Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL on Ubuntu 16.04

Supported Images | 20210403

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

540 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Alejandro C.

The most safer and reliable database engine

  • November 09, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
PostgreSQL is the most complete, safer, easier and more reliable database engine we use in the company. We administrate it through PG Admin, and we have allocated in the AWS instance.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's tricky if you have invalid objects to assign permissions to different users o groups. But once you delete or repair the invalid objects, everything becomes more accessible. It is the only thing that i dislike.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Fastest access to my principal database schema. Secure the information of the company. Escalable trough the main support assistance. Easier to integrate with different apps.


    Shoaib T.

Efficient and free

  • November 06, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The best part is that it is free to use and open-source. The installation was super easy because there are plenty of guides available online. We have been using this to gather tweets, and it has made our job easier. Not only that, but it is user-friendly. It also allows for scalability, which is a bonus. As tweets are saved in json it is easier to go through them without anything crashing.
What do you dislike about the product?
There is just one teeny issue and that is when you are trying to configure it, there can be some errors which can't be fixed. I was unable to find the solution till I Googled it and found it on a tech website which explained how to sort it out. This configuration issue occurred a year ago and it has yet to be fixed in the new release.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It makes it easy to save tweets from hashtag campaigns and allows for a proper storage for analysis later.


    Information Technology and Services

Postgresql use in Bigdata space

  • November 02, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We have been using postgres as a backend database to store critical metadata and schema efficiently for datalake and machine learning use cases with Cloudera products.
Scalability and ease of configuration and use are some of the features that can be leveraged.
What do you dislike about the product?
Database restart is required even for user and host level access is modified. A simple reload option or a refresh could have been a better option to deal with such situation.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Helping to store critical backend data for datalake and machine learning solutions. Storing all records and schema for tables and their metadata with good performance


    Mauricio O.

Best free SQL DB out there

  • November 01, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is totally free; it has helped us to deploy our own web-based applications using RDBMS schemes; admin control is simple to deploy and maintain, it is also very well supported around the community
What do you dislike about the product?
Currently we have not found anything to dislike about postgreSQL, coming from MySQL I think postgreSQL it is very straight forward to use, and we haven't had any issues with it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It has provided us a Relational DataBase Management System for our web applications, we are using python and flask framework for development, and it is very simple to connect PostgreSQL to SQLAlchemy


    Ashutosh O.

Best open-source and easy to setup RDBMS

  • October 29, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to use, setup and secure database. We are using it for our Secure Java based application since many years. Multi application Integration and deployment is very easy, secure and fast.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes it is difficult to extract or modify multilevel json data due to syntax. It takes losts of space when deal with json data. Some open-source application doesn't support postgresql. It is slower as compared to mysql.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using PostgreSQL for multiple dynamic websites and web apps as java stack option. We are using it for heavy spatial data. Easy to use quick fetching and secure. Great community for quick support.


    Computer Software

A friend of any application

  • September 09, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Object relative, good expanding,nice features, open source and large community
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes it takes more time, opensource it is a disadvantage at the same time
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Object oriented data storage is easy handling with our application, easly interfere with external languages python


    Arijit D.

PostgreSQL An efficient SQL Database

  • September 06, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
A safe, dependable, and robust database is PostgreSQL. It is an open-source RDBMS that performs well while handling a lot of data. Both Linux and Windows operating systems support installing PostgreSQL. SQL expertise is not necessary if we understand the tool adequately. Any database may employ SQL knowledge as well.
What do you dislike about the product?
For a newbie, PostgreSQL requires instruction. Through PgAdmin, a graphical application is used to manage it. Executing queries on an enormous database might sometimes be a bit sluggish. PostgreSQL installation ought to be simpler for users. Since few individuals utilize this technology, exchanging files or databases with others is challenging.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I can utilise PostgreSQL, an open-source RDBMS, for a variety of applications that will reduce the cost to the company. It is quick and straightforward to integrate with other applications and supports a variety of datastore capabilities, including JSON, etc.


    Rahul S.

Open source SQL DB

  • August 27, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is open source and support all SQL Operations.
What do you dislike about the product?
I think there are not much to dislike about.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps in storing tabular data.


    Sunil P.

Better to Use SQL in new technology

  • August 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
PostgreSQL is helpful in getting aggregate functionality using different predefined functions like string_to_agg(), json aggregate
What do you dislike about the product?
Not a such as of now i found yet. Something can be better for output and message in proper way to handle running queries.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
PostgreSQL is used to solve a business problem by aggregating into a different way to send output to the requestor


    Information Technology and Services

PostgreSQL review

  • August 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
PostgreSQL is one of the best relational databases. It supports multiple data types and has good query and data management support. The documentation is maintained and is the best place to learn everything about the database.
What do you dislike about the product?
PostgreSQL supports JSON datatype but the supporting methods are difficult to understand and work with. The documentation is present but there aren't enough examples that would help developers understand and use the methods.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
PostgreSQL is solving the problem of maintaining data in tabular or relational format. Few applications and web services that I have worked on require relational database this is being fulfilled by PostgreSQL.