Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL on Ubuntu 16.04

Supported Images | 20210403

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

535 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Great choice database for relational model structurr

  • May 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Dynamic creation of tables/models differenciate from other databases
What do you dislike?
Nothing which I can think of and its best and mostly used database
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Relational database structure with dynamic model generation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
PostgreSQL is most widely used database worldwise


    Raj P.

For me this is the best and most robust RDBMS in the market

  • May 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is the most versatile and advanced DB system in the market available for free of cost. This DB system is similar to MySQL or Oracle DB system but it is more popular and has a bigger community than those. It has a convenient command-line interface for both Linux and Windows OS. It has intuitive commands that do what they sound like e.g., create table, create database, etc. For those who are not good with command-line interfaces, it also has GUI based management tool called pgAdmin for easier use. It has easy integration with Python and Golang and its frameworks like Django for Python. You can easily export table data in CSV. The best thing is, it has a detailed documentation website where you can explore all of its functionalities easily and release-wise.
What do you dislike?
Honestly, I don't think this RDBMS has any significant flaw or issue. One thing is, there are fewer drivers available for this database for integration in frameworks e.g. Python Django framework literally has one driver called psycopg2 which can create license issues. Another thing is, it has a huge number of commands that can be difficult for some people to grasp.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use PostgreSQL in a web application that needs to store a large amount of JSON data with very frequent access. PostgreSQL can also be used in data analysis which also requires the storage of a large amount of complex data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For other PostgreSQL users, I can recommend this DB system as it is a general-purpose DB system but still the selection of a DB system mostly depends on the requirement.


    Yash C.

PostgreSQL for Software

  • May 10, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The thing which I like the most about PostgreSQL is it supports a wider variety of data types as compared to the others and it is also completely free to use and it also supports data warehousing
What do you dislike?
The thing which I like the most about PostgreSQL is it is slower while reading the data from the database compared to others.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With PostgreSQL, it is easier to perform the write operations on the database effectively and also it handles the concurrency better as compared to others.


    Priya B.

Postgresql - the object relational database system

  • May 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Postgresql is a flexible relational database solution for transactional/statistical data and can also be used as a NoSQL solution. Postgresql has the best capabilities for handling spatial data.
What do you dislike?
Postgresql database management system requires expertise and has certain limitations using it in the cloud. Also, cost and time are the two biggest challenges to be aware of when adopting this database.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Postgresql for dynamic websites and web apps. PostgreSQL source code is freely available under an open-source license. This allows you the freedom to use, modify, and implement it as per your business needs.


    Saurabh K.

Very simple and clean UI

  • May 09, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
PostgresSQL has very clean UI and very simple to use. Anyone can open multiple tabs. Developer can write custom queries in it. It is unique sql software for developers.
What do you dislike?
PostgresSQL sql is not very famous and it is not used by many companies. But it deserves to be part of every company. PostgresSQL can more work on its UI. So that it would be competitive in the market.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is quite a useful application to run any query without writing any line. By its UI structure we can easily select the command by the help of mouse. It is increases the performance as well.


    Information Technology and Services

One of the best solution for RDBMS

  • May 09, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is one of the best available open-source relational database management systems. Available on all the platforms. GUI is also available which is again the best thing.
What do you dislike?
PostgreSQL CLI commands are not very commonly used. It is hard to remember on initial stage.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using PostgreSQL for our large production database where millions of transactions happen on regular basis. We are using data analytics also.


    Financial Services

Super great value database

  • April 29, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is open source so great value
What do you dislike?
There isn't anything I didn't like about it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using to power DevOps tooling
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do it - fully functional open source product


    Sakchi .

PostgreSQL review

  • April 28, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing i liked about PostgreSQL is that it's very easy to use and can handle various complex queries. It is also helpful when you need to run huge queries such as trigger.
What do you dislike?
As such there is no dislike about PostgreSQL but yes, for a beginner who have no or less Knowledge about SQL, it will be very difficult for him/her to work on PostgreSQL.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used it in one if my University project where I have used MySQL as database. I have used it handle Trigger queries and much more. I have realised that learning PostgreSQL will give you an edge over other query langauges.


    Prasad B.

SQL with most user friendly behaviour.

  • April 27, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Easy to code and interpret.
- DB compatible
What do you dislike?
- Need to get more in-built libraries and opcodes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- performance engineering and migration


    ANISH S.

Not just another SQL

  • April 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Intuitive front end and GUI. Quickly becoming an industry favourite
What do you dislike?
The interface could be an acquired taste to some but it does take some while to get used to
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being using it to back all of our databases. It is secure and trustworthy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't think this as any other generic SQL it has a league of its own.