Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenJDK 8 (Java 8) on Ubuntu 18

Supported Images | 20210403

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

14 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

We have had a good experience as a team using openjdk8

  • July 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The two best things about openjdk are the open source nature of the product and the continuous improvements it has seen over the past times.
What do you dislike?
There are competitors for openjdk who are providing longer support.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Oraclejdk used to be a liscened based software due to which there were a lot of hassles in development. Openjdk solves that issue, which js abrral plus fo developers.


    Rohan G.

Popular and Free but needs improvement

  • May 31, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free and quite popular in the open source community which makes its user base quite huge. Hence, community support is really great. All this makes it the default choice for new java programmers.
What do you dislike?
While it may be good for a simple java project or library, the performance is not as great as other free java distributions like Amazon Corretto. There are significant differences seen in memory management and performance on scale as compared to Corretto, Corretto being on a much better side.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is free and its large community of users has helped a lot in open source development and in further increase in its user base. So, it helps a lot in getting my doubts answered and problems solved quickly. Also, it is quite easy to get started with any java project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are developing a product which will experience extremely high qps, OpenJDK might not be the best option for you. Try for better performing alternatives having better LTS support like Amazon Corretto which will significantly help you optimize your infrastructure costs. You can however, use it for simple open spurce projects or relatively moderately scaled systems.


    Jatin K.

Free Open Source for Java Champs

  • March 30, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like every part of Java Development Kits, they are so eloquent, efficient and so fun to learn in the first place and one can solve any business problem at hand with ease.
What do you dislike?
Of course, it is less featured as compared to the latest JDKs but I did not really dislike anything, Open JDK version 8 is sort of the standard for many software and businesses that implement it, and I feel is the most spread and widely used as of now. It has great community support because of the same fact.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
There are all sorts of projects that can be implemented in Java from Android to Web and from Desktop to IoT apps, it is so crazy that it can target it all sorts of devices with so ease. It is well tested and popular and has great great community support.


    Komal J.

Object promotion is simplified with OpenJDK 8 on Ubuntu 18 server

  • December 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenJDK 8 is repackaged so that it leaves an object as logically held within the thread even after the premise releases it. It has a quick optimizing bytecode compiler that is capable of performing various activities such as numbering, inlining, and class analysis. It holds unique heaps of compiled code in its code cache, which are not relocated by its GC.
What do you dislike?
Concurrency is slightly on the areas of improvements end for OpenJDK 8 as it is essential to handle multiple instruction streams and execute them through logical expressions simultaneously. Apart from this, the remaining features are quite convincing to use.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OpenJDK 8 allows the compiler to portray improved code into the classes and objects. It simplifies the dispatch and type testing by loading new classes and activating the methods to optimize resource dependencies. Implement methods that we define on Ubunto using OpenJDK 8 call the function individually for executing them and register their usage patterns. Further, it also simplifies the object promotion functionalities where we can copy many objects from one directory to another.


    Jagruti P.

Open JDK review in my point of view and usage and problem, fixing which I faced during my usage

  • October 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are some points which I like a lot about OpenJDK as below :

1. To download JDK you don't require an Oracle account as it's open-source and free for all.
2. You got more releases or updates of subversion or new versions that will fix bugs or issues as more community support is available as it's under GNU license
3. When using ubuntu and OpenJDK its faster and got more support if you need help regarding some dependencies
4. I used open JDK 11 as well so quite not found many issues in any this is quite good to use.
What do you dislike?
There are a few issues which I faced and that was the reason which I was quite uncomfortable :

1. Sometimes patch update caused many issues and its hard to manage all other update and things
2. compare with oracle JDK, open JDK has not good garbage collecter
3. Faced many issues related to library/dependencies which is available and working fine with oracle JDK but when using open JDK we required more libraries and dependencies to work with the same for example JACOCO plugins
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
-> Mostly I solved problems related to backend technologies using REST APIS and generated mock tests which are used by the front end and mobile apps so sometimes we got faster performance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
-> Please check your dependencies which are compatible with OpenJDK or not sometimes it happens when you are using some libraries which are not works properly with OpenJDK which caused more your time


    Computer Software

For java players

  • September 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Runtime access to parameter names plus openjdk is a free and open source.
What do you dislike?
Nothing as such.works good from day it has been installed
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Runs varios applications simultaneously without any issue.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want smooth operations please go for it.


    Sneha S.

Free opensource Software to develop business solutions

  • September 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's open-source, and it's free. best of all, it has a community of developers, which really helps for a person to find any resolution to a problem they might be facing
What do you dislike?
Less New Features and More advancement and More work towards the existing feature. So not up to the current standards of the market.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Almost all of the projects are based on java enterprise we use it. It's secure and tested, so less work from the security side.


    Krinal P.

OpenJdk 8 - java evolution

  • September 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
JavaScript engine by Nashorn.
There are several ways to express lambda.
Runtime access to parameter names.
Annotations about Java types.
Operation of bulk data for Collections.
The Permanent Generation has been removed.
GC Combinations that are rarely used are removed
What do you dislike?
In terms of privacy and security, Ubuntu is a far superior alternative. Ubuntu's main selling point is its simplicity. Moreover, along with OpenJDK, it extremely improves the developer's efficiency with the cost-effective solution therefore, no dislike can be found yet.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
JDK is an open-source implementation of Java SE Platform Edition that's free to download and use on any computer. Because the source code is GPL-licensed, it may be freely redistributed. In order to obtain the programme, you don't have to bother about registering in to a website or creating a user account. No major technological differences exist between OpenJDK and oracle JDK, as both use a similar build procedure.


    Telecommunications

Very friendly interface with Advance features

  • September 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really Like the feature of Lambda expression and functional interfaces.
What do you dislike?
This is enhanced version with added functionality. So I don't see any cons as of now.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Doing development work using Java8.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's is very easy to use with simple syntax.


    Hospital & Health Care

Free and open source at it's best

  • September 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenJdk is a free and open source helps in developing application for critical use
What do you dislike?
After Jan 2019 only customer who have signed a support contract with oracle will still receive security update.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Helps in running various application like tomcat and Jenkins.