Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Kafka on Ubuntu

Websoft9 | kafka2.7.0-ubuntu18.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

53 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Marketing and Advertising

Kafka is helping us so much!

  • July 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Currently, our company is implementing Kafka in order to optimize various of our services, but most importantly, it will really make our marketing automation service work like it was meant to work! Kafka is making our services reliable.
What do you dislike?
Nothing yet. Our Developers seem to really like it so far - nothing negative
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
optimizing our services and making them reliable
Recommendations to others considering the product:
big companies use it! You should too! Makes life easier


    Apparel & Fashion

My awesome review !

  • July 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best is that Apache allows users to subscribe to it and also allows users to publish data to any number of systems or real-time applications.
What do you dislike?
What I dislike is that sometimes it’s predictive system in using real time is not 100% effective. There are some slight glitches that will need to be figured out!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The benefits I have realized is the ability to use a system which generates accurate real time data. Business problems we are solving is that we can see sales date in real time of what is selling and what is not.


    Human Resources

Uses of Apache Kafka

  • July 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
From last 4 months i am using this and recommending my other friends and colleague too. Now a days as everyone is moving on cloud, kafka has made more clear and simple for data base like big data.
What do you dislike?
For the various errors I ran into in trying to get automatically launched per-test test clusters working, Googling and StackOverflow answers tended to be contradictory and added up to I drew a pentagram on the floor and stood in it and shouted “foo” and that fixed it. Cargo-cult behavior like that is also a major red flag - the people who are gaga about this thing don’t actually understand it, and solve problems by randomly banging on things until something works. That tells me I need someone (most likely me) to become a Kafka/Zookeeper guru. That’s not an expense a small startup should incur, and choosing to use a technology that requires that kind of babysitting is not one you make lightly, certainly not one you make based on all the cool kids use Kafka. Popularity is a terrible proxy for quality.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is all realated big data.


    Information Technology and Services

Good experience

  • July 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The thing I like the most about Apache Kafka is its reliability. Also the message delivery is quite fast.
What do you dislike?
Although it is a great product the learning curve is a bit steep. Nothing to add on the software itself.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main benefit is that it became very simple to connect diverse services and applications saving a great deal of time.


    Banking

Kafka MQ

  • July 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast and easy to use, giving a good messaging between different modules and machines
What do you dislike?
I dont like the configuration of xml and to many variables without documentation
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Events and messages between differnt modules


    Broadcast Media

Great messaging product

  • July 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Scalable, fault tolerance and publish-subscribe capabilities to build distributed apps
What do you dislike?
Support model can be better and critical needs of enterprise support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Distributed applications , low latency and bid data on Hadoop


    Financial Services

Kafka Streaming

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very fast to get data through from one source into the next.
What do you dislike?
Need a tool to handle resiliency. Once it is read, it's read.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were streaming data real time from a transaction system to various back end systems that needed that data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's great once you are up and running.


    Banking

Kafka learning curve

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Flexibility with other products and throughput of messages
What do you dislike?
Learning curve and modify config with other products
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sync client data between systems


    Staffing and Recruiting

worked on microsevice sync

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the way you can scale and so micro service friendly. Helps to create .
Asynchronous data processing. Distributed data base pipelines. Handling large volumes of data and cross platform integration. Different Apis.
What do you dislike?
UI management tool will help. easy management on exxactly once processing/administration.
More trainings/material on integrations connectors will help. The usage of Zookeeper can be elaborated in trainings.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Asynchronous data processing. Distributed data base pipelines. Handling large volumes of data and
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Should give it a try.


    Financial Services

Kafka Review

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is an Open source software and no issues with using the software for development in organizations
What do you dislike?
Its better to have more tutorials and documentation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are using the software as event service Bus delivering messages between consumers and producers