Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7

Cognosys Inc. | CentOS 7 V1.0.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

195 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Deepak N.

Stable, dependable Linux distro for work!

  • September 25, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Frequent updates from the community
2. Close interaction and relationship with the Upstream
3. Funded by and supported informally by RedHat
What do you dislike?
1. Sometimes, changes are too fast and often
2. Older code and package repos disappear without trace!
3. A choice of more Linux kernels and packages especially from EPEL and Oracle Linux would have been a great addition!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using it as my main Linux OS for work, code, driver development, PoC's etc
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A stable enterprise grade Linux Distribution with great support from the Linux community as well as form the Upstream


    Chi Wai H.

Replacement of RedHat

  • September 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is similar to RedHat. I don't need to pay license fee to set up a test environment which is very close to the production environment
What do you dislike?
CentOS also inherits the careless packaging bugs from RedHat.
SELinux always bring problems to CentOS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Simulation environment setup instead of using subscription based RedHat.
The environment will be distributed to partners/customers. CentOS allows me to do so.


    Information Technology and Services

Deploy all your Server side applications of this amazing OS and see it operate amazingly - CentOS

  • September 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is an OS which is based on worlds most advanced kernel - Linux. It is highly reliable, scalable and secure. This OS is used to deploy majority of server side applications and even the servers all over the world. Following are some of the key advantages of using CentOS:
1. Fast: Only 1 or 2 processes run ideally at one moment in time and rest all the process remain asleep providing CPU all the power to operate.
2. Secure: Everything based on permissions make it the most secure OS. No Virus can infect the system until right permissions have been assigned to it.
What do you dislike?
It is really hard to find out any flaw in CentOS. I have used it for many years and have never seen this OS failing in any terms. Only one improvement that I can see is more and more tutorial videos from official website which can help all the newbies learn the OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We had our majority of work on the CentOS system. The reliability of the OS is one of the major reason for using and depending on this OS. I can hardly recall the last time system crashed out. We have our internal as well as external applications sitting on this server and handling majority of the tasks seamlessly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend this amazing piece of OS to each and every computer engineer. You start using it on your work and you will end up installing it on your personal machines. This OS is easily available on the Internet and is worth installing it on your system. Say a bye-bye to the anti-virus programs after installing CentOS and it will ensure nothing can infect your system at any cost.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to setup even with no GUI

  • August 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy setup with graphic interface. The extra features in repo lists are already being pointed and easy to install them. The compatibility with Red Hat exclusive apps are ok, and I did not have problem with that.
What do you dislike?
Could be more easy to beginners to install from minimal install, since the network configuration, proxy and repo list comes empty, needing to perform a lot of dificulty steps, but this is a Linux related, not CENTOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Installed Genesys contact center Database using POSTGRE. I did not have any problems related specifically to CENTOS, just because I am a beginner in Linux.


    Information Technology and Services

Stable and long support cycle

  • August 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a very stable and reliable distro. The support cycle is 10 years, meaning you will get updates throughout.
What do you dislike?
Because of its long support cycle, it is behind on the newer releases of software. This generally isn't an issue for web servers or other software that doesn't require the latest versions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a stable environment for our web environment for development and live sites.


    Anand n.

Best server os

  • July 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have used cent os for radius server and cacheing server , this os stands Up with full satisfied result and best performance given. especially easy to use interface that makes this best
What do you dislike?
no issue at all found but for start up it makes little bit time but this is not any issue at all
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
its beneficial for server use and it give good result to
Recommendations to others considering the product:
use this os for better server and robust system maintain for tension free server maintaining


    Information Technology and Services

Centos Review

  • July 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
some of feature that i like '
CentOS is one of the most secure and stable OSes straits from the box.
high performance on the average hardware.
That is use for developing Product on it.
That is support for new software build and that also support long term support and bug and security fixes.
What do you dislike?
The some of feature i don't like.
Server update would be better to decrease the time for that.
centos is not good desktop solution.
RHEL it is more server than desktop orrinted and as the system ages it does not get many new features.
it might be worth waiting or version 6.0 which isn't released yet but will be new cycle starting with fairly current packages.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using development team works with open source tools and contribute towards the improvements of centos and other linux based tools and our default operating system is centos.


    Parth A.

One of the best Linux Distros

  • July 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is really basic and easy to learn Linux Distors which also has a great community where you can get your doubts cleared pretty fast. I would highly recommend CentOS to the beginners to Linux if they want to have a really good learning experience.
What do you dislike?
CentOS also comes with the GUI version. One thing I personally don't like about the GUI version is that it is very slow and eats up too much CPU memory.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use CentOS to set up different kind of servers such as Web server, DHCP server, DNS server, FTP server, Proxy server, etc. Since CentOS is one of the most used Linux Distros, it was really easy to get over the hurdles I faced when configuring such servers by simply asking the community and I got a really positive response most of the time.


    Parth A.

One of the best Linux Distros

  • July 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using CentOS for almost 3 years now and I like the no-GUI version of it because of its ease of use and very low compute power consumption.
What do you dislike?
I don't like their GUI version. The only reason behind this is that it works very slow and consumes lot of compute power.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used CentOS to automate different kinds of network devices and also for testing of different network designs. I also use it for backing up my network devices with the help of cron function.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are new to Linux and want to learn quickly and easily, I would highly recommend using CentOS because it is very easy to use and the community is really helpful as well. And it is free to use as well.


    mohammed w.

Centos the best OS for software developers

  • July 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In my point of view the most helpful thing in CentOS is, It reduced risk of crashes and errors. It only runs stable versions of software packages. You can easily leave a server for running 5 years. And also the best thing it is free and open source.
What do you dislike?
The least helpful about centOS is it tends to be less feature-rich than it peers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been using centOS for the last 1 month. It is best for server side.