Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Redis 2.8 on Ubuntu

Websoft9 | Redis 2.8.24 - Ubuntu 20.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

106 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    E-Learning

Developer

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good to get data in real time, easy to use, easy to scale.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the syntax is a bit limitating.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Getting users data in real time. I was impressed by the low latency.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a go, it's very easy to get started.


    L. Preston S.

Redis is easy, and its potential knows no limit.

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I mostly like how there is such a big community around redis. I use redis with ruby on rails, and I just keep coming up with uses for it! All the apis they provide and then are available via the redis-rb gem make accessing redis dead simple.
What do you dislike?
Redis has never disappointed me, so I don't have anything I don't like about it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using it for helping with background task running, for confirming emails, for inviting collaborators, and soon for aiding in deploying of my ember front-end.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Redis is a dream when you use the redis-rb gem.


    Milad T.

Redis - Fast and efficient In-Memory data structure server

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is a great piece of software. Stability and safety is among my top concerns when it comes to choosing suitable software ro fit my needs. It has a great community and its used in enterprise.
What do you dislike?
None. I had no problems so far with Redis.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Redis to simulate message passing and mdispatching between many nodes among a cluster of machines. Because of its responsiveness and great networking capabilities ( it uses epoll on linux ), it can easily manage thousands of requests per second for exchanging data between nodes. It is highly optimized and efficient for this purpose.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Add your own data structures into Redis.


    Internet

Awesome

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Free
Opensource
Simple to use
Very performant (it's written in C)
Supports lots of data structures and commands (for a simple KV store)
Great client support
What do you dislike?
Cluster support took to much time to be released
Better/more stable cluster support (better admin tools for creating/managing a cluster)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly data storage.


    Computer Software

Redis provides an easy to use, scalable key-value store.

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ease of use that redis provides. Not only that, but it isn't limited by language so that it can be used in ruby, python, c, or any number of other languages.
What do you dislike?
It does take a lot of space to store the empty string, so there are some parts to be wary of.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Scaling. Redis makes scaling easy


    Filipe O.

Lightweight and powerful key-value database.

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's very easy to get started with Redis. It can store different types of values, making it fit in dfferent use cases. It's also useful to store cache and session stuff in memory.
What do you dislike?
I've heard it may turn out difficult to configure big setups for production, but I haven't been into that problem yet. So, I don't have anything to complain about it at the moment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using it barely to cache session data, which is one of the simplest use cases of Redis. It's very easy to setup it in any application for caching and it's very fast when running in memory. Also, it helped me remove temporary data from my main database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are many types of databases today, and none of them is suitable to store all kinds of data. Take care when evaluating Redis isn't a good choice, because it is - perhaps your scenario isn't well suited for it only.


    Semyon P.

Great solution for web dev

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is not only very fast because of its in-memory store but also could persist data on disk via snapshotting. Installation is very simple, Redis is ready out-of-the-box. You could use this store absolutely with any programming language, amount of clients and drivers is really huge. It need just a little configuration and maintenance efforts. One of its big pluses: Redis is absolutely free and open source.
What do you dislike?
Configuring a cluster may be cumbersome. Amount of clients for each modern language makes you choose between similar solutions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We widely use Redis in web development. Our main use cases: key-value store for sessions data and fast queue for task workers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Redis is absolutely necessary solution in web development and I couldn't imagine modern application without it. It has "one command" installation and you will enjoy using it.


    Brett J.

Infinitely configurable, scalable, high-performance

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
My favorite Redis "feature" is that it needs almost no configuration out of the box, while allowing many configuration options should you need it. The development team is very responsive and will fix bugs that are reported on Github.
What do you dislike?
Networking and cluster configuration is immature. Clustering only recently came out of beta, and it's not quite ready for containerization. It currently isn't possible (without a few hacks) to cluster redis instances running in docker due to it using a private IP that isn't accessible outside that docker container.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are experimenting with using it as a sort of backend for our authentication and authentication platform as a cookie store.

Redis is perfect for syncing data between several machines and for being a key-value store for auth tokens. It's also useful for synchronizing state between multiple machines that doesn't need to persist. I used this for load-balancing websockets between servers without requiring the user to access the same server for each request, which serves to make the system more stateless.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a look at other key-value stores before setting your heart on Redis. Redis seems to be the standard, but there are some new players on the block. There are several options that may be more worth your time if you don't need Redis to be networked, or you need it to be embedded within your application.

Where Redis really shines is synchronizing states across instances, both on the same machine, and across machines with little configuration.


    Chong G.

Redis in nodejs

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
easy to use, good for handling user sessions in server side
What do you dislike?
now i haven't found something that i don't like or feel terrible
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
user sessions handling, much more easier than using a relational database to do it
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you want to handle user sessions in a much easier way with node.js, then choose redis :)


    Internet

Scalability.

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We work with Redis in most of our projects and this tool is awesome. It helps us to scale our services and apps easily. It is simple and effective!
What do you dislike?
Sometimes your simple API is not enough. I think there are some things to improve there.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are one of the greatest media company in Brazil and we need to provide scalable systems. Redis turn our architecture simpler.