Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veeam Backup for AWS FREE Trial & BYOL Edition

Veeam Software | 2.0.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

60 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Kumaralingan S.

Powerful automated Disaster Recovery tool

  • July 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Veeam Backup is perfect automated Disaster Recovery tool, we helps to move the bulk data to another place, very user friendly software, we have been using this tool more than three years. Ability to work with any kind of virtualization platforms such as VMware, Microsoft. implementation and maintenance is very easy. Also Veeam Backup solution sends the notification once the Job is completed, which helps lot to know the backup status
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike, As we are happy with Veeam software features, But comparing with other products veeam prices is quite high.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Veeam helps to send our organization daily data backup to DR site, which is automated and happening mid-nite. User friendly solution, Learning process take only few mints. ideal solution to handle the Bulk data. Also Replication process also easy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I like to recommend this tool to others also


    Andrew Y.

Enterprise Grade Backup and Replication Software

  • July 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Veeam is a highly customize-able and flexible backup software. It supports the two primary virtualization platforms that we encounter (Hyper-V and VMware), and has many, many options for storage repositories.
We love that we can pick between cloud storage, WAN accelerated offsite storage, VM replication, iSCSI targets, or even SMB connected NAS devices.

Since this is a software based backup solution, you are not tied to a single appliance, and it is much easier to scale Veeam with the proper implementation.
What do you dislike?
The wealth of configuration can cause issues with engineers not totally familiar with the setup and use of Veeam. It is important to carefully review the design and implementation of Veeam to ensure that it is completed properly.
The fact that Veeam is software only is great, but it does also mean you must provide a matching solution for backup proxies, backup server, and repositories. These can all translate to increased costs for the client, and can push out some of the smaller sized businesses who can't afford to properly implement Veeam or take full advantage of the features offered.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Standard backups, offsite storage, failover and VM replicas, cloud storage, and more are handled easily by Veeam.
The application aware backups make restoring files, settings, and whole VMs a breeze. The change block tracking option for restoration means that a large VM can be easily restored much faster than some other backup software which must restore the entire virtual hard drive.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Download the free trial of Veeam, and review the knowledge base to set up a test.


    Oil & Energy

Excelent recovery option

  • June 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
BAckup Azure
REplication
Recovery server and file server
license flexibility
What do you dislike?
Everythink is good in this backup software
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
REcovery VMDK disk
Recovery virtual Server
REcovery file from backup
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a excelent backup software,easy configuration and support is fast in resolve problem.


    Tim S.

Simple, Effective and Reliable!

  • June 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Veeam Backup and Replication is easy to use, fairly straightforward to deploy and works flawlessly.
What do you dislike?
Upgrades sometimes need a little assistance from support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Veeam B&R saves time and money backing up our infrastructure. Backups are always trustworthy. I have yet to have a backup not work as anticipated when doing a restore.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try. You won't regret it.


    Cal

Great product, easy to setup and deploy

  • April 22, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We moved our on premise servers to AWS when Covid started and have used Veeam for our backups in the past. We set our backups up in Veeam Backup for AWS in under an hour and were backed up shortly thereafter. Lots of options for backups, easy to setup and deploy. Highly recommended.


    Thijs v.

One of the best solutions to use for your modern backups

  • April 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Veeam is easy to use and maintain. It is very simple to setup without too many components, backups can be moved easily (in case you want to move them off-site) and it is very fast due to direct integration with storage vendors. The option to protect physical devices is a very big plus. Veeam listens to the customer although it can take quite some time before requested features are added to the software.
What do you dislike?
The licensing structure is very unclear. As a customer we are struggling with the amount of options, resellers and pricing. Overall it is unclear what is the most efficient option for you. Nearing the end of your contract you are continuously chased by sales representatives to renew your contract. These representatives constantly change and there is always pressure (your contract is going to be more expensive) which can be tiresome at times.

Veeam has a tight integration with VMware, but when Vmware releases a new version it really takes quite a lot of time before Veeam supports it, usually with the first new version being buggy as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to solve the possible loss of data. VM's and data (both on-premises and cloud) are protected, varying from accidental deletion to recovery of bare-metal VM's. Since the recent ransomware attacks on Dutch universities, we are looking into ransomware-safe backup solutions as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It can be very difficult for organizations to look beyond their existing backup solutions. Many of those are old or extended based upon legacy technology. Veeam started from scratch years ago so it is relatively young.


