Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Kafka on Ubuntu

Websoft9 | kafka2.7.0-ubuntu18.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

54 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Financial Services

Kafka Review

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is an Open source software and no issues with using the software for development in organizations
What do you dislike?
Its better to have more tutorials and documentation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are using the software as event service Bus delivering messages between consumers and producers


    David M.

Kafka server is good: Needs to work on low level API

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
data instrumental to understanding behaviors of customers and it can set an engine of predictive analytics, Kafka backwards compatible, current update includes consumer group management part of Kafka protocol rather than having to directly access ZooKeeper
What do you dislike?
complex protocols and implementation requirements make extremely difficult to create a good client unless working with Java or with a lower-level language (C or Go), producing message set onto the bus requires you to consume the bus eventually receiving multiple messages acknowledging the status of each message, problems both in writing code and with managing a Kafka/Zookeeper cluster
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To build the digital services integrating and accessing a wide stream of data, partition topics and augmented time order sequence of data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Kafka is a practical choice for a message bus if you are using Java/Clojure/Scala/Kotlin but worth investigating in alternatives


    Banking

Fast and easy but hard to administer

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It’s fast and powerful. Very robust as well and scales to multiple subscribers. Definitely a good solution for multiple subscribers
What do you dislike?
It’s hard to administer - mostly command line tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Trade event propagation to multiple clients
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Invest in making it easy to support


    Staffing and Recruiting

Apache Kafka - User Review

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Personally in the past have really liked the many ways in which apps can plug into and connect with Kafka. Most importantly, offering ways to write new connectors when needed,
What do you dislike?
For the various errors, I ran into in trying to get automatically launched per-test test clusters working.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Utilizing it to handle a high volume of data and enables us to pass messages from one end-point to another.


    Jin H.

Apache Kafka review from semiconductor company

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
it is helpful to display outage or process error for semi-conductor manufacturing
What do you dislike?
user interface should be more friendly, right now it is more for software developers
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
monitoring process pipeline to display errors

faster alert and handle manufacturing issues


    Internet

Pub Sub Beast

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Kafka is really good when it comes to do a pub sub system, it’s scalable and handles all the loads in data
What do you dislike?
It’s little bit heavy, like I tried with smaller rams 512 vanilla version in aws but it did not work. I resorted to Redis then, but there should be a way to do it if seen more clearly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We solve Data Center Information display in our office. Every machine throws its power usage to Kafka bus and then based on that we display the information


    Computer Software

Big Data Solution for Your Need

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Kafka is probably the best big data solution for your needs. I have been using Apache Kafka to streamline my big data pipeline and it is probably the best solution for my needs.
What do you dislike?
The only thing that I dislike about Apache Kafka is that it is probably on the functionality and it seems to compromise on the usability factor. This can be rectified by adding a few features and making those features are usable and intuitive to the user.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The benefits that it provides me are immense and it helped to integrate big data solutions faster The biggest benefit is the big data solutions it provides. It ensures that is done seamlessly and I do not think there is a faster product in the market so far.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highlt recommend using Apache Kafka for all your big data needs as it is the best solution for big data. We live in a world where there is a massive influx of data and Apache Kafka comes as a boon in today's times and it is probably the market leader in big data solution providers out of the other big data solution providers. Go ahead and try it out and you will not be disappointed.


    Internet

producto muy bueno y confiable

  • July 23, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Kafka es un sistema de mensajería publicación-suscripción rápido y tolerante a fallas muy confiable. La mejor parte es monitorear y dejar que el usuario conozca algunas "peores prácticas" y errores comunes
What do you dislike?
, no hay nada que no me guste si sería bueno si tenemos una buena interfaz de usuario donde pueda ver qué datos hay en el sistema Kafka.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Tenemos el requisito de leer y procesar transmisión de datos en vivo desde un sistema . Kafta nos está ayudando a resolver este problema donde también podemos obtener detalles pasados
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Kafka es un excelente producto, deberías intentarlo y estoy seguro de que te gustará.


    Jia Hui(Benson) L.

The New Message Broker You Need

  • July 19, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It was really easy to implement Kafka to my existing system. I used Node.js and luckily Kafka-node offered everything I needed. Kafka stream processing is fast and reliable for log subscriptions and real time event signals.
What do you dislike?
The initial learning for message brokers and partitions was a bit over my head. However, once I understood the entire cycle of a message stream from brokers, partition, and subscriptions it got better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Kafka provides real time data feed and it's being adopted by large and well known companies like Twitter and LinkedIn. Kafka reduces integration time as it provides one place for events to go in and for multiple client systems to subscribe to it.


    Raju K.

Best distributed messaging platform

  • June 14, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Hands down the best messaging platform for big data systems. Many integrations with storm, spark other Apache distributed systems. Active open source community
What do you dislike?
Setting Apache Kafka eco system first time is a big pain
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sends millions of messages different distributed systems for processing