Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7

Cognosys Inc. | CentOS 7 V1.0.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

199 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Bill S.

CentOS - great old standby

  • December 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS works with RPM and YUM and a lot of legacy software. For command line use it is fast and easy. For graphical use (X-Windows, etc) there are better solutions on the market.
What do you dislike?
Updates can be slow in coming out. There was once a gap of over a year. It is much more regular now and seems to be likely to continue in foreseeable future.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mainly hosting requirements. CentOS works well with a LAMP stack configuration but can be somewhat difficult to reconfigure to other needs. One thing though is it has always been possible to do, just not easy. Other solutions that CentOS has provided include SAMBA services and other terminal type applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is best to consider your requirements when choosing a Linux flavor. CentOS meets my needs for LAMP stack configurations but not so much for other needs.


    Information Technology and Services

Bes Open Source Operating System

  • November 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very stable, robust and scalable. Free RHEL
What do you dislike?
Might be scary for beginners, knowledge of linux required
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Call Center, Monitoring Tool


    Computer Hardware

Free. Enterprise-grade. Can't go wrong here.

  • November 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, dead-nuts reliable, great security options.
What do you dislike?
I like this Linux distribution just fine. Can't say that I dislike anything.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using this in HPC applications. Works well for what we need it to do.


    Charles J.

A top notch operating system at a low price

  • November 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is almost an exact clone of Red Hat Linux. So you get everything you would if you paid the price for a Red Hat License. However, it is free.
What do you dislike?
They don't have x86 versions of the distribution another. Which is a trend will all operating systems, but still I have a few cases where the x64 version will not install on the hardware I have.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In my particular case I use CentOS as my testing platform for ideas that we might end up using in Production at work. At home, I use it to keep my Linux skills fresh and to practice for certification tests.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is too easy to try this product out. It is free. It is easy to download from the web. And it will install on almost anything. If you are thinking of switching to Linux this the platform to try out first.


    Information Technology and Services

Centos for in house server

  • November 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to set up especially with all the tutorials online. Even with zero knowledge of the OS, you can easily deploy a centos server copying and pasting commands from online tutorials. Best of all, its free!
What do you dislike?
It can get quite confusing when something doesnt work as you would expect it to. Because it is all command line operations, it can take a bit of tinkering to do simple tasks as you would on mac and windows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used a windows server based server to host our inhouse web server and wed have problems with our mysql and mssql database when used with ms access. We eliminated this problem by strictly using mysql and recreated our order management software in php. Much faster read and write operations and easy to set up security


    Anshul J.

A stable production ready Operating System

  • October 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Stability and performance are the best features of the CentOS. There is no bloatware.
What do you dislike?
It is mainly targeted towards servers. Many desktop applications cannot run out of the box and is not recommended for beginners.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Implemented a production hadoop cluster. The operating system in use was CentOS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is intended for server use, If you are looking for operating system and doesn't want bleeding edge updates or new features as soon as they are rolled out then CentOS should be the OS of your choice.


    Giuseppe D.

CentOS: The RHEL experience and quality for all

  • October 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a free and powerful Linux distribution from RedHat Enterprise. Is an ideal distribution for small and big company and personal servers. With CentOS is easy to create a new general purpose or specific server.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes don't have the latest package version but the quality and stability of package is excellent!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With CentOS i have created a LDAP and VPN server for my company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Install and use it


    Amol B.

CentOS + Genomics' Research = Not So Fun

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This Linux OS is basically a rock solid system for business enterprise type of capability. It is scalable, provides a robust set of features and after the environment is setup, there is not a tremendous amount of maintenance necessary.
What do you dislike?
The configuration of this OS is quite painful. Documentation is pretty sparse and you have to rely predominantly on what can be searched via forums. What normally would take me a afternoon to setup with a competitor's OS, would normally take me 2 days. Repo's are hard to work with too and it is a general chore to setup.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We utilized this OS to store large sources of genomics data and then use that information with machine learning. Maybe that is why it took some time to setup and work with because my lab was use to a different OS and our lab director decided for better stability and version control to work with Cent.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It really depends on what is trying to be achieved. They are plenty of platforms to consider. Ours was trying to develop a in house cloud based computing and liked Cent's expandability. We explored other options too like OpenStack and even Red Hat.


    Computer Software

CentOS is RHEL in a Free Package

  • October 18, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is an extremely mature and stable platform for system administrators to use. There are easy-to-download ISOs which don't change rapidly, and are a direct evolution of RHEL, the most widely-used Linux Platform. CentOS posts Docker and AWS Images for ease of use in a virtual environment, and the entire system is designed for rapid secure deployment.
What do you dislike?
CentOS is not as rapid as other distributions like Ubuntu in developing new features and releasing them to their community. In addition, the community behind CentOS is not as large, and so I often find myself using resources intended for RHEL or Fedora.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS in our development environment to avoid the expensive costs of RHEL Licensing. Because it is such a good drop-in substitute, it allows us to scale large infrastructures without the added cost.


    James M.

Secure and stable

  • October 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that CentOS is set up for ease of use, stability, and security built in from the get-go. With long term supported releases, it's my go to server OS.
What do you dislike?
There's nothing CentOS specific that I dislike. It has some of the similiar pitfalls that most Linux variations have.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use CentOS to host a variety of websites and web applications. By using the same release over multiple servers I don't have the headaches some admins do of managing dependencies for different releases.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For those favoring stability first and foremost, it's a solid choice.