Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenJDK 8 (Java 8) on Ubuntu 18

Supported Images | 20210403

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

12 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jatin K.

Free Open Source for Java Champs

  • March 29, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like every part of Java Development Kits, they are so eloquent, efficient and so fun to learn in the first place and one can solve any business problem at hand with ease.
What do you dislike?
Of course, it is less featured as compared to the latest JDKs but I did not really dislike anything, Open JDK version 8 is sort of the standard for many software and businesses that implement it, and I feel is the most spread and widely used as of now. It has great community support because of the same fact.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There are all sorts of projects that can be implemented in Java from Android to Web and from Desktop to IoT apps, it is so crazy that it can target it all sorts of devices with so ease. It is well tested and popular and has great great community support.


    Komal J.

Object promotion is simplified with OpenJDK 8 on Ubuntu 18 server

  • December 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenJDK 8 is repackaged so that it leaves an object as logically held within the thread even after the premise releases it. It has a quick optimizing bytecode compiler that is capable of performing various activities such as numbering, inlining, and class analysis. It holds unique heaps of compiled code in its code cache, which are not relocated by its GC.
What do you dislike?
Concurrency is slightly on the areas of improvements end for OpenJDK 8 as it is essential to handle multiple instruction streams and execute them through logical expressions simultaneously. Apart from this, the remaining features are quite convincing to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenJDK 8 allows the compiler to portray improved code into the classes and objects. It simplifies the dispatch and type testing by loading new classes and activating the methods to optimize resource dependencies. Implement methods that we define on Ubunto using OpenJDK 8 call the function individually for executing them and register their usage patterns. Further, it also simplifies the object promotion functionalities where we can copy many objects from one directory to another.


    Jagruti P.

Open JDK review in my point of view and usage and problem, fixing which I faced during my usage

  • October 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are some points which I like a lot about OpenJDK as below :

1. To download JDK you don't require an Oracle account as it's open-source and free for all.
2. You got more releases or updates of subversion or new versions that will fix bugs or issues as more community support is available as it's under GNU license
3. When using ubuntu and OpenJDK its faster and got more support if you need help regarding some dependencies
4. I used open JDK 11 as well so quite not found many issues in any this is quite good to use.
What do you dislike?
There are a few issues which I faced and that was the reason which I was quite uncomfortable :

1. Sometimes patch update caused many issues and its hard to manage all other update and things
2. compare with oracle JDK, open JDK has not good garbage collecter
3. Faced many issues related to library/dependencies which is available and working fine with oracle JDK but when using open JDK we required more libraries and dependencies to work with the same for example JACOCO plugins
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
-> Mostly I solved problems related to backend technologies using REST APIS and generated mock tests which are used by the front end and mobile apps so sometimes we got faster performance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
-> Please check your dependencies which are compatible with OpenJDK or not sometimes it happens when you are using some libraries which are not works properly with OpenJDK which caused more your time


    Computer Software

For java players

  • September 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Runtime access to parameter names plus openjdk is a free and open source.
What do you dislike?
Nothing as such.works good from day it has been installed
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Runs varios applications simultaneously without any issue.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want smooth operations please go for it.


    Sneha S.

Free opensource Software to develop business solutions

  • September 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's open-source, and it's free. best of all, it has a community of developers, which really helps for a person to find any resolution to a problem they might be facing
What do you dislike?
Less New Features and More advancement and More work towards the existing feature. So not up to the current standards of the market.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Almost all of the projects are based on java enterprise we use it. It's secure and tested, so less work from the security side.


    Krinal P.

OpenJdk 8 - java evolution

  • September 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
JavaScript engine by Nashorn.
There are several ways to express lambda.
Runtime access to parameter names.
Annotations about Java types.
Operation of bulk data for Collections.
The Permanent Generation has been removed.
GC Combinations that are rarely used are removed
What do you dislike?
In terms of privacy and security, Ubuntu is a far superior alternative. Ubuntu's main selling point is its simplicity. Moreover, along with OpenJDK, it extremely improves the developer's efficiency with the cost-effective solution therefore, no dislike can be found yet.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
JDK is an open-source implementation of Java SE Platform Edition that's free to download and use on any computer. Because the source code is GPL-licensed, it may be freely redistributed. In order to obtain the programme, you don't have to bother about registering in to a website or creating a user account. No major technological differences exist between OpenJDK and oracle JDK, as both use a similar build procedure.


    Telecommunications

Very friendly interface with Advance features

  • September 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really Like the feature of Lambda expression and functional interfaces.
What do you dislike?
This is enhanced version with added functionality. So I don't see any cons as of now.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Doing development work using Java8.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's is very easy to use with simple syntax.


    Hospital & Health Care

Free and open source at it's best

  • September 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenJdk is a free and open source helps in developing application for critical use
What do you dislike?
After Jan 2019 only customer who have signed a support contract with oracle will still receive security update.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helps in running various application like tomcat and Jenkins.


    shreyas j.

Review for OpenJDK 8 ( Java 8 )

  • September 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best things is you can operate the jdk from console only. Set-up file is too small compared to windows or mac is the best thing about ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
Till date nothing to find anything to dislike. Works like a charm as the window version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Developing the APIs & server for mobile & web application.


    Omkar V.

Review for OpenJDK (JAVA 8)

  • September 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open JDK is open source Java Dev Kit for most popular Linux distributions, a light weight but powerful toolkit for handling all JAVA related issues.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to be disliked here frankly. As it is open source, nothing bad to say here.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running Java files on linux system, running multiple java modules.