Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

LMS powered by Moodle® With Ubuntu 16.04 Lts

Cognosys Inc. | Moodle With Ubuntu 16.04 Lts V1.0.2

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

281 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Marit B.

I use Moddle for my college courses.

  • June 18, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Integration with Turnitin to check for plagiarism, ability to grade papers online, ease of setting up organization of main page into different weeks, themes, etc. and uploading documents, creating links, and other assignments. Gradebook is a nice feature, although it is a bit clunky. I also email students regularly using Mod\odle.
What do you dislike?
I really like being able to post grades online, but the Gradebook is a bit clunky at times. I can't always see the entire page: if there are several columns and rows it is hard to move around on the page because the scroll bars do not remain on the screen view.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a college professor, so my only use is for educational purposes. I can post lecture notes, assignments, quizzes, etc., organize course material into weeks or themes, and make grades visible to students. Email feature is nice for sending announcements, updates, etc. Integration with plagiarism software is a great, as is the online grading. Saves me from carrying papers around. Students can easily check their grades, upload assignments and papers, and get copies of lecture notes or assignments if they missed class.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have only used Moodle for course management software, so I am unsure of its applications outside of education. If you are in education, I have found it very useful, but users definitely need a workshop, tutorial, and regular support because it is not entirely intuitive.


    Angela L.

Easy to use, even for young children.

  • June 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It was easy to use as a student. aThe site was easy to navigate.
What do you dislike?
There are many times where I have experienced crashes and was unable to submit assignments.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used this program for school. Teachers were able to upload class material and we would be able to view it at home.


    Connor D.

Moodle review for student use

  • June 17, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it keeps all my classes organized through a paperless online platform. I enjoy being able to take quizzes through this model because there is more customizability and often allows you to back track, where other sources don't. I like how teachers can use it to post grades, assignments, etc.
What do you dislike?
I don't like the look of it and the ease of use is more challenging than other platforms. Overall it doesn't look as clean as it could.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
They are solving the problem of teacher/student interaction and assignment competition. The site helps for efficiency and paperless work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Recommend for school use.


    Lina T.

Simple and Easy to Use Platform for Grades and Documents

  • June 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best about moodle is how simple the page is. Everything comes from the one homepage and one can basically navigate the whole entire page from there. Also, submission of assignments are made really easily. Discussion boards are also really easy to use.
What do you dislike?
I do not like how sometimes, certain pages do not show up or is hard to find. In addition to that, moodle does not erase any old materials from other classes, which will eventually make the home page really cluttered.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connecting students and their educators. Some benefits I have seen is easy assess to documents and easy sharing as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
My recommendation for anyone who is considering moodle to make sure the page is organized so that students will know how to navigate through it and find certain things.


    Tracey L.

Moodle Review

  • June 16, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how Moodle separates everything by date. With that, I'm able to easily look up information that my professors have uploaded. Another thing I like about Moodle is the fact that everything is essentially on one page. I don't have to click into folders and then click the back button. I can open all the tabs and have all the information in front of me in one page.
What do you dislike?
I don't like the way grades are displayed on Moodle. I think it's quite confusing to read. I don't know if the grade display is different across the board and dependent on the professor. However, from my past experience with Moodle, I hardly ever checked my grade because I always found it too difficult to read. I think there could be some revisions there.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Moodle as a student. The biggest benefit is being able to have access to all the materials needed for my classes. It's nice to have everything uploaded to one site. In addition to that, I take a lot of quizzes through Moodle. I think they have a fairly convenient and simple format in terms of taking tests. I never have to worry about Moodle freezing or clicking the wrong button to exit out of my quiz. With that reassurance, I can place my trust in Moodle while taking a quiz that might be crucial component to my grade.


    Edward S.

Very Helpful

  • June 16, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how helpful this site is in organizing the my classes for me.
What do you dislike?
I dislike how the website lists all of the weeks of the class and assignments in one super long list all on the same home page. It makes it super annoying to find a week later in the course because you have to scroll through so much.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I solve all sorts of business problems. Like grading my students assignments. This site gives me great benefits to help in grading my students assignments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Probably one of the better education software out there.


    Athreya A.

Handy and useful school organizer

  • June 16, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy using moodle because it is a very useful and handy tool to organize my college courses and provides me with a easy to use dashboard with several useful links, such as links to my grades, course materials, and even emailing professors.
What do you dislike?
I do not like how many classes are not integrated with moodle, it would be much easier if every class was integrated with the same system. I also do not like how sometimes the individual class pages can get a little cluttered in terms of design.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are solving how to properly use a centralized system to have all college classes' information accessible and in one place.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a useful tool and although it could be better, it definitely does its job.


    Alex D.

School LMS

  • June 16, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the organization of the page. Everything is easily accessible and it is easy to navigate.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing really negative about the program. This is something that is widely used on my campus and I have really not heard of a single complaint.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used this in school and it allows me to check grades, assignments, and deadlines.


    Education Management

I am a high school classroom teacher using Moodle on a regular basis.

  • June 16, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There are very few platforms that address assessment fully. Moodle is an excellent choice for teachers looking to assess teaching and learning through a web based platform.
What do you dislike?
Moodle is visually very stark and basic. Students do not find the environment very pleasing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Moodle as a means to assess my high school students' learning. Highly customizable and feature rich.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle is perfect for schools with one-to-one platforms when using devices for assessment in the classroom. Teachers are able to design and deploy assessments in a very secure environment.


    Education Management

Easy to use online classroom

  • June 12, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ease of Moodle was well and set up of each part. Moodle was easy to navigate for online classes that I was taking during the summer. I liked the fact that I didn't need any help from anyone to naviage the site; it was very self-explanatory.
What do you dislike?
I don't know if there was anything that I didn't like how moodle was set up. I thought it would be an easy way to have for an online classroom.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In my situation, the business problem that noodle was used for was for the simple purpose of an online classroom for a college class. I think the benefits that I realized while I was using noodle, was the ease of use as well as the navigation was easy and fun.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would consider using noodle for my own classroom if I needed it. However, that would be up to administration. My college uses moodle for their online classes.