Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Oracle Linux 7 with Support by Supported Images

Supported Images | 20210405

Linux/Unix, Other 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

104 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Sylvia M.

It is a good overal choice

  • August 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
this OS can be used to support other platforms and tools throughout an organization as it provides stability and security, it has well documented solutions for issues on Oracle support site, the OS kernel can be updated without having to reboot the system
What do you dislike?
it has issues such as cloud compatibility, can be slow, sometimes customer support from oracle could be challenging, there are fewer users of oracle linux than other versions, potentially making it hard to obtain outside support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
i realized that it is good for emails and correspondence servers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
the software does really work well with databases. it provides a fairly stable functionality for remote systems that have users requiring limited assistance


    Ebuka N.

An overview of linux

  • July 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1) Outstanding system performance in terms of memory conservation and speed of execution of commands.
2) Availability of a good graphic user interface(GUI).
3) Linux is open-source
What do you dislike?
Compatibility with other applications: The linux operating system occasionally has issues with some applications due to compatibility issues
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
So far, I have found linux Machine learning easier to implement since I switched from windows to linux
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'll advise that they do a thorough research on linux before diving right into it


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Fast and easy to use and mantain

  • June 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its 100% compatible with RedHat and has support. It is faster than a Widows system and you can install Oracle with great advantages.
What do you dislike?
The terms of license, it is not a free or GNU product. You have to pay. The installation process maybe noyt suitable for beginners.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is suitable form Oracle installations or where you need Redhat but d not want to pay for their server support.


    Francis S.

Excellent Operative System

  • June 04, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In the first instance, perfect to work in conjunction with other oracle technologies, whether database or applications, create a complete oracle environment. Native operating system tools optimized to internally monitor processes, performance, cpu, disks, ram, among others. Compatible with Intel processors, and virtualizations under environments of other operating systems such as Windows Server, great support from Oracle, modern kernel with better performance. Easy to use, compatible with a large number of different technologies at the hardware level. In summary very good distribution of linux to be used under business environments.
What do you dislike?
I do not have any problem with the operating system, it has fulfilled its functionality correctly, another excellent distribution of linux, it is required to have basic / intermediate knowledge in linux according to the purpose of the installation of this operating system, personal or business,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In the work environment under which I work, it is widely used in conjunction with other technologies of Oracle, databases and applications, facilitating a little administration and thus standardizing technologies, great performance, improved security, highly recommended
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Perfect for environments with oracle tools, responsive operating system, good performance and resource management, easy to handle with basic Linux knowledge.


    Noman G.

Virus Free Operating System. " Must Use"

  • May 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Previously we are using different famous OS but some serious issue we are facing main performance and virus. Additionally, previous OS was much expensive to compare with Linux so as per budgeting we huritn a lot more than expected. Control and OS management very hand taking activity but in Linux, this help our infrastructure and DBA team a lot. They are more comfortable to manage this OS. As we are leading courier company in Pakistan so software are our back bone so our development team required fast performance and virus free server always which help business accordingly. As we are using large oracle database and Linux is excellent collaboration with this.
What do you dislike?
Configuration and installation is not much easy to compare others. its taken too much time to configure but once it get done then there will be no issue. Sometime support may taken so much time too due to every time you have to create SR in vendor website to resolve this issue and they may taken long time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Earlier i have mentioned benefits but some more are following
Low cost,
Performance
Virus free
Network friendly
Security
Multitasking
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Linux is completely an open source project. You can have a look at the training first before going to implements


    khan j.

Features of Oracle Linux

  • April 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ability to quickly and efficiently deploy an environment that is ready to deploy an Oracle database Server.Administration is easy and smart of said product.Best product to deploy E-Business System and other oracle products.Good full text search functionality .oracle linux with UEK can be deployed either on physical servers or on virtual servers.oracle linux and oracle vm are optimized and well engineered to work together.
What do you dislike?
With Third party application oracle linux was not adjusted able.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
get better performance with business activities.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Oracle Linux is good and smart solution for oracle databases and related oracle products . This easy and smart to administration.


    Naveen N.

Oracle Linux a must have OS Choice

  • April 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
memory management
kernel pre-tuned
excellent Oracle support
well documented solutions for issues on Oracle support site
What do you dislike?
better adoption by all cloud providers required
need to improve the integration with webmin
more plug-ins need to be provided for popular monitoring tools
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
provided workstation and server functionalities for small businesses and organizations
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The operating system is built and packaged from the ground up to be the single best and easiest OS for running an Oracle database.


    Talia C.

Quick, Easy, Crsh

  • March 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's honestly quick and really easy to use.
What do you dislike?
It crashes entirely too easily. I can be in the middle of an email or call and out of nowhere the entire system will crash.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm able to multitask and meet my customers needs all at one time while keeping everything in one centralized location.


    Financial Services

Stable, Standard, Performant

  • March 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Application stability and Performant OS. Always gives reliable performance even under stress. The systems are pretty standard and help with a lot of the devops style deployments to go absolutely smooth. Love the Linux community.
What do you dislike?
The Oracle Repositories sometimes lack some of the nicer tools that many other Xnix systems like CentOS and Ubuntu support out-of-the-box. I did love to see them pre-packaged or atleast remain available through additional repo files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Several benefits - Deployment of many of our systems, playing around with new technologies are tried on OL6/OL7. Benefits are innumerably many - to brief our development, stage and prod. systems are on Oracle Linux.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very stable and standard Linux system. If you are looking for personal desktops choose a different flavour of Linux, but if you are looking for enterprise grade deployments this is a good choice.
Strengths: Stability, Reliable, Performance, OS Tools
Can be better: Patches, Additional Repos for smart tools


    Vinay G.

Oracle Linux

  • March 10, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, upgrade and secured. Patch upgrades are simple. Normal linux commands works.
What do you dislike?
No GUI interaction so developer needs terminal use habit (though it's common for unix systems).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For application servers deployments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try out it. Best for app servers.