Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Docker Swarm

appXen | 2.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

10 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Aiklavya D.

Make your life easy with Docker Swarm

  • June 29, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are multiple container orchestration solutions available today docker has docker swarm and it is very usefull there are others but it depends on your use case you can use whatever you want
What do you dislike?
There are no such thing all things are fine it can be become better by scaling feature
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is very useful There are multiple container orchestration solutions available today docker has docker swarm and it is very usefull there are others but it depends on your use case you can use whatever you want


    Rahul R.

Services deploy using socker swarm

  • June 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Using docker Swarm we can run images with containers and makes a images with tag .it is a helpfull for deployment like we can deploy our services by using images of it.
Socker swarm is very good platform for creating our images and running our containers .
It's performance are very and it is very realble and uses very easy .and it services very good for making any docker images for deployment to our project.
It is very helpfull for kubernes like help of it wecan easily create our pod in kubernes.so according to me we can use docker Swarm .
It's performance and features all good.
What do you dislike?
Their are not any bad for it .
It process low .
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
There are small problem for it like as it is low processing while using this . that's it .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sure, I recommend my friend and any other person for it .I told them about it's features and performance that it is very good platform for deployment and create image and maked a container of it


    Harshit A.

Easy Orchestration Using DockerSwarm

  • June 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to configure and use and it is fast
What do you dislike?
There is no auto scaling feature .......
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Its solving multiple container management problem
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have small project which doesn't need load balacing and monitoring then it is best for you


    Praveen K.

Senior DevOps Engineer

  • January 07, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The deployment process is a little fast in Docker Swarm as compared to any other container orchestration tool, and also this is free of cost
What do you dislike?
We will need to manage everything manually, and also auto-scalable is not possible in this. Apart from this will not manage taint and tolerance
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For lower and non-production environments, we were using docker swarm for all our container services without paying any extra price for orchestration
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes, for the lower environment, I will recommend using Docker Swarm as orchestration for containerization


    Banking

Container orchestration

  • December 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to learn, very simple to use. Can be easing integrated with docker. You can add n number of hosts in the swarm and be able to auto scale the instances based on the volume
What do you dislike?
Does not have all the features like kubernettes however with kubernettes there is a learning curve and overhead of using additional tool so if you don't have large volume I would go with docker swarm
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Orchestration of the container solution build on docker without worrying about learning curve for the team in turn increasing the productivity and adoption at a better pace


    Computer & Network Security

Best tool for managing containers

  • December 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install

Docker having it's own tool for managing all containers that's docker swarm
What do you dislike?
Not having any dashboard for centrally tracking

And it would be great if docker swarm creates container as per need or requirements automatically
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Shares disk space with other containers

And support for automatic load balancing which reduce workload on one container and increase performance


    Biotechnology

Docker Swarm is a useful tool in the Docker space

  • November 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It integrates well with Docker containers and other Docker products.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I particularly dislike.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Container orchestration technologies are essential for large distributed systems. We are able to scale out our increasingly complex system without it becoming unmanageable.


    Jasmeet singh V.

best orchestrator tool of its time

  • October 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
as we all knoe that docker is containerized engine which we used to create and manage container, so to make automation we use docker swarn we can say it is similar or old version of kubernetes, after coming kubernetes in market the value of docker swarn is less but still in some scenario docker swarn is the preferred one. when we say orchestration it means that it orchestrate like a musician or a singer orchestrate its group when a drummer should play , what guitarist will play and tabla and similarly goes on...


In containerized environment it is used to orchestrate images if the images got stop or crashed so what is the policy to revive and how to create duplication or replication of it. this is how it uses and helps in making automate the handling of images for a devops person.
What do you dislike?
we can only orchestrate docker images but in kubernetes we can take any containerized engine and orchestrate all together
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
befor using kubernetes our project was using docker swarn to orchestrate our images of the product but after the entry of kubernetes we switch to kubernetes.


    César G.

Easy cluster solution for your platform

  • October 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Zero-downtime deployments are straightforward to configure in the service. The swarm will not send traffic to the updated container until it is healthy and will not shut down the old one until the pending request has finished. Also, if a service doesn't start correctly (health check failure), Docker is smart enough to keep the previous version running.

The configuration file (docker-compose.yml) is idempotent, so only the changes to the service are applied when deployed. I tried to learn k8s, but it had many moving parts that make debugging very hard when something goes wrong, compared to Docker Swarm, where everything uses the same daemon in every node, so the log is centralized.

I love that the service description in the config file can be straightforward because many things are implicit by design (like network/volume names) or easier to see. For example, opening a port for a container in every node can be done in a single line.
What do you dislike?
Over the years, I found some limitations when deploying services on the Swarm. Recently they are solved, but most have opened issues in GitHub for many years. Some examples:

* Opening a shell to a container requires locating the node where the service is running, then logging into that node.
* Cannot access special devices (like a GPU) from my containers running in Swarm mode without hacks.
* I cannot update secret/config in services without changing their referenced name in the service config. I had to create a tool to overcome this limitation.

There are tools that help some pain points (like Portainer), but one shouldn't need to rely on 3rd party utilities to handle the software.

When testing Kebernetes, I found that most of these issues are solved or don't exist in k8s.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Docker Swarm to deploy hundred of services and update them continuously without having to interrupt the service to our customers. We can launch new web services in minutes without even having to log in to our servers since Swarm can provide the info about all of our services to our reverse proxy in real time and configure them automatically.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Even when there is not much development going on Docker Swarm currently, it is way easier to configure and administrate compared to Kubernetes. I recommend switching to k8s only if you have the personnel and time to handle it, or you will be overwhelmed with too many features.


    Financial Services

First Lightweight micro-service orchestrator

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It comes along with docker community editions, no need for additional configuration to enable it.

1. Service discovery - It supports service discovery; if you need more, you can use traefik or istio on it.
2. Scaling - Supports auto-scaling
3. Nodes - adding additional nodes is straightforward
4. Volumes - Volume mounting is stragightforward
5. Logging - Support prometheus, grafana, elk etc
6. Support - You get good support from docker community
7. Open source - Well maintained docker runtime
What do you dislike?
Changes need redeployments and costly processes compared to Kubernetes orchestator
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We moved all monolith services to microservices with docker swarm and traefik as service discovery.

We were able to monitor all services and traffic peacefully.


showing 1 - 10