Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Redis 2.8 on Ubuntu

Websoft9 | Redis2.8.24-Ubuntu18.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

105 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Product Review - Redis

  • January 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is one of the best in cache memory database that we used with Nodejs. There are few things which i like the most about the redis i.e.
It's an opensource which we can use free of cost and the team behind it is just awesome.
The performance and speed of the Redis is exceptionally fast.
Redis supports concurrent operation which are atomic in nature which is very important in our use case.
We managed to make redis work like worker queues.
Last but not the least which is very important in Database is Data replication which redis also supports.
What do you dislike?
There are not many things which we dislike but yeah 1 thing which can extend the functionality of redis is JOINS which it doesn't have at the moment.
Another thing as it's a in memory database so we need to make sure only that much data has to be fit in which our memory can support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to make a worker queues with Redis with which we are trying to implement the automatic scaling of docker containers depending upon the messages/load on the worker queues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Everyone should consider this as a in memory database as it's an open source and worth a shot whoever wants to implement cache stuff


    Hubert L.

Fast, easy to use, adequately featured

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Great feature-set, and not bloated. Libraries for major languages.
What do you dislike?
I normally depend on 3rd party hosted solutions to reliably serve a Redis cluster.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
High frequency key-value database. Perfect for creating a message queue from, with features that support atomic transactions.


    Rudy P.

Digital Marketing

  • March 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Unlike the free cache modules, Redis is a well known provider with good reputation. While I have not implemented this cache in real environment, I am confident if it will deliver as promises.
What do you dislike?
Memcache is also good and free. Our team is more familiar to Memcache.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Slowness while access database. We combined Varnish and Memcache and solved most of the first byte issue.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try other cache options, including the free before jumping to Redis so you can see the different.


    ammu P.

Review for redis

  • January 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is a open source ,Scalability ,Pub sub models,Luascript,key expire,key space notifications,Memory optimization,distributing of data among multiple redis instances
Memory optimization,key expires,creating secondary indexes with redis,Pipelining concepts in redis, No lack on tutorial for a lot of use cases, storing temporarily data
What do you dislike?
Unable to store high amount of data ,We should not able to observe logs(prints) while return code in luascript that return single time only so that we are difficult to find out errors,Insert into a LIST is O(1) complexity
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
While doing project mongo db unable to handle parallel requests so that we go with redis.Redis having low latency time so better to go with redis database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would like to recommend the redis database for data replication and can save data on disk and it is very fast.Debugging Lua scripts is very easy,We can optimize the memory usage.
If considering using Redis for a project, just try it, it's easy to use and feature-rich. The community is really active and there's no lack on tutorial for a lot of use cases


    Medical Devices

Great in-memory storage and persistance

  • January 08, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What's best to appreciate about Redis is how quickly it's growing since it's first appearance and how useful and fast it is for many parts of a software implementation.

It always seemed to me like a storage option for caching or indexing, but it is way more than that. Some features are definitely to be highlighted like:

* Pub/Sub message system.

* Redis Cluster

* Expires

* Lua scripting

* Blazing fast

Are some of the things I noticed that make a difference when looking for this kind of memory storage.
What do you dislike?
I did not find any problem yet will update the review one I have more information
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Decoupled architecture, Pub sub


    Vincent C.

Perfect in-memory data structure storage with persistence

  • November 20, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Redis database is really easy to install and also easy to use. Configuration also fits into a single file.
Performances are very good and this tool allows you to scale your applications with ease.

The interesting thing with Redis when you develop web applications for instance is that you can use it for many purposes such as caching files, storing temporarily data, queueing, pub/sub system, and so many things.

Redis also allows you to choose fine-grained memory types to optimize your data storage.

One last thing, but not least, you can also write some custom Redis modules using the C language. This way, you can go further with your data storage and trigger Redis functions programmatically.
What do you dislike?
Honestly, nothing. This is a very good product at all levels.
The thing I can criticize is the security part: I actually have a token stored in the configuration file (clearly); which is not the best way to protect data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Redis for managing tokens that automatically expire after a defined time (3 days for instance) and also in order to manage application cache with keys.

I know that a new feature is also available now: Redis Stream in order to manage consumers for reactive applications but I haven't tested it yet.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I really recommend Redis for its simplicity and its robustness.


    Tong (Tony) J.

Practical tool for caching

  • November 14, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast performance, easy to use. Has support for basic data types, and more advanced ones such as HyperLogLog for solving count-distinct problems.
What do you dislike?
There is no native wildcard support for deletion operations in Redis command line client.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Caching for web service. Active session tracking/counting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Setup multiple DBs for different general use with different default TTLs.


    Information Technology and Services

The essential tool for any distributed system

  • April 18, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to easily handle things like sessions in a distributed environment without having to spend much time.
What do you dislike?
The limitations on some features that come when running a cluster.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moving from a centralized server to micro services and a distributed high availability setup.


    Computer Software

Simplicity is Beauty and Beauty is simplicity.

  • April 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The performance , robustness , easy to learn and ease to use in production environments .
What do you dislike?
scripting language , i prefer that use javascript for scripting in redis .
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are using redis in data caching and socket.io related using .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
support javascript as scripting language and connecting and integrating to another databases as an optional module .


    Nico C.

Very quick server DataStore

  • February 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redis comes in a very light and fast environment which allowed me to run my test on an old Raspberry Pi without lags due to computation times.
What do you dislike?
There is a big lack of documentation both on official website that on online tutorial.
Moreover the event management is quite poor (but under active development).
This, in addition to the weird syntax, caused a little of problems in getting started with it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was working on a disaster-management mobile application and Redis was the datastore selected on server to manage the data because of it's impressive speed (which was a requirement in the development context).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a very fast datastore, Redis may be what you are looking for. Please be aware that it is so fast because it saves all (of most) of the storage directly on RAM, therefore it requires a server with a lot of primary memory in order to exploit it's full potential. This may lead to an increment of costs which should be considered.
Redis has a log file on disk with the history of all action performed which is used in case of recovery. By default this log is updated asyncronously at certain time intervals, this means that if a problem occours between two interval, it may lead to a data loss. It is configurable to update on log on each action, but this has to be bechmarked as may reduce performances.