Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Redis 2.8 on Ubuntu

Websoft9 | Redis2.8.24.0 - Ubuntu20.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

105 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Changlang K.

Redis performces excellently

  • January 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is very friendly to new user, even who even know any data structure can use redis easily. And it's quite fast search a value by given key.
What do you dislike?
Missing statistic functions, like sum, count, max, min in mysql. Sometimes i just want to find out how many keys starting with "mp", i have to use "keys mp*" to load all such keys.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use redis for process synchronization, such as locking resources to guarantee consistency. And I have a query system using redis for key-value storage where key is retrieved from sentence.


    Soham K.

Using redis to build scalable web applications

  • January 17, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Extrmely fast for its particular use case. Scales easily. Should be used for everything that it can be used for.
What do you dislike?
Can only be used for small fast temporary data. Cannot be used for storing long term data, and is limited by the RAM of the system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Currently building an application which manages lots of users and lots of aggregated data. Used MySQL for both data aggregation and user session storage. It was apparent that user session storage was not fast enough for our business needs. Redis greatly improved the speed and robustness of our application, since the read/write speed was much faster the MySQL
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Redis is a great simple and open source solution. I implore others to use it, but be aware of what Redis specializes in ,which is fast reliable storage of data that needs to be retrieved fast, and not long term storage of large data.


    Internet

Redis for Sidekiq and caching

  • January 16, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is extremely fast to set up, easy to use, and acts as a great light-weight key-value store.
What do you dislike?
It's extremely annoying that Redis does not support SSL by default.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We primarily use Redis for caching and as a queue for background jobs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You'll need to setup stunnel for it.


    Никита .

Advanced memcached

  • January 16, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to setup, great docs, simple protocol. Last commit 12 hours ago :-)
What do you dislike?
Did not see any real word clustering cases in web, caveats etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Use it for caching instead of memcached and for storing "not so important" data. For example 404 pages logging with counters.


    Dan B.

Redis

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lots of different languages bindings, so you're able to use redis in every language. The install was very quick and it was easy jump into.
What do you dislike?
I didn't find anything I disliked, I only scratched the surface and didn't touch any of the more controversial features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I needed a simple key-value store and redis was able to fulfill everything I wanted.


    José M V.

Asynchronous data management done well!

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy setup using it with Ruby, when you need some sort of cache-like storage, Redis is the one you might be looking for.
What do you dislike?
Redis is like a memory datastore, so you won't be able to store anything above your server's memory.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Really fast deployment, easy to setup
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking for some data storage or easy access db to keep simple logs, maybe using it for a live chat or rankings, Redis can do the job in an awesome way.


    Roman K.

Redis is the "must known" tool for backend developers.

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Redis is open source
- Speed of work
- Publish/Subscribe messaging paradigm support
What do you dislike?
The Redis does not officially support Windows. I believe that redis should be easily installed on all popular OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm use redis in my web-based projects as a session and cache system. The main benefits is speed and easy development.


    Riley T.

High performance, easy to work with

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is very performant and easy to scale against. We ran this on a system powering thousands of light-load websites and it increased our web farm capabilities significantly. It is also very easy to wrap in a large number of software environments, ours being .NET.
What do you dislike?
Windows support is not very strong. While I think many developers would prefer to use Linux servers, often times the decision was made several years ago (and at a higher corporate management level) to use Windows; Microsoft has done a great job with lock-in once one starts using their products. Because of this I think the Redis community in general has lacked adequate focus in this area.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We need a high-performance, distributed key-value cache. We immediately realized large benefits when Redis came to our database's rescue, off-loading unnecessary requests when data was unlikely to change.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
While the clustering support is not yet as strong as memcached, Redis has begun to focus there as is evident with Redis Cluster. Definitely look into Redis Cluster when considering Redis.


    Sean J.

Simplicity Included

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Embedded Lua scripting, speed, customization, and ease of configuration. The fact that it takes less than 10 minutes to configure and spin up a perfectly working Redis instance is amazing. Compound that with high-availability provided by Sentinel and some of the other tools available to spin up a Redis "pod" and the possibilities are endless.
What do you dislike?
Lack of security. Despite the fact that a user can limit access to Redis with a simple AUTH password and limiting database access to only local networks, I feel that there could be a little bit better of a security implementation, especially considering Redis' wide adoption.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I found myself spending a lot of time searching for a decent SSO solution that was small, worked well with Nginx, and was quick. Eventually I gave up on the search and wrote my own and used Redis as a data store.

When I was spending time designing the session mechanism, some problems that always came up were expiration and session validation. In the sign-in process, a user is assigned a session token that maps to a hash of data in Redis. During sign-in, the SSO solution takes advantage of Redis' TTL and EXPIRE features to implement the session expiration. Because of this, the code got an extreme amount more simplistic. As far as validation goes, since it somewhat fits hand-in-hand with expiration, if the key expired or doesn't exist in Redis, the session is destroyed and the client is redirected.

With my SSO project, I really realized the true power of Redis. Its power and flexibility has drastically reduced the amount of code I had to write to achieve my goals.


    E-Learning

Developer

  • January 15, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good to get data in real time, easy to use, easy to scale.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the syntax is a bit limitating.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Getting users data in real time. I was impressed by the low latency.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a go, it's very easy to get started.