Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

NGINX With CentOS 7

Cognosys Inc. | 21-10-09

Linux/Unix, CentOS 21-10-09 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

89 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Matteo P.

A blazing fast reverse proxy

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best event driven reverse proxy ever. Blazing fast and easy to configure for easy setups.
What do you dislike?
Difficult to configure on complex architectures and sometimes hard to understand the rules interpretation order
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using it as reverse proxy in my system architecture
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Study the option. They are basically limitless but can be difficult to make them coexist because the interpretation order is often hard to grasp


    Automotive

Load Balancer

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The increase in the efficiency of our application.
What do you dislike?
I haven't found anything until now and nothing will be found in future as well
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were looking for a simple and perfect load balancer. Also the redirections of urls to content based management systems


    Fawzi B.

fast and reliable

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
it doesnt create an extra process per connection. load balancer buildin proving insane speed advantage over apache. it also supports FastCGI and SCGI for our php applications.
What do you dislike?
many applications deployed on the server don't go well with the default settings out of the box with nginx. i highly recommend they change that in the future to make the transition from apache more seamless.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We no longer need to use caching system on our server. after couple of modifications, no one using the server noticed any change. i highly recommend you refer to this http://www.hostingadvice.com/how-to/nginx-vs-apache/


    Information Technology and Services

Quickly becoming my default web server for smaller projects after years with Apache

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx takes some of the voodoo out of web servers. I can get up and running quickly with caching, compression, ssl stapling, and other things that can be tricky on other systems.
What do you dislike?
I miss the options to use all other very powerful products under the Apache umbrella.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All prototyping for new sites is done with a simple Nginx boilerplate that is a breeze to install and use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's super fast, really.


    Kyle J.

NGiNX

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
My team uses NGinX for configuring our development servers and locations, using variables, rewriting URIs to redirect to the appropriate service based on hostname. NGinX makes this process light and easy. We develop multiple different sites and services. NGinX is lightweight and you can be up and running quickly. It does everything I need as a web server and I really have no complaints so far.
What do you dislike?
NGinX is really for high level server admins. I can be complex because all the configurations are text based files and if you do not understand what you are doing it will cause issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We benefit by using NGinX as our primary development web server that points traffic to the correct corresponding service base on hostname. This allows development to easily work on multiple projects with multiple languages and/or versions simultaneously.


    Phil A.

Simple, light weight web server

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx is super simple to set up and it is lightning FAST!
If you ever run into an issue, there is a lot of support both on NGINX's site and also on Stackoverflow.
What do you dislike?
I dislike how different apache and nginx are. If you spend a long time using one product then try to port everything to a different web server, it can sometimes be difficult to translate between the syntax.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nginx has allowed our server to serve pages quicker and with less errors than other web servers out there.
We have realized the benefits of quick webpage serving, which in turn allows our team to be more efficient and get the information they need faster.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want a simple, lightweight web server, look no further. Nginx solves this problem with ease. Between nginx and apache, there is not much difference other than speed. nginx is FAST FAST FAST!


    Caleb A.

Fast, configurable, modular, and performant.

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx does what it does very well. It's very fast (I've used it just as a proxy server before), handles concurrency well, and is super configurable. At work, we spin up servers often and we want to be able to easily host multiple sites on a single server. By setting up localized nginx configurations, we can be up and running without having to hardly tweak the main server at all.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally there will be issues that are easily fixed by adding something to .htaccess. Since Nginx doesn't have that support, I have to find a workaround, but thus far that's the only thing I can find that I dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it primarily as a proxy server to direct all our sites through. It's been incredibly easy to get up and running, even across multiple servers, and is a true pleasure to work with.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have never used Nginx and you're hesitant to throw it into a big project, try using it on a side project first. Trust me, you won't be disappointed.


    Tyler S.

Nginx makes websites fast

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that it is much faster than Apache.
What do you dislike?
A bit more to config than Apache, but that's okay because it makes it better at the same time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
By speeding up websites. We use it as a proxy for static assets.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its great for caching and allows your sites to be much faster, gives you great flexibility and setup for your sever.


    Marketing and Advertising

Faster Webserver Ever

  • July 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
High Performance and easy configuration through console.
What do you dislike?
Compared to Apache there are not many third party managment tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy setup and hard customization.


    Justin P.

Nginx review for small SaaS app

  • April 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Speed. Using it as a front end proxy for Django WSGI server, I'm able to realize much better performance for concurrent sessions than a typical HTTPD setup.
What do you dislike?
Nothing. It's free, easy to set up, and does what I need it to.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My business case has a lot of user downtime, with spikes of activity. Consequently, concurrent sessions is something I need to think about and this (plus a WSGI server+Django) lets me be less process-bound than if I were using HTTPD.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your experience is at all like mine, it'll probably be the most headache-free piece of your implementation.