Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Kafka on Ubuntu

Websoft9 | Kafka 2.8.0 - Ubuntu 20.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

56 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Savan S.

Beyond messaging queue

  • July 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Kafka is the best scalable, reliable, robust, and open-sourced messaging streaming tool. Multiple subscribers consume the single-time published information via the publisher-subscriber concept. Also, Apache Kafka is highly configurable. To configure any setting, we need to add the property key and value within the property file of Kafka Broker or Kafka Consumer, or Kafka Publisher, that's it.
What do you dislike?
Apache Kafka is much powerful and valuable tool. The features provided by this tool are beyond our expectations so, as far as I could not find anything to dislike specific to Apache Kafka.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We required an asynchronous way of communication with our other services deployed in our microservice infrastructure, but we had to store messages after published for a short-term period. Also, the partition mechanism allowed us the parallel consumption of our messages, which has significantly increased the efficiency of our services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache Kafka is one of the excellent data streaming and messaging queue. Also, this tool is highly configurable.


    Abhijeet A.

Always reliable

  • June 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What do I like best: Reliability and Fault Tolerance
What do you dislike?
I think sometimes it's difficult to find the skewed topics
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Stream click events on all channels


    Jimesh S.

Kafka - The data streaming broker

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We used Apache Kafka as a data streaming tool which has helped us to develop loosely coupled architecture and allowed us to make asynchronized communication between multiple services. Moreover, its partitioning feature has incredibly increased the efficiency of our application. We integrated Kafka with Avro to serialize and deserialize our data and validate it as well. It was quite easy to integrate with 3rd party tool. Kafka has great documentation large user group so we easily get community support. Eventually, I can say that Apache Kafka is an easy to configure, versatile, speedy and low latency tool.
What do you dislike?
It is a highly configurable and feature-rich tool hence, I could not find anything to dislike in Apache Kafka.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We had to develop loosely coupled services so, downtime of one service should not affect the others. Furthermore, we needed to interact seamlessly with any service and also considered speed and performance. Also, we had to openly available Kafka Server so, authentication/authorization was also required, but we really thankful to Kafka documentation which made our story very easy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache Kafka is not only the messaging broker but it provides a myriad of features, before choosing any other Messaging Broker please have a look at the features provided by Apache Kafka.


    Lakshmi Narayana J.

A better messaging and streaming service

  • January 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The nature of message streaming is guaranteed to all consumers who subscribed and good thing is the message will never missed which guarantees data delivery
What do you dislike?
No issues with Kafka in terms of topics and streaming and couldn’t any drawbacks
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Topics and streaming
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest Kafka for businesses for guaranteed delivery of data to consumers


    Aleksei J.

It is outstanding message broker for inside work.

  • October 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Kafka provides service to emit data between producer and consumer inside the system.
It is very helpful in case of asynchronous operations when necessary to wait until remote devices returns response.
It works very fast and scalable thanks to parallel calculation depends on numbers of CPU cores.
Queue system is the wonderful idea.
What do you dislike?
Rebalancing takes a lot of time when the node becomes unavailable or restart, so Kafka waits until primary partitions relaunch.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Kafka allows to get a lot of logs to be analyzed, we need to setup them to avoid get this mess.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nice to have the debugging tools - it helps me a lot during development.
Kafka is a nice message broker to be used in microservices.


    Akib A.

Best tool for asynchronous communication

  • June 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ability to use kafka as database, capability to handle large volume of data efficiently.
What do you dislike?
Very less monitoring tools , not all the scripts available for monitoring.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using it extensively in our product, we are using it as messaging system and database both. We’re indexing our catalog data using kafka, sending data to our production environment using topics, importing data from external system over topics.


    Dhanish M.

Reliable and blazing fast message queue

  • June 16, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use as well as the number of various options that can be configured. It is also modular which allows you to plug in modules to increase functionality.
It is well supported by the community with lots of help available when stuck. Its also available as Docker images to make installation very easy.
What do you dislike?
The configuration options sometimes can get confusing and the documentation although very good is sometimes hard to follow.
Ensuring a configuration is correct and working as expected is not trivial as it is a network application and requires many clients to test it out. Adding extra modules might not make clients work correctly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using it as a distributed messaging system to share cyber threat events in real time. Benefits are that its open source and free to use, extremely reliable and fault tolerant making updates to network security trust-able and reliable. The added OAuth2 modules help in keeping the cluster secure and trustworthy.


    YOGESH B.

scalable data streaming

  • June 01, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
scalable
data is partitioned
brokered
stable versions of kafka enables to upgrade the kafka at any time
Kafka parallelism at the topic level is very useful to achieve performance and scale to million requests per second
kafka has provided very well defined storage management, it provides many options to configure them by size & by time
What do you dislike?
load balancing requires all ips to be known by producer
When the kafka is hosted in any on prem environment, usually users does not want to expose all three ip address due to seccurity concerns. But kafka client needs all ip addresses of kafka cluster to load balance
Load time of the data when any node restart is huge when we have large data in kafka before restart
when one node goes down in cluster, it takes lot of time to rebalance
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
data streaming from different IOT devices to processing engine, storm is connected to kafka and used to process and store in elastic search
we also stream logs with the system, events with in the system.
we also log from various devices, these logs are huge in number. almost millions for second.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
its a good platform for streaming your data in huge
it's easily scalable. Only issue when you start scaling is you have to mannually rebalance the partitions when you add a node or delete any existing nodes
be careful about systems when restarts are frequent because it takes considerable time to restart, how ever it is the best solution you can get among all opensource solutions available
Anthor aspect worth considering is its parallelism level, kafka is having pull mechanism to read the messages, partitins are per consumer, so it provides parallelsim at partitions level


    Civic & Social Organization

Advanced many-to-many streaming platform

  • May 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the simplicity of setup of Kafka broker in cluster mode. It permits to have a three powerful Kafka brokers by using even a single virtual low cost machine. The interaction with the cluster is quite simple and you can customize the topics functionalities by setting replication factors and main copy broker.
I like also the flexibility of Kafka. It can be used for managing high quantity of messages from multiple sensors, but also to stream a single big video to multiple subscribers.
What do you dislike?
I have not found anything that I dislike until now. Maybe the confluent support can be improved, since they offer only support for payed Confluent licenses and not for on-premises Kafka installation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can share messages with many subscribers. I can gather data from a multiplicity of sensors. I can scale up horizontally with low cost machines.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Kafka is really complete and permits to connect several producers with many customers. It is quite simple to be installed and the resource consumption is quite small.


    Yogesh B.

Best Streaming Queue/Topic

  • May 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Kafka is known the best streaming platform, it has the capability to handle data in pull mechanism makes it highly performant. Kafka provides capabilities to segregate data via topics, it supports binary data and text data. It has the capability to distribute data to partitions, a notion of shards
Kafka has consumer - kafka streams which is built on the principles of kafka to give better performance
we considered replacing storm with kafka streams and could achieve all the required functionalities
kafka provides various tune ups to achieve HA
What do you dislike?
One thing I observed is we can not switch off replication in multi node setup. suppose say i want only load distribution but its okay if i lose data. I dont want any replication. If any partition assigned node goes down, kafka should identify and reassign the partitions at some point to other nodes instead it goes on toss expecting isr to be available
another point is when any node goes down it takes a while to reassign the primary partitions and make kafka available, though config is there to set the time to trigger rebalancing, usually it kicks the rebalancing but the rebalancing itself takes lot of time
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
streaming logs/stats from multiple devices and consumed by processing engine
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a great tool with high performance and millisecond level latency
Has got lot of debugging tools