Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 8.0 ENA Enabled Minimal

Technology Leadership Corporation | CentOS 8.0 ENA Enabled

Linux/Unix, CentOS 8.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

246 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Srinatha P.

CentOS - A perfect OS for Servers

  • June 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Security features, ease of use, updated software versions
What do you dislike?
Not enough documentation, mostly need to depend on StackOverflow or server fault.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Webservers installation has been more straightforward compared to ubuntu.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
its a little bit different if you have used ubuntu prior, but its worth the effort


    User in Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Linux based Operating System that works very well with very few issues

  • May 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You really can't be the cost. It's free. If you know Linux, then this free Operating System will work perfectly as a fully functional server.
What do you dislike?
You have to know Linux to make it work for you effectively. There is a learning curve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can produce fully functional production servers with just about any application installed on them. Currently, we mainly are using SQL
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The install is pretty straight forward. If you are learning Linux, then you will quickly get to the operating system and start the learning process


    shoeb a.

Secured Flavour of Linux OS by RED HAT

  • May 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The main thing of this version of LInux is it is an open source which can be afford by small, medium and larger enterprises. Also the reason is CentOS is having less package updates compared to UBUNTU and others.It is forked from Red Hat enterprise Linux.We have to use the Yum command to download and install RPM packages from central repository. CentOS is highly customizable and it has been secure of all other flavours. It has taken a very good lead over Ubuntu. There are many premium features associated with it for the scalability at the higher organizational levels. We are using CentOS version in many of our servers and also in virtual servers as well. This can be integrated with multiple other softwares easily.
What do you dislike?
This would be a bit difficult for the beginners to work on it. Compare to other OS versions CentOS is having lesser tutorials and also online communities or books. This doesnt have much support in terms of cloud platforms. As there are less updates being pushed in CentOS, if any new applications needs to install we'll face a problem with their version not supporting. Need to have only Yum manager otherwise no other flavours will work.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are solving the problems of deploying this CentOS into multiple servers. As we have irrespective of physical or virtual servers by deploying at once using kickstart or other servers. Security of our environment with the help of OS. As less updates are being pushed we don't need to request app owners for the downtime in every few days. If there is any buggy update we can roll back to the previous version easily. Support from the CPANEL is also available in CentOS. Though it is a bit tough to learn and work on it for beginners CPANEL support is somewhat relief and helpful for them. We can download DEB packages easily from apt-get package manager. There won't be any slowness while using applications in this OS and also no hidden applications will be running in the background without our approval to consume most of our bandwidth. Deployment time is really less compared to others for this. Though we took help of the vendor for deployment but most of the part we did on our own.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please consider this one over UBUNTU because of packages to be installed and also frequent updates issues. Also this resolves security and compatability issues.


    Clarissa N.

Great!

  • May 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love making virtual machines of CentOS and just being creative with each. It is a great learning platform for anyone who wants to learn! If you are in IT and going for certifications like Linux+, definitely recommend CentOS. I love how in Linux, generally it is very easy to get the hang of it. With some code, it is difficult to remember some syntax while on CentOS is to like you are talking in plain English.
What do you dislike?
Nothing! It is great, honestly. You can use it for anything you want. I would need more time on CentOS to really think of something I dislike about it, but honestly, it is great.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Right now, I am learning Linux, and I build a CentOS virtual machine, so I am just doing the basics like going into files, renaming files, adding files, and learning other commands, and just applying what I know to understand.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For those who are learning, please let others in the community know where they can go to for help or show them how to navigate CentOS. If you are considering CentOS, definitely try putting it on a virtual machine and mess around with it. It is easy to get the hang of if you put your mind to it.


    Saqib M.

