It works great and is easy to setup. StarWin proactive support is always on top of everything.
What do you dislike?
The lack of a UI to manage the VSAN. However, StarWind is working on that. Also the inabliity to tranistion a free license to a paid license without having to completely rebuild your deployment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Before StarWind VSAN, I did not have any type of HA cluster. All my Hyper-V hosts were standalone. StarWind VSAN solves the problem without any kind of hardware lock in and with it's low impact, easy to configure VSAN solution. The benefits are obvious as now I have high availabity and scable storage all in individual hosts rather than using an inverted pyramid of doom.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Evaluate all your options. This is a great solution if you are using Hyper-V. It's easy to rollout and get going. Once implemented, it's nearly a set it and forget configuration until it's time to update the current build installed, and even that's pretty easy.


    Bob B.

StarWind Virtual SAN Provided an effective and cost-effective solution

  • February 01, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The support team helped us through the implementation - they were extremely knowledgeable. Everything worked as expected and then some. The cost of this solution versus a hardware appliance was significant.
What do you dislike?
nothing .. they exceeded all expectations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Upgrading an out-of-date architecture -- including migration from VMware to Hyper-V. Windows 2012R2 to Windows 2019. Replacing VNXe3100.


    Nick C.

Great Product

  • February 01, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I was able to purchase refurbished hardware that works perfectly in my environment, saving money and saving unnecessary spending on new hardware
What do you dislike?
The only negative I can think of has not even happened yet. One time calling in for support, the technician was pretty hard to understand, with the accent he had. I would fear that if there were a significant issue, he would have to talk me through step by step, and I would not understand the steps he was telling me. But, with the few times we have needed support, they could remote in and do everything they needed to.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I had two stand-alone hosts and was replicating back and forth, so I had "updated" copies of each VM, on each host, in case of disaster. It was a slow, bulky, cheap DR plan, but it was a plan. Starwinds allows me to have fully synchronized VM's available during a planned or unplanned outage. I can also do all my maintenance on each host during the business day, and the end-users don't even notice it. Host updates are applied quickly, and a loss of a single host will not have near the impact on my organization as it would before.