Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 8.4 Minimal with default Python v3.9

Technology Leadership Corporation | CentOS 8.4 Minimal with default Python v3.9

Linux/Unix, CentOS 8.4 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

268 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Accounting

Amazing!

  • September 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have to say what I enjoy the most working with this product has got to be just the way that it has an overall easiness of operation for anybody who is trying to use it.
What do you dislike?
For me the dislikes would be very minimal,if anything at all I could say maybe that the speed could increase if I was really going to nitpick.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
So for our company the problems that this solves for us are honestly so amazing. When we switched over to start using this everything just worked so much better!


    Computer Networking

CentOS 7 provides a very stable development environment

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that they backport all relevant security patches into long-term versions of most packages
What do you dislike?
I don't like the fact that the user experience leaves a lot to be desired
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am solving appliance problems, ie, building repeatable, packageable solutions using CentOS that are quick & easy to deploy. The benefits realized include the fact that I can quickly spin up CentOS solutions for my products in a new environment quickly and easily without having to tweak things much if any.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are considering CentOS for an "appliance" or development system, you are doing very well. It will not let you down.


    ALTHAF A.

Lightweight Linux based distro for office works!!

  • August 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a free operating system, it is very easy to use and has a simple UI. We can easily install many free office softwares and also supports browsers like chrome firefox etc. We can manage user access very easily and also it does not have any frequent annoying updates.
What do you dislike?
I don't dislike anything but I have experienced some difficulties while installing some drivers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is a very reliable Operating System. I dont have to take premium subscriptions and paid plans for using my essential office applications as free and opensource alternatives are available on CentOS.It has a good community support also.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOs has proved to be a very useful OS for managing my business needs as well as for programming. Our System does not require much processing capabilities for running. Since it is a opensource operating system it is free from viruse attacks and malware threats. It also has a good command line interface. Programmers can Code,run and execute their programms very easily


    Shivam S.

Stable OS in comparison with multiple flavours of linux

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Centos is very secure and stable,As it belongs to OS family Red Hat Enterprises Linux due to which we got lots of security updates in very short period of time and it becomes a great choice for all the users.
What do you dislike?
It is more like server than desktop oriented as the server system ages it doesn't get many new features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Packages installation with the centos are very promising and secure in order to get updates from the system.


    GOURI S.

CentOs Operating system for Servers

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about CentOs is that it is very easy to use, easy to code and very easy to understand. I liked the nohup part of the OS, where i can easily run the process in the background.
What do you dislike?
What I don't like about CentOs is that in putty, it quickly timed out, and my connection gets lost. Once the root access is gone, then it is very tough to recover.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used multiple CentOS servers for creating the python Flask application and hosted the application on the public IP of the server.


    Information Technology and Services

CentOS - Adequate

  • August 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked the fact that it was incredibly easy to get up and started and running. Nice little free and lightweight linux distro.
What do you dislike?
Support hasn't been great - while it is affiliated with RHEL it has always been underserved by the OpenSource community.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Good distro for Docker Engine to run some containers. We used it to deploy containers within a test environment.


    Asif A.

A stable open source operating system

  • August 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a free and open source operating system.The operating system is very stable and reliable for longer periods.It has good community forums, discussions rooms for better user experience
What do you dislike?
CentOS doesn't have frequent updates.Usually their packages comes with most bug fixes but I have experienced certain issues with driver installations recently
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I don't have to pay for using softwares.The operating system is light, stable and easy to use.We can use Firefox,Knome, LibreOffice and other free OfficeSuite apps easily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for stable Operating system , CentOS is one of the best to choose from.We can also manage filesystem,access control right from the command line interface.We can also install different softwares,packages like any other Linux distribution.


    Mir M.

Centos is Best

  • August 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User-friendly and Excellent performance also for a newbies who wants to learn linux specially Red Hat based He/She can start from Centos
What do you dislike?
At time of using nmap I have faced some Firewall permission issues
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Practing Linux and learning System Administrator tasks

I have realized many benefits


    Ashwin G.

An operating system designed for stability and reliability

  • July 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Most of the organisations still heavily rely on CentOS to host business critical applications. CentOS has been a time trusted operating system from RedHat until they decided that the operating system will be a rolling release.
What do you dislike?
The major expectation from an operating system for running production workloads is that the underlying kernel and platform must be highly secure, stable, and scalable. However, with the recent developments, users are pushed to look for better alternatives for better security rollout cadence and long term support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We host our mission critical customer facing portals and operations scheduling applications on CentOS. Most of the times, we have encountered zero downtimes when applying patches, upgrades and updating native libraries. We have derives numerous benefits over the years.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For organisations still considering CentOS, I would recommend using CentOS 7, where you get community support for the next 5 years at the most. You get ample time to explore other alternatives in this timeframe.


    David W.

CentOS - the enterprise Linux for everybody

  • July 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a community-based enterprise version of Linux, which is essentially Red Hat Enterprise Linux but without Red Hat's proprietary items. It's functionally compatible with RHEL. It gives you enterprise Linux with no cost.
What do you dislike?
CentOS always lagged behind RHEL because, of course, it needed RHEL to be released first.

However, it's been discontinued by IBM since Dec 2020, so you are now better served by following RockyLinux or AlmaLinux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS provides you the security and quality of Red Hat's enterprise-grade Linux. This includes the additional security, hardening, and functionality that the most demanding customers require, but yet with the pricetag of any other free Linux.