My organization's favorite Linux OS

  • May 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is an opensource Linux operating system. However, it is highly stable and reliable despite being an opensource OS. if you need to spin up a server with Linux that should be free, stable, highly reliable, and is based on RedHat, go with CentOS. In my organization, we use either Ubuntu or CentOS. However, most of our Linux servers are CentOS as they are better in terms of manageability, control, and security. CentOS are shipped with SELinux which makes the security of the services hosted on your linux box more secure. Although the update releases are very infrequent, the OS and upgrages are very stable. I personally never had any issue with any upgrade that was made to CentOS boxes. There was no instance where we had to roll back the uograde due to some failures or downtime. CentOS is supported by the RedHat community and is compatible with all the enterprise/business related appication that your organization may need a linux box for.
What do you dislike?
Low documentation and small development community is one the downsides of CentOS. Updates and patches come out once in a while. Not enough Knowledge Base articles are found on the internet either. The only support you could provide to youe CentOS is by yourself by looking up articles on internet. There is no customer support for the CentOS unlike RedHat. This is fine if you want to save licenses cost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS operating system for our Linux needs in my organization. We host different kinds of services, from webservers to kubernetes clusters, on the CentOS servers. CentOS saves us the licensing cost. If my organization had to go with RedHat, we would have paid a fortune for licenses. CentOS comes with all the features like RedHat but at the cost of infrequent patches and updates.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is a Free and strong Linux operating system and will meet your requirements most of the times without paying for any license. If you're fine with infrequent updates and patches for linux and want to save money by not paying for licenses, CentOS may be a good choice for you.


    Suresh k.

The CentOS

  • May 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has good security features and a lot of packages are available for use.
What do you dislike?
It take usually more space than other linux version and less user friendly as compare to other.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it for creating our hosting servers.


    Sumit K.

CentOS: stable, reliable, and secure Linux distribution

  • April 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's open-source and that's the best thing about it. It's also brother of RedHat if you don't wanna spent money on RedHat license then go for Centos.
What do you dislike?
Default GUI is not very good but you can install other GUI's.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Centos for my personal use and i configured and installed all the NoSql databases and also created CDH cluster using five centos servers.


    Arvind S.

First step to learn redhat

  • April 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Similar to RedHat without any fee, easy to install and use.
What do you dislike?
Repository doesn't contain all the softwares
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Learning the redhat and testing the new application in Dev environment


    Jose C.

The free software of moment

  • April 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love this software because it Is the base plataform of all the software that i use anda above allí it Is friendly with the servers that i use, taking inti account that ir Is free,it Is robusto and solid
What do you dislike?
I do not like that it has updates that área not controlled since something The last deliverables of the versións áre not tested and there may be inconssistencies in their implementation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS allows me to have control of my software s. And specially of the plataforma of either database of internal anda External , applications of my company , saving the cost of renting outsourced services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I can recommend it since for the entire technomogical platform it Is indispensable AND necesary , every enginner should try this software.


    Игорь .

Great distro with the promising future!

  • March 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Stability, good compatibility with different software and hardware, good support of Virtualization & Different VMs (VMware ESXi, Citrix Xen Server, Microsoft Hyper-V etc.), huge repository, compatibility with RHEL & Fedora packages & repositories, free license. The main positive sides of this distro are its scalability, free of charge, compatibility with the whole family of RPM-like distributions (RHEL, Fedora, Mageia, SUSE, OpenSUSE and its derivations).
What do you dislike?
Moving to the rolling release model by RedHat decision: https://lists.centos.org/pipermail/centos-announce/2020-December/048208.html
Complicated migrations between major releases (e.g. some issues might appear while migrating or updating the distribution from version 7.x to 8.x, or 8 to 8.3).
Unexpected early end of support for CentOS 8.3
Difficulties with the usage of Microsoft technologies ASP, ASP.NET, Access, etc. If your project contains, for example, ASP.NET scripts, then certain problems may arise in the operation of the system on CentOS. Although this problem can be solved by fine-tuning and installing packages of additional, and often proprietary, software, this method is undesirable when running servers with increased stability requirements.
Another minor problem is the rather low update rate with help of YUM.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS Linux is indeed a very stable & reliable system for server & workstations usage - it's free and despite that, has good scalability, perfect stability & low consumption of the hardware-resources. With the help of CentOS, we have successively deployed several testing & reporting platforms, such as ManageEngine ServiceDeskPlus and OTRS for internal usage between our colleagues & virtualized these solutions with the help of VMware ESXI & Citrix Xen Server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This distro is tailor-made for busyness projects & large-scale applications, it is worth trying and create your own opinion and your own unique way of its usage.