    Michael S.

Excellent Backup Tool and a MUST HAVE!

  • April 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
If you run a VMWare Virutal Environment Veeam Backup and Replication is the tool you need to streamline all of your backup jobs as well as replications. This is a worry free tool which makes the headaches of keeping backups and replication jobs organized and maintained. This solution is also a great teaching tool for any young system administrators who are new to backing up and restoring VM's. It's built in wizard lay out all of the necessary information allowing for any admin to orgainzed when creating backup jobs as well as tracking them through logs. Moreover, the most important part about Veeam and where I believe it shines is during restoration of VMs. In a critical situation Veeam makes restoring VM's very fool proof at the click of just a few buttons you've saved a burning environment.
What do you dislike?
Veeam has very little disadvantages and during the time that we've used it in our company, its been very difficult to find anything wrong with it. The best part about Veeam is their stance behind their product. In the event there are any issues with configuration, Veeam Support is one call away.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Veeam not only are we able to streamline our backup jobs and keep them organized through out each of our data centers. We are able to keep a consistent scheduling to ensure that we are never without backups of any machine in our virtual environment. We have also been able to do carryout a large scale data center migration with the help of Veeam Backup and Replication. As we backup servers in one datacenter we are able to easily replicate and restore them into other datacenters we have integrated with Veeam. This eliminates high utilization of bandwidth between our datacenters to transfer VM's while backing them up at the same time.


    Insurance

Fast backup and replication solution

  • January 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You can quickly replicate servers.
The menu is very simple and useful.
With workstation backup, you can take backups as user profile or partition.
In the active directory restore process, you can bring back a user simply deleted via the interface.
Easy to upgrade
Support team is easily accessible
Quick solutions to problems
What do you dislike?
When a server is removed from the replication group and added again, it is necessary to replicate that server with a new name.
With workstation backup, agents can be disrupted spontaneously on the PCs that are backed up.
Should have a detailed report screen
Statistics screen should be more understandable
May not detect the number of restore points in workstation backups.
I also think it should be a little cheaper.
We are unable to replicate some high capacity servers when not supporting Rdm disks.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We replicate server backups to the structure created for the disaster site. it was a great convenience as far as we can see in these disaster tests.
With the active directory backup process, we can easily restore deleted or changed users.
At the same time, we store user profile backups on their PCs with workstation backup.
I am sure the exchange backup data restore process would be very useful, but we cannot use this feature because it is an RDM disk.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The product is very useful but has its shortcomings. I think it will be better as the updates continue. it works quite well for us.


    Stephen H.

Excellent solution for backup.

  • January 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Really easy to use, even if you were not used. Good operating system, hypervisor and server compatibility (physical or virtual). Good technical assistance and time for response. Brand updates and new releases are updated continuously. Veeam has the best prices and affiliate services with other similar tools.
What do you dislike?
It would be interesting if Veeam could boost the reclamation process by low-level replication from snapshot to byte. Cloud connecting consoe works well, but for Cloud Service Providers, there are certain limitations, for example, if a cloud development environment is given to a private cloud client and they need a DRP at other location in a region, cloud connecting enables the client to see all the locators behind the service provider's hypervisor.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Veeam offers reliable backup on our servers. You can save the server, backup a SQL server, and choose the DB you want to restore instead of the whole server if you need to rebuild it. It's very easy to use and everybody knows how it works.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want quick backup management, you need to use Veeam software. Thanks to productivity, solidity and easy to use, I do not lose sleep at night. I strongly advise that this product be introduced.


    Computer Software

Ottimo software per backup di piccole e medie infrastrutture

  • December 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
E' estremamente semplice da configurare ma nel contempo è molto potente, consente di effettuare la pianificazione di backup e repliche di file o di interi server in maniera rapida ed efficace.
What do you dislike?
L'interfaccia utente è parzialmente ambigua nella definizione dello scheduling dei backup incrementali e differenziali. Si potrebbe migliorare questo dettaglio in modo da evitare errori nella configurazione della pianificazione.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ho testato Veeam e successivamente l'ho inserito in produzione per svariati mesi. Il restore è sempre stato semplice e perfettamente funzionante.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Veeam è decisamente un'ottima osluzione per realizzare una infrastruttura di backup in maniera autonoma, rapida, potente ed affidabile. Oltretutto è veramente semplice ed intuitivo da amminstrare.