Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

StarWind Virtual SAN on Windows Server 2016

StarWind | 8.0.0.13586

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows Server 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

29 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Pusker G.

Solif product for cost

  • October 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its a Solid Product. Easy to use and they have a good support team.
What do you dislike?
Not that i can think of. Overall we are very happy with the purchase
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
High avaibility.


    Chemicals

StarWind vSAN Post-Install Review

  • September 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great customer service before purchase, during setup, and after purchase. The system is very easy to use, it just takes a little time to understand how the system works if you come from a NAS or SAN setup. Performance is good, customizability of hardware is great (and great guidance from the StarWind staff), reliability and resiliency to failures has been perfect, and there is very little maintenance.
What do you dislike?
Some of the documentation could be clearer (how the software is designed, power loss graceful shutdown, and testing).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were going through a hardware refresh for running vSphere. We wanted a system with higher performance and reduced single points of failure. Starwind vSAN provides us with reduced hardware (only server nodes, no separate storage or storage switches needed) reducing racking complexity (i.e.: running wiring), reduced single points of failure (no more single SAN as a failure point), better performance by providing storage in a "Direct Attached" method, and easier maintenance since there is no longer any storage or storage related networking to deal with.


    Shawn D.

Great product, great support

  • August 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of installation. Starwind engineers take care of the operation from start to finish. They know what they are doing and work quickly. The technology is great; it's very aware of itself and can alert when there is an issue.
What do you dislike?
I haven't come across anything yet. We have been using the software for almost a year, and it has been very reliable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problem solved is creating a cluster without having to use a SAN. The benefit is using existing hardware to maximize its potential.


    Food & Beverages

Excellent VSAN solution!

  • July 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The software works flawlessly! Installlation was easy with their very qualified support engineers there to assist with the entire process. We were able to create a very cost effective cluster solution utilizing local NVMe storage instead of creating an external SAN. The design is simple and easy to maintain.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike! The system runs without requiring any tweaks or adjustments.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Replaced a non-clustered solution with a Starwind VSAN. Provides us with zero downtime which is important when running a 24/7 manufacturing facility. With a limited budget the Starwind VSAN allowed us to use very fast local NVMe storage on each node and they are kept in sync.


    Claude H.

Think you cannot afford a SAN? Call StarWind.

  • July 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Price and hardware requirments flexibility.
Support, incredible fast response to support requests such as size increase of VSAN or assistance connecting to a new VMware device. If your skills are not perfect with the product StarWind support does not care and always comes through with a succesful outcome.
Speed of implementation.
Security, simple windows server to host the StarWind software, easy to secure.
Reliability, have had zero failures of the product because of the product itself. It just runs like a never stopping clock. Perfection.
What do you dislike?
I do not have a dislike. I am not kidding the software was installed and just works. Whats not to like?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My company was in desperate need of a SAN for our VCSA VMware environment. I was going to purchase VMware's VSAN but the price of the new up hardware was making the purchase approval by managment an issue.
With StarWind I was able to get an ultra-reliable VSAN running on gen8 HPE hardware with no problem.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Price, you can get into a small sized redundant VSAN sub 5k with used equipment.
Support, you do not need to be an expert on the setup. Starwind does everything, guiding you on each step if its a physical step or logged in remote to do it themselves.


    Higher Education

StarWind virtual SAN - huge bang for the buck

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is simple and runs on standard hardware. It is reliable and has great support. It does what it is supposed to do without the angst I felt with the previous EMC solution when it wouldn't work properly and support had a hard time figuring out why.
What do you dislike?
No real downsides for my environment. For large environments, its use of standard server hardware might not be sufficient. Ours runs on Windows, although there is now a Linux version
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have three Starwind SANs which are providing shared storage for our VMWare ESXi hosts. We switched from FC to iSCSI with their install and are seeing great cost savings from not having to support FC anymore.


    Grzegorz M.

Good performance and stability in relative low price

  • June 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
StarWind Virtual SAN is for me easy to underatsnd, to configure and to use.
What do you dislike?
In path Server/Configuration/Event Notifications/Action we could configure an e-mail address. But unfortunately there was no place to write login and password of sender. So this only colud be use in internal company e-mail server. All public e-mail servers require that the sender logs in.
But in last update this problem is solved and now I can use public e-mail addresses. so now there is nothing to dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our company exists since 1991.
Among others we also run a business of alarm monitoring central station.
Because of this alarm monitoring central station we need fully redundant system of data collecting and processing. Even a single minutes of interruption in signal receiving and/or processing could cause very big problem.

Several years ago we used cluster of 2 windows servers with shared storage system on a single SAN. On theme was working clustered SQL server with database mirroring. Every part of system was redundant except of SAN.
It was almost satisfying.
This time we did not use VMs except for testing purpose.

Everey cluster server system we know needs shared storage system. Cluster server system could be fully redundant, but this redundancy is worth nothing without redundant storage system. (Actually I heard newest windows server supports solution similar to starwind, but I’m not sure).
We had a single SAN system. As a single, SAN was not redundant. But we needed redundant storage system. We always were afraid that once upon a time our SAN will stop to work…
We off course had backups, but it was not enough.
What we needed was the system with no data loss in case of issue and with no interruption (or only several seconds of interruption) in data processing.
We were looking for relative simple and not very expensive solution.
Actually I don’t know why StarWind. I was looking for solution using Google. StarWind was first system I found that gave me a hope. When I did some tests with StarWind I stopped to look for anything more.
Now we have redundant storage system, so our cluster system is fully redundant.
As we bought two 2-nodes Starwind V-san licenses (one for Electronics Box and other one for Monitoring Łódzki) we have now 2 clusters of two nodes Windows Hyper-V servers with StarWind V-san working as hosts.
Both clusters are in different locations (same city but couple of miles far one to another). Both locations are connected with rented 100 Mb/s optical fiber connection.
On the host clusters are running several clustered VMs. Among VMs we have 2 nodes SQL cluster with Always On High Availability.
As disaster recovery VMs running on one of locations are replicated on another one.


    Alan S.

Best HA Solution

  • May 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Firstly, I be remiss if I didn't comment on their excellent support. Forget about the nightmare of language barriers or support staff not up to the task. Every support tech we spoke with was very capable of handling the issue.
Secondly, their product is rock solid and flexible. It also allows you to build with your own hardware, or opt for an appliance. Did I mention flexible?
What do you dislike?
I honestly have no complaints whatsoever. A+ company.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were solving th eproblems and complexities of delivering reliable HA with our platform. The benefits are CUstom built hardware for our unique requirements and a cost factor that provided the best ROI of all the solutions considered... by thousands of dollars.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Compare the Appliances and also consider building your own custom solution with Virtual SAN.


    Isaiah J.

StarWind helped us solve all our project needs

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Their onboarding process connected us with a technician who helped get us going quickly and in a best-practice manner that was incredibly helpful to us.
What do you dislike?
We really have not had any complaints. The system is intuitive, and once set up, we have not had any production issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
StarWind met our need for shared storage for our Hyper-Visors within the budget limitations we had. The replication allows us a form of "back-up" with copies of our data on multiple servers in our environment allowing for faster restore than going to long-term backups too.


    Dan H.

StarWind vSAN was the right choice for us

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
StarWinds was a cost-saving storage option. Support is top-notch and extremely helpful. I love having the vSAN as local storage to free up rack space.
What do you dislike?
Having a vSAN was a learning curve for me over a physical SAN. While minor, I was not expecting the hardware changes on my host.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
StarWinds is providing me with full redundancy for my storage network connections. Forced with either a high-cost, full-redundant SAN or an affordable vSAN from StarWinds was a logical choice.