Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7

Cognosys Inc. | CentOS 7 V1.0.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

199 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jenn C.

CentOS experience

  • September 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I use the command line a lot and the centos interface is pretty good for that.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that Google Chrome browser is not compatible with CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My job is highly computational so this allows me to use a variety of computational analysis tools.


    Derek H.

A great option for most SMBs

  • September 22, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy package management, software updates, and administration.
What do you dislike?
Initial setup can be painful on SOME hardware. Usually this isn't a big problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have used CentOS for many of our more cost-conscious clients who are in need of a reliable server. It allows us to use very affordable hardware to produce an effective solution.


    Retail

The Best Server Distro we find

  • September 18, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this distribution for the simple way to install and configure
What do you dislike?
The graphical interface could be better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Server Side testing envirronment with upgrading online


    Government Administration

Lightweight OS for Development Purposes

  • August 02, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The speed of the OS amkes everything you do very simple and basic. It offers a lot of functionality for inner code development and has a user-friendly UI.
What do you dislike?
The look could use some updates and the process of automatic updates could be improved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Programming Development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
While it is very good for what it is, a development platform with plethora of development tools, it could use a few updates.


    Michael S.

CentOS 7

  • July 28, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS 7 is like a rock it just works, I have tried them all, well almost. But I away's come back to CentOS.
What do you dislike?
Won't run with VT-d enabled in the BIOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Good development tools pre-installed.


    Md Safiyat R.

Amazing distro for production environments.

  • May 23, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The stability and support from the CentOS community. Also, the plethora and quality of tools available in the original release. nmcli truly saved my day.
What do you dislike?
Takes some time to get used to the new operating system. A lot of common tools have different output formats which makes it a little uncomfortable to use. Also, takes time to get used to the alternate tools as compared to Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We host our company's repository and web server on CentOS servers. They are more secure than Ubuntu servers. We also used CentOS for network testing with specialized hardware.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great operating system. A little difficult at first to adapt to, coming from Ubuntu, but is way streamlined as compared to Ubuntu. Worth a try at the very least.


    Vlad V.

Good if you need RedHat compatibility

  • May 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
RedHat compatibility
Easy upgrade path to commercial alternative, if you need
OpenSource
What do you dislike?
Administration is more cumbersome than Ubuntu Server.
Breaking package changes
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
WebServer: Tomcat, Jboss, PHP
Certification Authority: EJBCA
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you don't need RedHat compatibility, go with Ubuntu Server LTS; otherwise CentOS is still a good distro


    Internet

Great stable server environment

  • April 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Great server os for host web applications and services..
package updates using yum are easy to use.
stable and tons of community support
secure
fast and scalable
easy to maintain and manage
easy install to get up and running
What do you dislike?
there is really nothing i dislike. i have been using this distro for over 10 years on probably 20 servers
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use centos to run all my web applications, my databases, my web services. The benefits of centos is i have a stable secure environment to run my apps
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you want a great linux server for webapps or databases, centos is a great choice


    Higher Education

Simple OS

  • March 28, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, and versatile enough to get the job done that we need it to. I like having resources available for Red Hat that carry over to CentOS. I was also impressed with how simple it was to setup a secure web server. We have several web servers that run various services for our institution. Each server (knock on wood!) has been bullet proof with minimal problems.
What do you dislike?
They do not release new versions as often as I would like, but it is certainly not a deal breaker.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using it for several web servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a simple, fast, and reliable operating system to run a Linux environment in. I feel it is a no brainer to go with CentOS.


    Hospital & Health Care

CentOS

  • February 15, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
complete
productivity
Adaptable
Free Software
Stable
Linux
Stable
Network
consistent interface
Free for Use
What do you dislike?
Not Easy Configuration
Use too much memory
Base on Unix environment platform only
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
fit the servers needs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
stable