Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Kafka on Ubuntu

Websoft9 | kafka2.7.0-ubuntu18.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

53 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Java developer, work with microservices and kafka

  • March 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Kafka keep the messages for a period time
What do you dislike?
Some minor errors that hard to understand
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Kafka help to keep track the history of events, when the service down and don't lost any events.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's easy to use.


    Computer Software

Kafka Queue review

  • October 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Kafka is a queue used for serial data transfer bit by bit. It is easy to use and its is clearly understandable. User friendly management console.
What do you dislike?
The attachment to the database like Prometheus is little bit difficult. which takes lot of time
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Monitoring of the Ec2 instance using cloudwatch.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it if you need queue for your data processing.


    Jatin G.

Awesome open source tool

  • August 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We are using Kafka extensively for Message passing from one system to other
What do you dislike?
Its awesome. We are processing 6 to 8 million messages per day
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
the message delivery is guranteed.


    Pharmaceuticals

Kafka messaging queue

  • June 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It’s easier to maintain and sending messages is also easier
What do you dislike?
Kafka doesn’t acknowledge properly where duplicate messages were being produced because of this
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I think the only problem is while acknowledging the message. Because of that duplicate messages are being received
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Fix the acknowledgement issues


    Vinay G.

Great queue mechanism!

  • April 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Super fast and near real time queue mechanism. Debugging is simpler. It's persistence queue so provides great feature of retention of events for n number of days. This is really helpful to avoid data loss in case of some issue or unexpected situation. Easy to implement producer and consumer. You can have multiple partition to have data flow depending on need or types.
What do you dislike?
User interface is something which can be improved. Logs can be better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Software development. To do operation async without impacting main component.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great option for messaging queue.


    Bharath P.

easy to setup data streaming service

  • January 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I come from a PHP/LAMP stack - I needed to setup Kafka for my project and kafka is in Java. the set up was a breeze and the learning curve was not that steep.
What do you dislike?
nothing so far. I still need to implement KSQL - probably will have something then.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data streaming from existing applications to Analytics applications (OLTP to OLAP), benefits: easy to set up and I can connect OLTP to OLAP without disturbing the OLTP.


    Architecture & Planning

sistema de mensajería distribuido

  • July 28, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Es un sistema de mensajería basado en el modelo publicador/subcriptor, persistente, escalable, replicado, tolerante a fallos, capaz de atender cientos de megas por segundo de lecturas y escrituras provenientes de miles de clientes.
Es un proyecto opensource creado inicialmente por Linkedin para solventar las limitaciones de los sistemas de mensajería como Jms.
What do you dislike?
Los mayores problemas de instalación con los que he tenido que lidiar han sido básicamente errores mios (cómo no) en la configuración de los ficheros tanto del kafka ,Un cambio en el nombre del host, comas en lugar de puntos y cosas por el estilo. Estos problemas son sencillos de detectar y solucionar, siempre que tengas el log a mano, y no configurar bien los permisos de la carpeta en la que se instala kafka es un error que puede hacer que no dispongas de logs, y sin los logs será difícil encontrar otros problemas. Además, como kafka sigue funcionando aún sin poder escribir los logs me costó darme cuenta de que no los tenía.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Rastrear actividad de la web. generar tuberías de datos en tiempo real con un modelo publicador-suscriptor.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Funciona bien como reemplazo de los agentes de mensajería tradicionales como RabbitMQ o ActiveMQ


    Higher Education

Industry standard for streaming data

  • July 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The producer-consumer paradigm is fairly simple to understand. Plus there are SDKs in a lot of languages which is pretty convenient.
What do you dislike?
The commercial cluster setups are too expensive. Operational costs are too high for virtual machines.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hyperledger composer blockchain application that intakes data from sensor and stores it in a blockchain.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a standard for companies that handle streaming data. Plus its fairly simple to get started with, once you are familiar with distributed systems. Plus there is no platform barrier. I've even run this on a raspberry pi and it works. Plus the large amount of SDKs allow any programmer to get started easily with it.


    Information Technology and Services

Apache Kafka Review

  • July 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I as well as other's think that Apache Kafka is the best solution for big data. It was also very easy and simple to implement into our organization.
What do you dislike?
It doesn't have the easiest usability factor. A better user interface would be great to see all the data. Support isn't the best either.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using different distributed systems for processing messages
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Once you get past the support and lack of user interface, it is a really good product


    Bryan L.

Kafka Review

  • July 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that its in the cluster so it has safety built into it, I don't need to worry about a node going down because I there are plenty to back it up.
What do you dislike?
The wording when using it is a little confusing at first, i remember confusing what producer vs what a consumer was
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Transmission of data but in a way that other teams can take advantage of it so there is less duplication of work
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a great product that can be used so that you have some redundancy in your pipeline. And depending on how long you set the time for it to store the data there the backup can work for a week or longer.